We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent getaway by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent getaway by the beach”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

A big thanks to Strandhill caravan park for a great, relaxing stay. Facilities are clean and modern. We felt very comfortable and secure throughout our stay and the staff were very accommodating. Location is fantastic, all round happy experience!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emi_bemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at Strandhill Caravan Park 3 times so far this summer. Its a great site, with ample pitches for both caravans and tents. Quiet site, no noise to complain about. Toilets and showers are perfect. Great reception area with Pool Table and internet access. Park is located close to local pubs/restaurants and the Spar supermarket is located a 5 minute walk away. We found the supermarket to be well stocked and reasonably priced. Ideal location for surfing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvedaLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Strandhill caravan/camping site in Sligo could not be in a more perfect position for surfing/hiking socialising. Whilst I have noticed other reviews on this site complaining about the noise and toilets I have to totally disagree. The toilets were cleaned often and in 5 days there was only once that the water wasn't roasting hot. As for the noise, the site has a no noise after midnight policy which is completely fine. Of course you are going to get the usual moaners who are completely deluded about the level of noise that should be expected when camping (tents/caravans are not built to be sound proof) and try to rain on your parade. The park is set up in such a way that there is an area for family friendly camping or camping closer to the beach (and further from toilets) for the more relaxed camper. Just pick the area most appropriate to you. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and the new reception area has great facilities (internet/tv/tourist info/washing machines/dryers/vending machines). No need to be packing excess torches as the site is very well lit. When we were there it was a shame that the local strand bar was closed for refurb however we had great nights craic in Bella Vista restaurant/bar who are more than happy for you to just be drinking. Good corner store, bakery, off licence within walking distance. Fantasic view of Knockarea mountain which is definately worth a climb for the view alone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuala2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed at the caravan park in Strandhill on the May bank holiday weekend. We went for surf and despite the surf conditions not being the best we still enjoyed our stay. Great location being so close to the village we didn't need our vehicles for the whole weekend. Found the staff friendly and helpful. The toilets despite being in an old building had everything needed and was kept spotless by the staff. They seemed to have done a lot of work on the site, a beautiful brand new office block with games room, tv room and campers kitchen...thumbs up!!!!! All round i would definatly recomend this site.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Strandhill is a great place to stay, location is brilliant. I have stopped at this site before many times over the years. Maybe I'm getting older and have become more accustomed to the standard of caravan parks in Northern Ireland, that now I frown upon this site.
I thought I would start the season at Easter in Strandhill. First problem, you cannot book! "There should be space", with my wife and young family, “should be” isn't good enough.
Anyhow. Arrived on site, setup caravan everything going well. Don't forget it's Easter in Ireland and not the warmest of nights. Nevertheless we have an electric night heater in the caravan, that-is until we wake up in the middle of the night FREEZING. Checked the electric and noticed the site was in darkness. I enquired the next day and it was explained to me by the site manager that the power supply was not suitable for so many units with electric.
And a comment that I shall never forget, "Caravans were not designed for electric, years ago caravans had a bottle of gas outside and no need for all this electric”. I’m sorry to say Mr. Site manager, things have moved on!
I noticed that they appeared to be fitting Access control to the toilet blocks etc. I can accept this when they deal with basic hygiene, and upgrade the electric supply to meet the requirements of modern caravanning. I could only recommend the site for it's location, Strandhill is a great place to stay. Therfore unfortunately, I would have to say NO, as the site itself does not merit recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartyMaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

this site is set minutes from two great pubs and a lovely chinese restaurant, basic shop. Surfing very popular with the young people. I love the quaintness of the whole area and I think enjoyable for a quiet couple of days for anyone. HOWEVER, the strandhill caravan park amenities left me wide eyed and breathless. There are 4 primitive female showers with old cracked tiles and a 5 minute trickle of water that cost £1.50. I came out feeling dirtier then I went in even though I made sure i touched nothing when I went in. The toilet floors were littered with toilet roll, so to all ladies who 'hover' wear a skirt. Such a shame because every thing else in Strandhill was lovely. SO COME ON MR CARAVAN PARK OWNER. SPEND A PENNY OR TWO ON THE AMENITIES!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fizzpop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

camped in this site several times over last ten years but would not go back. Camped here August 2007 and had to leave early due to all night rowdy partying. Decided to try it again June 2009 and was assured that site security was in place and no noise was allowed after midnight. unfortunatley had to leave early because all night partying kept us awake all night, tried to find security people during night but could not find anyone. Other campers also left due to noise. Very disappointed with site management, this site is not suitable for families.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank carole_daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
0.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,643 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandhill Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing