We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hide your valuables”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hide your valuables”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here several nights for our first time in Sligo. My earrings were stolen off the night stand and we were overcharged in the restaurant. I guess they figured we were never coming back, which is probably true. The view is fantastic, albeit screaming orange. It had a bit of a sleazy feel to it, though.

Room Tip: Ask to look over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jholmes1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear jholmes1960,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow Visitors.

We are extremely alarmed and concerned to read the details of your review, in particular, your very serious accusation of theft from your bedroom. We have a strong, trusted, long-serving team of staff in our hotel and we are all concerned about your suspicions of where your earrings may be.
We have a recorded account of all items found in vacated bedrooms and we would ask that you contact us immediately with details of your stay and we will check our records in the case that your earrings were found after you vacated the room. This would always be our first step in situations of lost property.

We urge you to contact us regarding immediately regarding your lost property.

Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    535
    252
    90
    68
See reviews for
149
839
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel room was fantastic, brilliant view and clean room. Was difficult finding a space in the car park though. The bar itself was poor. Asked 2 barmen for a cocktail menu and both said that the barman that made them wasn't there at the minute and to wait 5mins which we did. Then when what I guess was the other barman appeared behind the bar I went up and asked for the cocktail menu and was told that there was none and that there was only a couple that he could do.

Other than this in the bar the hotel itself was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear G125,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow Visitors.

We were pleased to read that overall, you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We were extremely disappointed to read that you had an unsatisfactory experience in our bar. However, we would like to sincerely thank you for bringing this to our attention as our Cocktail Bar is a feature of the hotel which we are hoping to develop and promote in the near future. We would like to apologise for this lack of service as it no doubt impacted negatively on your experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the glasshouse hotel and we were made most welcome, beautiful spacious rooms and could not fault the hotel in anyway everything from the parking to the rooms and staff were excellent we would reccommend this hotel to anyone and will be staying here again 10 out of 10. david and bernie

Room Tip: choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davyclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear David & Bernie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow Visitors.

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. We have passed your kind comments on to all of our team here at The Glasshouse.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Sligo town. We would also invite you to inform us of your previous enjoyable stay when booking.

Kindest Regards,
The Glasshouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on 2nd November. The location is excellent as I was able to park car and walk everywhere. I found the decor to be very dated - reception was very disappointing - very little place to sit and the furniture was very uncomfortable. The bar also was dated and "cold" but the dining room looked nice. My bedroom was very comfortable but the decor in the corridor and the rooms needs updating. Breakfast was adequate - all the usual selections and service was good. The view over the river is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feemar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Feemar5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow Visitors.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Glasshouse. However, we have noted your areas of concern, namely the decor and seating at reception. The issue of the decor is one we are currently addressing and in discussions over renovation of the bar and lobby area. However, we thank you for high-lighting this issue as this feedback is always helpful to us.

We hope that you will choose our hotel on your next visit to Sligo town as we would love to welcome you back again.

Kindest Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A group of us stayed in this hotel for two nights on the bank holiday weekend. They could not do enough for us!! Staff are outstanding. Food excellent!! Defo will be going back. Sligo have a real gem in their midst!! Keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear MagsGalway_Ireland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow Visitors.

We were absolutely thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope that you also enjoyed your visit to Sligo town during the Bank Holiday festivities!
I have passed on your extremely kind comments to all our team here and we would like to say a huge thank you for your custom!

We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the future and we invite you to inform us of your previous enjoyable stay when booking.

Kindest Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Glasshouse is ideal when staying in Sligo city centre. We were able to leave the car in the carpark beneath the hotel and walk everywhere we needed to go.

The hotel, the staff and the breakfasts were all good and up to the expected standard.

The only downside was the noise from a function room beneath our room and the gang of smokers out in the street. This was only an issue on one of our two nights. If we return to the hotel in the future we would book rooms on the river side of the building hoping that there would be less disturbance there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow Visitors.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We certainly have the best location in Sligo town, within meters of the main street. We offer convenient, complimentary under ground car parking for our guests.

We would like to apologise for the disturbance you encountered while staying with us. We would certainly advise that you notify us of any details, prior to your arrival, which would help us to make your stay more comfortable, i.e. quiet room.

Kindest Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Glasshouse has a great location in the middle of Sligo town. There are lovely views over the river. Unfortunately the lobby and restaurant are a bit shabby. I had fish cakes for lunch and thought I might have to take a trip to the river outside to find the fish. The portion of salad was minuscule. A good location to meet up with a friend but don't expect too much with regard to food or service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear VeronicaL495,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow Visitors.

We were disappointed to read of your dining experience while at our hotel for lunch.
I have passed your comments on to all our team, in particular, our Kitchen & Restaurant team.
We are very proud of our AA Rosette Award winning restaurant and are genuinely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the experience.

Please feel free to contact a member of our Management team at the hotel if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Kindest Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing