We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sligo Southern Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for the first time recently, and it was a lovely hotel. I know Sligo very well as I went to college here for 2 years, so I knew it could not be beat for location and ease of access, it is very easy to get to. The receptionist on our arrival was friendly and helpful, and our room was extremely clean. The bathroom, though dated was also very clean and there was plenty of towels. The only downside to our stay was the heat of the room! It was very humid and we slept with the window open as far as it would go. Also, there were some very noisy guests staying on our floor, and although I know this is not the fault of the hotel, it was annoying being woken up every couple of hours by their shouting up and down the halls. The walls are obviously thin! Despite the noise and heat issue, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant hotel that it spotlessly clean and serviced by very friendly, helpful staff. It is in a very convenient location, close to the town centre. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carleigh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 709 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently with a group of friends, and was very satisfied with the accommodation and staff.

It has a comfortable, old-world, ambiance. The room was spacious, clean, and there wasn't a sound to be heard at night. The breakfast was fine with a good choice. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The foyer is really comfortable with sofas and there is a patio with seating at the front of the hotel, where you can relax with a cup of coffee or a smoke.

I didn't use the Leisure centre, but it looked good, with a most pleasant young man in attendance.

It's ideally located for anyone travelling by train.

I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186605Beachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We booked this hotel through the local Tourist Office. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room large and comfortably furnished with an adequate bathroom. About ten minutes walk to the centre of Sligo, and on a side road so no road noise. It's a very large hotel and didn't seem to be overly full so we were a bit disappointed that the room next door had some very noisy occupants. There were surely enough free rooms to have put us one room further down the corridor. Apart from that, it was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

very clean, newly refurbished. staff very nice and helpful and rates were very reasonable

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I found this hotel to be excellent.
The rooms are comfortable, decorated and equiped to a good standard.
It is far enough away from the main road which to be honest is not that busy anyway, so noise is not a problem.
I had an excellent breakfast this morning, and found the dining room clean and
pleasant so no complaints so far. I am booked in for another 3 nights so will update this
in a couple of days.
I am not sure if some of the reviewers of this hotel are not confused about which
hotel they actually visited.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank road_warrior110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We walked into the hotel at 6pm without booking and got a room for 59 Euro without breakfast. I thought that the room wouldn't be too flash for this price but I was pleasantly surprised.
The room had recently been renovated and was pretty nice with a king size bed.
Pity they hadn't renovated the bathroom as well. There was a complete tile missing off the wall and other shortcuts which didn't look very nice.
My parents also stayed here and were given a room right next to the lift. After dinner when they went back to their room, they realised all they could hear was the whirring of the lift so they got a new room.
Our room was down the corridor but that whirring lift kept us awake half the night too!
When we checked in, the staff were very nice and helpful. The next morning, there was a bit of a half-wit on the front desk who wasn't helpful at all and couldn't really understand english that well.
We were overall not too unhappy as we came in late and left early in the morning so for the price it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Welcoming, homely, clean and comfortable, what more could you ask for after a long day. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant. Breakfast excellent, good choice to satisfy all tastes. Enjoyed lunch and dinner also. Rooms very comfortable with cosy beds and great pillows.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,725 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
437 reviews
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Great Southern Hotel Sligo)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $78 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel . We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 94 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing