We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Friendly and Clean”

Rosses Point Caravan and Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosses Point Caravan and Camping Park
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Maghera, Derry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious, Friendly and Clean”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have stayed in this caravan a number of times over the last 6 years abd can find no fault with it. Facilities are plentiful and clean - there is loads of space in a site which gently undulates giving everyone factastic views of Sligo Bay and the Atlantic Ocean - a blue flag beach is only 3 minutes walk away and has life guards on duty during the summer season.
There are loads of events/activities in the area during the summer months including the triathelon, oyster festival, yacht club, golf course etc etc.
Could not recommend it enough for those passing through or wanting to spend a longer holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandJDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Arrived on June bank holiday weekend on a whim with two very young children, minimal camping equipment and no great expectations as this was our first camping trip. I was a bit concerned about the proximity to the road but, it is not a through road and quite quiet. The tent site has stunning views of the entrance to Sligo bay and if it is a calm evening it is amazing. Nearly got blown away the first night. The area is uneven but, there are places to pitch There is a small sand filled playground at the top of the site in sight of the tents which I thought was pretty basic but, my children loved it. The beach is also great. Very quiet after about 10.30pm. Facilities are reasonable. Good hot water. No soap in toilets. Chinese take away nearby was mediocre. I don't know how it compares to other sites but, I enjoyed the stay. Paid €22.00 for one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xide29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

While the location is fantastic and the caravans have the best views, it is very poor for tents. There are only about 4 level pitches, the rest being on a slop - the wind (ok, so it is Rosses Point - what did we expect) was terrible to be in a tent. The facilities were clean and functional - but no soap in the toilets - come on - even lesser star camp sites have soap for washing hands. Nevertheless, I would recomment the place if you have a caravan/campervan - good pitches - but leave your tent at home. Dogs allowed - another plus.

Room Tip: They do not take tent bookings - first come basis
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dublin_IrelandLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have travelled here on and off for about ten years, the site itself is pretty basic, close to the beach, clean facilities and 24 hour security. The views are stunning, but I have to admit we have always stayed in a touring caravan and the ground for tents is very uneven, but it doesn't distract from the amount of tents who pitch there, year after year. I have to disagree with the camper below who was disappointed that she had to check out before 12, about 99.9% of sites like you to check out between 11-12!! They also offer an extremley adequate large kitchen area which is clean and tidy for all campers to use at no extra charge!
Excellent value for money, recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We arrived at 6.30pm to stay for one night with the intention of spending the majority of the following day there. It was only after paying the €17 fee and €10 deposit for 2 students that we discovered we would have to check out by noon. After travelling from Armagh, we found this very disappointing. On top of that, the camp site is basically an unused field. It was a struggle to find a flat piece of land suitable for pitching a tent. Lighting camp fires is not permitted. The toilet facilities are nothing to write home about and there's a further €1 charge to take a 5 minute shower. I have nothing positive to report.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 093705297509752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have gone to this campsite on and off for 13yrs and it still charms me. We go with our touring caravan which have tarred pitches and electric points. True - you can not book this site as pointed out by other reviewers but this is actually one of the things that I love most about this site as you can decide at the last minute to go down. If there are no spots available we have been squeezed in with no electric facilities but by next morning we have always got a spot. The views are worth coming for especially the sun setting in the evening (when the weather is good!). The beach is only a short stroll and there is normally an icecream van there so the kids are sorted! The beach has lovely fine sand and gentle waves. The facilities on site are clean - there is a shower block, kitchen area, washing machines,etc.
In Rosses Point itself the Waterfront Restaurant has a bakery which is great for early morning croissants. You have to travel into Sligo (10mins) for a Tesco but there is a small shop for essentials such as milk in Rosses Point.
When there visit Glencar Waterfall, dine in Davis Yeats Tavern at Drumcliffe and visit Yeat's Grave also in Drumcliffe. There is a golf course directly next door to the Caravan park.
Relax and enjoy - it is a lovely peaceful location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tyrone-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Camped here for two nights in our little two-man tent. There's just the one field for camping, and it can be a bit windy, but there are a few good spots, and the views are totally amazing. Used an airbed, so cant comment on the bumpiness of the ground. The facilities are basic, but clean. If you're just looking for somewhere beautiful to camp, chill out and have a bar-b-q or two then i think it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornishchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sligo
0.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
2.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,641 reviews
4.1 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
5.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosses Point Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosses Point Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Rosses Point Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Rosses Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Rosses Point Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing