We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning residence and modern, well maintained apartments”
Review of Kevinsfort House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kevinsfort House
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning residence and modern, well maintained apartments”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Such a great way to see the Irish countryside. Friendly hosts, beautiful grounds and clean comfortable apartments. We stayed for the bank holiday weekend and had a brilliant time. After busy days by the lake, driving, long lunches and walking in the mountains it was great to come home to a clean apartment with all of the amenities and space! We popped in to have a look at grand Kevinsfort House and really enjoyed hearing about the history of the house and the area. We will definitely be returning upon our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keiryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our visit was for 3 nights in the large 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit which was on the 2nd floor. Check-in upon arrival was quick and easily completed by Sheila. She provided us her mobile in case we needed anything. The apartment was clean, nicely furnished and well equipped with what you'll need for a stay whether it be a few days or longer. Despite an entire neighborhood behind and co-tenants in the building, all was quiet. The only concern we had was the water pressure in the showers were very poor especially in the en suite bath - otherwise, it would have gotten that 5 rating. Parking was available and conveniently located in the courtyard just outside our door. It is about 10 minutes walking distance into town and there's a pub and convenience store along the way.

Would definitely stay there again as it was good value for the convenience and comfort you get. In fact we recommended it to family we have in the area for whenever they have visitors come by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights of the weekend, booking was quick and easy. Speaking directly to Sheila (Sile) on the phone she was both charming and courteous. Signposts were adequate until the end, reception requires better signage, and going through the gate under the arch to reception one had better watch out for "Beechers Brook" in the form of a rail in the bottom of the gate or you will be tripped. The lady of the house is indeed, herself, a lady. Humorous and obliging. Any requests were dealt with speedily and courteously. Apartment itself left nothing to be desired, very well finished, clean and warm. Towels left out, beds very comfortable. Warm water and heating was timed but the guests had the option of turning on more frequently. Taxis knew how to find quite easily provided the guest stipulated it was Kevinsfort Coach Yard. Town centre €5 fair. TV and DVD player for extra entertainment sure what more do you want. Would most definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeanShornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We unfortunately only got to spend two nights in the lovely Kevinsfort apartments. We feel blessed that we were able to find such a lovely welcoming place. The accommodation was spotless, modern, spacious and very comfortable! It was in a nice quiet area but only a mile from the main town and 3miles from the beautiful Strandhill beach. Fab ice cream shop out there :) we cooked in both nights so can't recommend any restaurants. The manger was a very helpful lady, had great patience with us asking a lot of Q's! 'Thank you' we will definitely be retuning next year but for
longer:)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happymum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whilst the apartment was clean and comfortable, the woman who was running the show could not have been more rude and aggressive, bordering on threatening. Expected me to clean apartment after use? Are you mad? Having worked cleaning apartments in the past I stripped the beds and left all the sheets in the bathroom, which is far more than what other people may have done. Genuinely felt like I was on trial when being questioned about my "activities" which did run late into the night. Quite frankly, I left nearly in tears and I would recommend that under no circumstances do you stay there if you are a young person who has plans outside of taking in a matinee and being in bed by ten, or if you don't want to be accosted by an exceptionally rude pig of a woman.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENH4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilagh C, Manager at Kevinsfort House, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Kevinsfort House Apartments last year. The 'activities' you mention caused complaints from other guests and expense for us (the painter was required) to get the apartment back to our normal standard. We strive to provide a quiet, comfortable surrounding for all our guests to enjoy, as appreciated by other reviewers on this website. It is not a surrounding suitable for teenage parties, as you rightly point out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we had a 10 night stay at kevinsfort. We found it easily from the instructions provided.The apartment was modern clean and comfortable. Beds were clean and very comfortable. within easy walking distance of sligo town (10/15 mins) .Ideally situated for strandhill and access to main travelling routes.I would agree with the reviewer who mentioned the wifi coverage was limited this was a bit frustrating for my son. Also the water pressure was low so it took a bit of time to run a bath but you soon got used to it!. Sheilagh very helpful and accomadating especially when we had to wake her early on our departure because we had left our mobile on charge in the apartment. We would certainly return again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bridget65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very happy with our stay at Kevinsfort. The apartment was clean and quiet, and overall very comfortable. For the price it was unbeatable. Only gripe was limited coverage of WIFI, but we could get access in the courtyard. The folks who run the place are great, very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CMBfromPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,594 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
390 reviews
3.8 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kevinsfort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kevinsfort House

Property: Kevinsfort House
Address: Coach Yard | Kevinsfort, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kevinsfort House Apartments provide comfortable self-catering accommodation in ground and first floor two bedroom apartments and townhouses to the rear of Kevinsfort House. Each unit comprises either two double bedrooms or one double bedroom and one twin or triple bedroom, as appropriate. The apartments and townhouses are fitted out to the highest standard, with fully equipped kitchens with granite worktop and stainless steel appliances, and dining / living areas with oak tables and leather couches and chairs - all open plan. The ground floor apartment and the townhouse also have rear patios with furniture for dining al fresco. Egyptian cotton bed linen and cotton towels are provided, along with a welcome pack for the weary traveller. Kevinsfort House is within the borough of Sligo, just 800m to the west off the Strandhill Road. In close proximity to beaches, equestrian, hill walking, golf, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing