We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
144
29
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
29
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightslieve leaguea wonderful place to staywalk into townirish hospitalityspent two nightscold meatsample parkingsligo cityrosses pointdoreenirelandbnbaccommodationshairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 177 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Tree Tops has a beautiful garden and excellent breakfasts; the house is filled with local and regional Irish artist's work. Nice sitting room, comfortable and clean bedrooms. Doreen is very helpful and gives excellent directions. Easy walk to the town center and easy road access from north or south [easy to find]

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ironwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent two nights at Tree Tops recently. Doreen was a gracious host and we had a lovely room. Clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfasts. Doreen was most helpful with dining suggestions. We toured Sligo and Donegal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenGrc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Sligo is home to one of the major theatre venues in Ireland and as the Hawkswell Theatre celebrated its 30th anniversary this year, we decided to visit it. There are quite a few B&Bs in town but as always, its deciding on the right one. TripAdvisor is a good starting point in checking out B&Bs and also if the B&B has its own website, it is usually a good marker on reliability.
We took the directions on the website to try and find Treetops. The directions were hard to follow and the towns one-way system, added to the confusion. On arriving, we were greeted by a polite lady who was to be our host for our stay. The room was clean, tidy and had all the amenities one would come to expect from a B&B these days. Whilst the room was perhaps on the small side, it did have tea/coffee making facilities, en-suite and comfortable beds. The shower was not an electric power shower and seemed to be piped from the mains. Still, there was always a plentiful supply of hot water. Off street car-parking was also important.
Breakfast was a delight. Practically everything one could wish for was here; cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, toast and, of course, a cooked breakfast to order… all served with courtesy in an immaculate dining room. Breakfast was served right up until 9:30, so it would find particular appeal with the tourist - don’t miss it !!
There were problems however with accessing the wifi. We were able to get a signal by moving to another part of the property. Fine on this occasion when merely collecting emails but otherwise useless for periodic surfing. The servicing of the rooms was prompt and thorough and the rooms were generally heated well.
I most certainly would stay at Treetops again, if only because of the hospitality and facilities. Whilst there is always room for improvement with these businesses, we were very pleased with our choice on this occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had a lovely comfortable stay at Tree Tops B&B. From the moment I spoke to Doreen on the phone to book the room she was very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived she offered as a ground floor room so that we wouldn't have to drag our luggage upstairs. She even offered to rearrange the furniture in our room if needed! The breakfast was plentiful and filled us up for the day (my only very slight quibble was that my poached eggs were slightly overdone). Doreen advised us on local restaurants and pubs. It's just a shame that we were only there for one night, but if ever I am back in Sligo I will stay at Tree Tops. Thank you so much Doreen for being a wonderful hostess!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Beachymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed two nights at Tree Tops--one on the way up to Donegal and one on the way back--all within a week. Doreen was the most gracious, welcoming, friendly, accommodating hostess. She had really great suggestions for dinner in town and directions to various sites along our travel route. The room was larger than most we had at some other B&Bs and the bed was so comfortable--unlike most Irish B&Bs. Upon waking on our first morning, we were greeted in the dining room with a huge buffet of delicious goodies to start your morning: scones, pancakes, waffles, fruits, nuts, cereals, cheeses--then we ordered our eggs and meat! I don't know how she does it. Doreen really took an interest in all her guests. Asking about their evening before, where they went and what they thought of the food where they ate, where they were going that day and give suggestions on other sites to see. The room was set up so that you would have no questions on how anything worked, including the code for getting WiFi, how to turn on the Skybox and restaurant suggestion postings on the back of the door. The artwork all around the house and in the rooms is eclectic and interesting. Doreen credits her husband with the love of art and for putting the displays together. Visitors are treated to a mini gallery. We loved our two stays with Doreen and would stay there anytime we are in Sligo town.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms--one facing the road and one facing the side/back. The back facing room seemed to be more noisy as there is a main road that runs along the side and back (although it was a Saturday night and that may have played a part). The front facing room looks out onto a busy road, as well, but seems a bit more quiet, even with the window open a tad. Both rooms were lovely and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews