We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly Nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Nice!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over March bank holiday weekend 2014 - was a last minute booking - we regularly visit Sligo due to family living there and have stayed in most of the hotels at this stage - to be honest I wasnt expecting much when we booked but I was pleasantly surprised on check in - beautiful lobby with fires lighting and big cosy couches - we booked a delux double and found it to be a very large spacious airy room - bed was extremely comfortable and extra pillows in wardrobe were great - bathroom sold it for me large walk in shower and huge jaccuzi bath - staff especially housekeeping were very friendly and helpful - hotels proximity to town is less than 5 min walk which was excellent - it does have a pool which while on the small side was very clean and suited us perfectly - we didnt have breakfast included but ate here on our last morning - while buffett selection is small for continental what was there was very good - there were unfortunately a few points that let it down - we ate in the bar on the 1st night and the food was a massive let down - over cooked chicken for my hubby and undercooked batter on fish for me - definitely not worth what we paid - my only other down point was there should be a blind on the bathroom window as even with the net curtain with lights on you could see right in - verified on a walk home from the pub!! Overall a lovely stay and would stay here again when we go back to Sligo!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bexandcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you crazy4travelcouple for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it and it assists us in improving the service we provide. The BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre takes pride in providing guests with a home away from home, and are truly disappointed that you didn't enjoy your meal in our bar, we are addressing the issues you raised. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    212
    170
    76
    74
See reviews for
102
300
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Best Western Sligo Southern Hotel is centrally located and within 5 minute walking distance to the centre of Sligo town. The rooms are a bit dated but this is more than made up for by the friendly and attentive staff especially the helpful girl on reception who gave us excellent recommendations for a day trip such as a drive to Rosses Point which was beautiful and also to Strandhill beach that was also well worth the short drive. No complaints either regarding the hotel breakfast although the bar food was fairly basic and a bit overpriced for what I got e.g. Cod and chips at €14.00.
Overall, I'd have no hesitation in recommending the Best Western for a break in Sligo.
ps. If you're in Strandhill, drop into the Strand resaurant for a snack as its reasonably priced and very tasty.

Room Tip: Turn off the radiator at night as the room can get very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at Great Southern Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate the feedback. The BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel with its old world feel, takes pleasure in ensuring all our guests enjoy their stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed there on a Groupon deal for 3 nights. The first room we were allocated had no internet and right away we were moved to another room. The hotel is very close to the town center, right next to a bus and train station, so no matter how you travel it is very easy to get to. The rooms were clean, however there were a few eye sores. In the first room the shower curtain could have done with a new one; in the second room there was damp on the wall and badly rusted pole in the bathroom. If you can look beyond this you are for a great stay. The food in the bar and restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. If there were any shortcomings, the staff made up for it. I can't praise them highly enough - the best asset this hotel has.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasy_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stopped over for 3 nights on a Groupon short break deal. Very nice Hotel built in 1928, meaning it has plenty of character about it but with all the modern amenities expected in a good hotel. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The hotel has an excellent gym, swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Our room was nice if a little small, there was a bit of a lack of storage space, though adequate for a short stay. The breakfasts were excellent, we had one satisfactory evening meal as part of the deal. The Hotel is well situated, less than a 5 minute walk to the centre of Sligo. All in all a very pleasant break and we would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeremyBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend at the weekend. And aside from a bad hangover it was fantastic. As me and my boyfriend were younger we wanted a more lively nightlife which the hotel staff were very helpful with although we did not have to leave the hotel bar to late as entertainment was fantastic. I, myself work in the catering buisness and was very impressed with both the bar and restraunt food. Staff were both fantastic. Was a great stay! Room was massive and clean! Could definately have stayed longer. I would strongly reccommend it to anyone!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for work - such a find. I was there on a chilly February day but even then the entrance was lovely - the building itself is really gorgeous and there are lovely outside areas with seating - I can imagine perfect on a summers day. My bedroom was my highlight - really tastefully decorated - with a fabulous big bed. Although it was a work trip it made it feel like I was enjoying a bit of luxury. I viewed the meeting room facility for a future event - is a great space. Had a lovely meal in the bar that evening. Really delicious homemade lasagne at very reasonable cost. I skipped breakfast as I was rushing but my feeling about this hotel is that everything is done well and I am sure brekkie is no exception. THE place to stay in Sligo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skateprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Sligo Southern for three nights last week The room was spacious had a wee sofa. The breakfast was brilliant and dinner in the restaurant was great Try the waffles ice cream and toffee sauce DELICIOUS. a great break for anytime

Room Tip: Room 532 was great there was only 2 of us great space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing