We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and comfortable”
Review of Sligo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sligo City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very nice and comfortable”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The room was very nice, elegant and spacious: I had booked a triple room, so besides a single and a double bed, there was also a big sofa, a table and 2 chairs!!! There were all the facilities needed: tv set, hair dryer and a big and clean bathroom. The staff was very nice. It is very well located because it is in the centre of Sligo and it has a complimentary car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    140
    78
    22
    28
See reviews for
58
164
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Easy to find although the car park is tiny! Reception staff helpful and friendly.
Our room was comfy and clean, the shower was a stupid design and basically soaked the whole bathroom!
We did not eat here but the bar was ok, if a little slow ( one member of staff on and it was a busy night as Sligo races were on)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night - when I arrived the hotel was fully booked and I was allocated a room (garvogue suite) no windows and no light. Sarah at reception tried her best to give me another room but due to the hotel being fully booked this could not happen. Anyway the hotel is in a good location very central for sligo. I did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on the food.

I would stay again - but not in that room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just back from a night here. Excellent location but the carpark is very small. Check-in was very smooth with a very helpful receptionist. Check-out proved more difficult with a very unpleasant and unhelpful staff member who tried to charge me more than the rate at which I booked the hotel. Management rectified the situation. Overall, I feel that there is a considerable choice of hotels in Sligo which represent better value for money. I stayed here as I was traveling with a group. It was the only available hotel which was able to accommodate us all on our travel date.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon123Dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just back from a two night stay, great rates and very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. It is ideal for anyone who wants to be near the city centre night life. I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieroscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay. First day we arrived had to get moved as a noisy family in next room. That night we had 3 very noisy men in the next room to us & even though we rang reception at 1.20am to complain nothing was done. The hotel is clean and the staff are very nice but the walls are paper thin so if your going for a restful nights sleep its not the hotel for you. Also the car park was very small and we noticed some of the staff using it so left even less room for the residents!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citronella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 7th July and it was grand. Rooms were very clean, nice crisp white sheets and the bathroom spotless. The TV is ancient but still works.The sleep quality was awful. Hotel filled with hen and stag parties; coming and going all night. Even though our room had double glazed windows, you could still hear everything that was going on out in the street and I'm a heavy sleeper. The rooms were so hot and absolutely no way of cooling it down except to open the paper thin window!

The staff, one man in particular on night duty was lovely! Went above and beyond what was required at 4am! Getting us tea, biscuits and crisps! True gentleman! Sat chatting to us in the bar and was just so nice.

The breakfast was terrible and I can honestly say their coffee was the worst coffee I have ever tasted. The morning staff weren't exactly pleasant and one girl was quite sharp with my friend. Breakfast was included in our bedroom price, but charging €10 for a breakfast is nothing short of a rip-off!. Reception staff were great and even allowed us to leave our bags their until our transport arrived some 3 hours later.

All-in-all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for that wee bit more. The Glasshouse around the corner seems far more up market yet their prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donegalwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo City Hotel

Property: Sligo City Hotel
Address: Sligo City Hotel Quay Street | Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the city centre of Sligo, the Sligo City Hotel is next to O'Connell Street, which offers extensive shopping, riverside restaurants and cosy bars. The hotel has free WiFi throughout, free daily newspapers and free limited private parking. Sligo Railway and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away. The newly renovated rooms are modern and spacious and cater for all guest group sizes. Every room features a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have a bath and/or shower, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. Ironing supplies and trouser presses are available upon request. The Quays Restaurant serves full Irish breakfast and offers an extensive dining menu using local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a drink in the Quays Bar where there is weekend music entertainment on offer throughout the year. The Sligo City Hotel overlooks Sligo Bay and sits on the Wild Atlantic Way. With golfing, swimming and surfing activities available, Rosses Point and Strandhill are within a 10-minute drive. Ireland West Knock International Airport is just 45 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing