We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Hotel, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for just one night and my first impression was "OH it is drab" However we went to our room and it was newly refurbished and immaculately clean. Yes it was old fashioned but I realised this gave it great character. It would be lovely to know you were going to a Hotel that is not modernised and relax and enjoy it.
We had Bar lunch with my sister in law and WOW the staff looked after us just like I remember staff that were in the Gresham Hotel when I was a child. They treated us like guests in their home and couldn't do enough for us
We had dinner in the Bar and the fish was so fresh and lovely.
I will go again and I will ask for room 304
Next morning I went to the pool as I am post hip replacement and need to do exercises and the lady in charge asked me if it would help to have a belt like support to help me!
We had stayed in the Glasshouse the last time we were in Sligo and I gave it a good review but I will go back to this unusual gem.
It is right beside the train station/bus station so very well located
Mary

Room Tip: 304 is a big room and so quaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    200
    161
    69
    71
See reviews for
97
283
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co down
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

After check in we were given directions to the room witch i can only describe as standard on opening the door next the radiator was on full only because the thermostat was missing from the radiator the tv was the next problem no remote but we thought we would have lunch then later ask for one so down the bar for lunch and the choice was chicken goujons to say they were well done was an understatement dinner in the restaurant was worse with all sorts of problems service was slow and orders going to the wrong tables and my partner and i ended up spending most of the nite on the toilet listening to nite staff trying to ask a group of males to keep the noise down or the would be removed from the hotel.The best part of the break was checking out tp go home

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALANCODOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sligo hotels

Woodhouse Eaves, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel had a good room, comfortable bed and lovely pillows.

However the room doesn't have tea or coffeee making facilities or a mini-bar. I didn't need alcohol (the bar downstairs was fine!) but it would have been nice to have a coffee in the room when I woke up.

Luckily I had a bottle of Coke !

Room Tip: Possibly not one next to the lift?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel was very homely and comfortable with open fires at the lobby were you can sit, reception was very welcoming and friendly and didn't hesitate to help when i asked them questions, although our room was very uncomfortably warm very stuffy we even tried to turn off the heater and open the window but didn't help the matter room was lovely apart from that and didn't get much sleep because of it, just a heads up to turn down the heating.. Food was nice but we only had breakfast not much variety for the fry up, maybe consider getting food out somewhere else wasn't really worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here as my partner's choir was participating in the Sligo International Choral Festival - they won! A slight delay in checking in as the hotel was busy the night before but the receptionist was extremely efficient in dealing with the delay. No towels in the room but a phonecall to reception and the matter was dealt with straight away as was our request for an iron. Hats off to the Front Office team - they were fantastic! Despite the hotel full of choir singers the three girls remembered our room every time we were at the desk and the lovely girl when we checked out this morning even remembered that my partner's choir had won! The hotel itself is a bit dated but very cosy and welcoming with lovely fires in the Reception lobby - would definately recommed this hotel to anyone staying in Sligo and that's purely down to the lovely, efficient staff

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We got a great deal for this hotel through booking.com and enjoyed our three night stay. We had a top floor room which was decorated to a modern standard. The room and bathroom were larger than average and very clean. We found the staff pleasant and helpful and there is a lovely sitting area by reception and a large bar where we had a nice meal. We only had breakfast once, which was buffet style with plenty of choice. For an excellent breakfast elsewhere try Shells Cafe in nearby Strandhill whilst watching the waves crashing in from the Atlanrtic. Overall a great stay and one of the best hotels we have been to in Sligo. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CASTLEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Extremely cold room, very disappointing stay, staff were non responsive in my professional opinion. Did not offer any further solutions to the heating issues even when stated for the 3rd time. Room could not be described as less than Baltic to my dismay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farnanl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Property: Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing