We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Railway Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was very interesting stop as we we winding down our trip. The hotel is well maintained Railway town ot of the 1900s. The hotel has a history. Just ask the manager.

The rooms are large and comfortable. Everything worked OK. Food was very good.As is with so many small towns the only place to eat is the hotel unless you want to eat pub food.

The highlight of the night was an entertainer who came in and did an outstanding job singing a two and a half hour set without a break. The only problem I had was the music was mainly American and not much Irish.

All in all we enjoyed Sligo and it got us off the main road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paroganator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Great Southern Hotel Sligo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 688 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Normally I don`t choose to live in cities when beeing on holiday; this because I want peace and quiet spots. This hotel is situated in a way that you don`t feel the noise from the city. It looks just great. Nice rooms, good food (probably the best "harsh brown" I`ve ever eaten in Ireland), excellent service and you can easilly reach beautiful scenery and attractions by car staying at this hotel. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sol5an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently.
The room itself was beautifully decorated, clean and had all the basic essentials. Disappointing that the double bed was two single mattresses pushed together.
Found the hotel itself was a bit outdated in design and the lift was slow.
Good value for money and good location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hard to believe this place gets away with calling itself a hotel. We recently stayed there (one night only, thank God) and it was appalling! We arrived and had to close the dusty curtains straight away as the people from across the road could look straight into our room. The same with the bathroom curtains. No privacy at all. There was a shower, however no running water. There was no room in the bathroom to put out toilet bags and the place was in a bad state of maintenance. There was a wedding on at the same time, and the noise from the wedding guests was heard till the next morning. Definitely not a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joko14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

They need to have a curtain in bathroom the toilet is alongside the window and at the same hight, any person in street or in rooms on other side of main road looks straight in. The restaurant breakfast was very nice.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a Grand Old Hotel in a good location but its starting to get a little frayed at the edges and becoming more of a budget hotel. Our room was nice though a little small and despite the best attempts of staff and three different remotes ( you get one with your room key) the TV refused to tune. No problem as Dinner was good down in the basement, the bar welcoming and breakfast of a good standard. I think if the owners were to spend some money on refurbishing the roooms this place could be truly amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want a view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel St. Patrick's weekend. From the moment we arrived until
we left the staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful. We requested a quiet room and got a lovely big, clean quiet one. The food both in the bar with open fire and Dining Room was lovely and lovely staff. Music at night was excellent. Its very convenient to town and a good stopover for travelling to Donegal. Its not easy to keep everyplace in tip top shape in these recessional times, but they are doing a great job. I read on trip advisor alot of hotels are dated. but for me its not an issue, I think being dated has character, once its clean and serve good food and we guests have the health to enjoy it. what more do we need. We had a lovely stay and would certainly recommend this hotel. Hope you have a great season and thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $88 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing