We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, enjoyable stay”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, enjoyable stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last week. We arrived at 10pm having booked online last minute at 9pm. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who shows us where the secure car park was and gave us our key to the Coney suite. The suite was beautiful with a bed to die for, spacious suite with jacuzzi bath and large flat screen tv. Breakfast next morning was good but pots of tea and coffee would have been better than self service cups. All in all I recommend this hotel for a relaxing visit to Sligo

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valerie
Thank you very much for all your positive comments following your recent stay with us at The Sligo City Hotel.
I am delighted that you received such a warm welcome and that your bedroom met and exceeded your expectations.
We have found that more and more Hotels are including as part of the Breakfast service the option for guests to get their own Hot Drinks & Toast. We have as you seen also opted to provide this service. Table service of Hot Drinks and Toast is also available at breakfast
Many Thanks
Trevor Canning - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    135
    76
    21
    27
See reviews for
57
155
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The desk staff at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful to me when my traveling companion became ill and was confined in the Sligo General Hospital.five days. When she was released she had to remain in the area for several more days until she was cleared to travel. At this point the hotel had been entirely booked in advance due to the G8 conference but they found us a room in the crowded city then welcomed us back when conditions eased.

It was a trying time because of the illness but the staff's understanding ,concern and helpfulness was very very welcome.and we were touched by their attention.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Jeff
Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments following your recent stay with us via Tripadvisor.
The team and I were delighted to be able to help you in the situation you found yourself in - Hopefully we made things that little bit easier for you - We hope you and your wife had a safe journey back to the US
We look forward to seeing you again very soon
Many Thanks
Trevor Canning - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Sligo City Hotel has to be without doubt one of the nicest and welcoming hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in for quite some time. The fact that it was my first time visiting Sligo made it all the more special. The top class service, excellent levels of communication, customer focus and personal touches were truly outstanding. I thought everything was wonderful especially the highly enthusiastic and friendly staff who really went the extra mile to provide exceptionally high standards, put it this way, I felt very spoilt! Your reception staff were particularly helpful when it came to advising us about local nightlife, restaurants and other attractions. All their recommendations were impressive! I loved the food and the fact that my needs were so well catered for by your lovely staff. What really stood out for me was the value for money, the to die for breakfast and the extremely high levels of cleanliness. Thanks again for providing such a warm, comfortable and desirable atmosphere that could only be described as a home away from home. Great credit is due to the management and staff for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable. What a great hotel and a great city. I can't wait to return for a weekend very soon. Well done...keep up the fantasically good work!

Room Tip: All I can say is that the room we stayed in was very bright and airy, it had a lovely view and overa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionnuala C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Fionnoula
Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments following your recent stay with us.
The team and I were delighted to read such positive reviews - we are working very hard to maintain and improve our standard here - it is rewarding to read comments such as your own which indicate we are going in the right direction.
Many Thanks
Trevor Canning - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I travel all over Ireland and Europe and I thinkI have found the worst hotel.The staff moral is on the floor, they show very little interest in guest needs. The evening meal when available is produced by the barman/ chef/ waiter, I hope he gets paid well!! A medium rare steak came out well done and when highlighted there was just a shrug of the shoulder,no interest. The Bar mid-week is very quiet even empty. This place is on its last legs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Doggy
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us at the Sligo City Hotel.
It is with great disappointment that I see your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I was taken back to see that you found that our staff moral and helpfulness was so low.
As you will see by the majority of our Trip Advisor comments this attribute is something that we really pride ourselves on and your experience with us was not the norm.
I have taken up your comments with the Barman and Chef on duty on the evening that you dined in the bar.
I would really appreciate the chance to speak to you regarding your stay with us.
If you could please contact me below
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning - General Manager - 0044 71 9144 000 - gm@sligocityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful nite in the oyster suite it was a spacious room .huge tv and absolutely spotlessly clean .nice big fluffy towels . Bed very comfy .the location is excellent right in the town centre we have stayed in lots of sligo hotels and this is our fav the manager has his head screwed on and will go out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay more expensive hotels like the glasshouse could learn a lot from this place ie customer service and cleanliness also breakfast was very good and no extra charge for room service overall a great hotel will return very soon

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linny343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Linny
Thank you very much for your recent comments that you have shared via Tripadvisor.
The team and I were delighted to read such positive reviews - We are working very to maintain and improve our standards here - it is rewarding to read comments such as your own which indicate we are heading the right direction.
Many Thanks
Trevor Canning - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last weekend, weather was fantastic which was a great start to a fabulous weekend. Hotel very reasonably priced for its location. Found staff very helpful as i don't know silgo at all. Breakfast was lovely and room had great view with a great shower!! Would highly recommend this hotel for value and breakfast alone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Kaamaz
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
The team and I really appreciate your kind words. What a bonus that you had the great weather.
We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed recently me and my friends at the Sligo park hotel on a hen weekend. What great value for money. Staff were exceptional. Reception area so friendly and welcoming. Very professional general manager Trevor who dealt with us as we booked in. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's in a perfect location. Breakfast was lovely. Definitely be back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevCGM, General Manager at Sligo City Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Mary
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
The team and I really appreciate your kind words
We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Trevor Canning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Property: Sligo City Hotel
Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing