We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lough Gill Drive

Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We only drove as far as Slish Wood where we parked and walked some of the forest paths. The glimpses of the lake allowed some of the best photos from our entire holiday. We didn't find toilets or cafes, so be prepared.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Avoid the drive to Innisfree!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We drove around Lough Gill which is highly recommended BUT we made the mistake of following the road sign for the Isle of Innisfree. This is fine for bikes but not for vehicles as it soon becomes an extremely narrow lane. We met a 50 seater coach which had to reverse about 2 km to turn. The end result was disappointing as the isle is very nondescript. Not worth the journey.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CrankyNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very picturesque!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went here recently whilst staying at Rosses Point. The sun was shining, making this an absolutely lovely drive. Beautiful lake; beautiful vistas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank martingerardkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dont misss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

You will not believe what you are about to see just a short drive from Sligo and just beyond Glencar waterfall. This lake looks like it belongs on the Alps, huge, crystal clear and completely unspoilt-tell me i am wrong!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wildirishrose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Could be so much better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lough Gill itself is very beautiful . Unfortunately there are very few vantage spots / viewing areas that you can stop at and picnic areas are scarce. The road around the lake is at times very narrow too - so take care where you stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lough Gill Drive also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to The Lough Gill Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing