We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovley hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed March 24, 2013

would recomend this hotel, reception staff very helpful room was clean and comfortable. breakfast very good evening meal was good. very busy hotel. tall barman at nite could be bit more plesent to customers was very rude ( not the one with the moustash) over all a lovley relaxing hotel. will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Great Southern Hotel Sligo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 688 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Got a 2 night b&b stay with a 3 course evening meal for 2 on a Groupon deal for £89, bargain deal and so weren't expecting much more than the value we paid; but we were surprised. Staff were friendly and helpful on check in, room was big and clean (although could benefit from updating décor), breakfast was great and plentiful, dinner was beautiful and great waiting staff also.
Sligo town itself is a beautiful place and because the weather wasn't kind to us we took advantage of the many scenic drives and local sights that were on offer.
Overall a great weekend and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I don't have enough space to type my list of complaints about this hotel. The only nice thing I can say about this hotel is that the staff are very helpful and friendly!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back from staying at this hotel over St.Patrick's weekend.The hotel reception area is quite luxurious with loads of comfortable seating and a nice coal fire on one side and a gas fire at the other.Staff were very friendly and a special mention to Mark in the bar area who was very helpfull and courteous.The rooms were very comfortable especially the bed you just didnt want to get out of it.Food was very good both at breakfast and the bar snacks.The hotel is an ideal base for exploring the local area,its right beside Sligo football ground,and the bus and train station is only next door.A five minute walk takes you to the town centre.We would have no hesitation in staying here again. The only two negatives i can think of is the lack of wifi reception,i found myself standing next to reception desk and still having problems getting access,the bar area beside reception is a definate no area.I think management should address this as i have stayed in hotels a lot smaller with no difficulties.The second was the music on the sun night it left a lot to the imagination to say the least, it was a three piece band but they werent recording material,i seen numerous people getting up and leaving,Saturday nights music in contrast was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Arrived for a girly break, lobby was nice; staff were lovely at check-in but knew we were in for a shock when the key was handed to us along with the remote control for our television. I have never seen that before...alarm bells did ring.

Room was not clean and not serviced but staff were great and did move us to another room. The room was tiny and so in need of a revamp...dark dingy and dirty furniture. It's a shame, the place has great potential and the staff were so good considering what they had to work with.

Food was very plain and desserts were not made in the hotel, the apple pie and custard was possibly the worst I have ever seen. Breakfast was basic but tasty. We did get a special treat because of the dirty room (complimentary wine) and some birthday cake but all in all disappointing.

Great central location; staff lovely but so hotel so outdated and shabby.

£88 for 2 nights and a dinner so I can't complain but I'll never be back. There's no excuse in 2013 for that, I'd rather pay a bit extra and have better facilities. The staff were lovely and are doing their best! Sorry this is such a poor review, really wanted it to be better!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garallie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I have just spent two nights in Sligo, The Benbulben mountain is truly beautiful and surprising because of its many faces, We could see it from our bedroom in the Best Western Sligo Hotel, and that was a treat for me, as I studied WB Yeats at school and he is famed in this area and he lived in the shadow of the mountain, We visited his grave, The hotel had a lot of nooks and crannies, was very comfortable although the double bed in our room was two single beds pushed together. The foyer and downstairs areas are quite luxurious and we had a lovely, relaxing time, The pool and leisure centre were great, and very popular with locals as well as guests, The staff were exceptionally friendly and we will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodrowireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are just back from two nights in the Southern and I must say it was the best value hotel break we have ever had. We paid £89 for two nights B&B and one dinner and it would have been cheap at twice the price! The hotel foyer is massive and beautifully decorated with big comfy sofas and chairs and lovely fires glowing everywhere. We spent a good few hours there, reading and just watching the comings and goings of the hotel. Our room looked out toward majestic Benbulben mountain and had everything we needed and was comfortable enough with a bath and a decent shower. The hotel is right next to the railway station and five minutes walk from the town centre, where we dined the first evening in an Indian restaurant called Poppadom. I would recommend it, we had a lovely meal and even better you can take your own wine/beer and there's no corkage charge. The second evening we dined in the restaurant and had a three course meal as part of the deal. There wasn't a lot of choice on the set menu but I had a beautiful sirloin steak cooked to perfection and my husband enjoyed his meal too. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to help but are not intrusive. We commented to each other while enjoying tea and scones in the foyer that it was like sitting in your own living room - though much grander! We'll be back and soon In hope.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Benbulben mountain, lovely to wake up to.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeraldgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel Sligo

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $88 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Southern Hotel Sligo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Sligo is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. Great Southern Hotel Sligo can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The Great Southern Hotel Sligo & Leisure Centre offers a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Great Southern Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing