We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice drive”

Cork
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very nice drive”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A very nice, well sign posted drive, around a most scenic, islanded lough; would have given it two thumbs up, if only for the fact my hands were on the steering wheel at the time:) Would like to explore the area's many features in more detail on my next visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mroshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Short and Sweet”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Starting at Sligo bus station, passing the IT Sligo we headed on a clockwise venture around this 40km loop. The way is well signposted and road quality is good. The view points are well maintained with only a small amount of vandalism. Parke's Castle was closed and the lough gill boat trips were not running. Given that we undertook this trip on St. Patricks weekend of the year of the gathering this is somewhat disappointing and to be honest, typical of Ireland. The views are excellent and the sense of peace and tranquility is superb. This is suitable for driving and cycling. It is safe. We stopped at slishwood and dooney rock both of which are excellent and worth a stop. Toilets available in Dromahair in a cafe or service station.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PaleoFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing landscape”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The scenery was outstanding! I was there on a dull March day but it didnt distain the beauty of the lough nor the surrounding
picturique landscape

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Lovely drive and no crowds”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you pull over at the Dooney Rock parking area, look for a path that's on your left as you face the road. A local woman was walking her dog and insisted that we do this. It's a short but uphill walk which rewards you with a lovely view of Belbulben and the lake. A little to the east of the parking lot is a four kilometer detour with a view of the Sleeping Giant. However, it's one of those two way roads that is only wide enough for one car so you may not want to drive it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Every year I take a group to Ireland and the drive round Lough Gill, with echoes of the poetry in WB Yates, the so peaceful Holy Well of St Connel is a favourite.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lough Gill Drive also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to The Lough Gill Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing