We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but sadly dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sligo Southern Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On paper the hotel appears to have everything you'd need, but once you scratch below the surface you realise that it badly needs some work. The lobby and bar area give a good first impression, and the room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Other reviewers have criticised the rooms' condition but I think that some may have been refurbished as ours was fine. However, a remote control for the TV would have been welcome, as would a key fob that might fit in the average pocket.

The "leisure centre" however was badly run down. At least three machines in the gym did not work, the jacuzzi did not work (though was later fixed), the lockers did not lock, showers, toilets, all in a poor state of repair.

Generally the whole place just seemed very dated compared to other hotel chains, which is a shame as it's almost a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c00ky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 724 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just back from 3 night stay at the best western and we had great weekend. The reception & bar area are really nice, had food 1 evening it was very good. Spent a very enjoyable morning in the gym, steam room and jacuzzi we had it all to ourselves. 10-15 min walk to town so great location. On the downside the room and bed were very small although spotlessly clean, no remote for tv and the lift is very noisy even through our rm was down corridor from it then again you don't spend much time in the room. Sligo is great wee town for a wkend break we will return and i would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

went to sligo for a two night stay+wouldnt stay the second.the decor in the reception is overpowering to say the least.patterns on top of patterns that are on top of cobwebs!it got even worse when we went to our room.the room was small,the double bed was more like a single,tv was small+the picture quality was terrible,bathroom door wouldnt close+the smell of damp was brutal.the room that we were in had not been updated in 30 years +it s been a while since it got cleaned too!on a bright note the staff were all pleasant+the food was nice.definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone big time overpriced!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had an awful night in this hotel. Not only the bedroom was the smallest I have ever seen but the double bed too! very small tv screen and no wireless internet in the bedrooms which is difficult to understand nowadays. On top of this, that night we had difficulties in sleeping as there was a lot of noise comming from people leaving the bar......what a nightmare that stay was for us.

The bar and restaurant was the best experience. The food was good and the service even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itacolcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights on a bus tour. First impressions were good, hotel exterior and lobby area were very nice. The first room we were assigned was not great. There was a step up to the bathroom which was very inconvienent and I would say a little dangerous especially at night when one is not used to this step. The two single beds were also situated right against the walls which left little room even to turn over in bed. We complained and they assigned us another room the next night which was much better, but nevertheless the first room should never have be assigned. They did have a nice pool and small gym.

Room Tip: Don't take the room with the step up to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2togo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I was in the area for work and got a great deal for a nights stay. Hotel itself looks nice but all through the lobby and in the bar you can smell the swimming pool - not nice!
Room was a little old fashioned but had everything I needed. One major negative though was the noise - whenever anyone walked down the hallway their steps were loud thumping noises - and the wall and bed shook! This was very disturbing late at night.
Hotel is right by bus/train station and hotel kindly stored my luggage for me after check out.
All in all it was fine but I think I will try an alternative hotel next time.
Highly recommend the Silver Apple restaurant across the road!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel has a warm and friendly environment had a nice stay and very nicely located beside the train station. Rooms are nice and spacious and staff are lovely. The hotel bar makes a great meal also which I would recommend.

Just had one little downside the floor I was on had no lift access so had to go up a staircase so was not comfortable with bags up and down the stairs.
I recommend to ask for a floor with an elevator.

I had a great stay here thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sligo
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel . We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 94 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing