We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Level 1 in Lough Hyne with Freediving Ireland(Fergus)”
Review of Freedive Ireland

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Freedive Ireland
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I just completed the Level 1 Apnea course with Feargus in Lough Hyne , excellent experience. We had morning sessions in the pool and spent the afternoons in the open water of Lough Hyne. Feargus had a great way of explaining what we needed to do and has a very relaxed approach , which made the difference when we were...Having been a Scuba Diver for the last few years I found this course very helpful and will continue to do both types of diving

Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feargus C, Owner at Freedive Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Joe, thanks a lot, you guys were a great group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Freedive Ireland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I got what I desired form the Free Dive Level 1 Course, and more.
Learned relaxation techniques-
I was new to the whole Apnea experience which I highly recommend.
I learned more theory/physiology related to under water human performance.
The Dive Reflex is fascinating !
Fergus is most professional, a great Instructor, Safety, Focus and Fun are all part of the experience.
One has much less gear on the body when Free Diving compared to SCUBA, so one feels so much "freerer" !
The best experience for me so far this Year !!

Thank Spiderclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feargus C, Owner at Freedive Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

John you guys were great and to think you were off on your bike the next day nearly. fair play. Thanks a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I just completed the Level 1 Apnea course with Feargus in Lough Hyne , excellent experience. We had morning sessions in the pool and spent the afternoons in the open water of Lough Hyne.
Feargus had a great way of explaining what we needed to do and has a very relaxed approach , which made the difference when we were using the Freediving techniques in the open-water for the first time.
Achieved a personal best of 3:05 in the pool on Sunday.
Would highly recommend

Thank reganm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feargus C, Owner at Freedive Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Mike, thanks so much for all the help orgainisng it. You guys were great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After doing the introductory course back in March (see previous review), I was hooked and applied to do the Level 1 AA certification as soon as possible. It did not disappoint.

The course was held over 3 days in Mullaghmore, a beautiful little village in Co. Sligo. With both a swimming pool and the Atlantic Ocean on the other side of the road from the Freedive Ireland base, you will always be able to get into the water, regardless of the weather. Boat diving is also available for the depth sections of the course. Each day included 2 water sessions (one pool based and one open water), 2 relaxation/yoga sessions, theory and a lot of laughs. The course is incredibly interesting and is run by an instructor that is passionate about what he does, which is highly infectious. The course is also challenging, but you will enjoy every minute of it and get to meet some incredibly interesting people at the same time.

Be warned, this is an addictive sport. Once you get a taste for it you will want more. The huge advantage is that it is relatively inexpensive when compared to other water based sports.

Thank kpnutsni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feargus C, Owner at Freedive Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks Karen, I just figured out how to respond to reviews. thanks for yours much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Starting with snorkling last year, I soon got fascinated by the underwater world and was looking for ways to improve my technique in order to stay under water for longer. Feargus held a very interesting talk about freediving at the Dive Ireland Expo in Athlone which made me book a course with him. He brings messages accross clearly, comes to the point and explains in a way everybody understands. The breathing and stretching excercises make all the difference and I will keep doing them at home from now on. Feargus is a pro in his field, you feel safe from the first moment, he knows what he is talking about and not only do you learn but you'll have lots of fun. You'll be doing static, dynamic apnea and an open water session. You certainly gain more confidence in yourself, because you discover what you are capable of. Compared to the most common activities you'll be doing during a holiday, this is one of a difference which is worth every cent. I can highly recommend this course to anyone who likes to get in balance with body and spirit and explore the fascinating beauty of the Irish underwater life.

1  Thank Gudrun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feargus C, Owner at Freedive Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks Gudrun, I really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedive Ireland also viewed

 

Been to Freedive Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing