We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im not sure if would go back to this...”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Im not sure if would go back to this...”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Im not sure if would go back to this hotel. The rooms were very average. No temperature control, tiny bathroom, poor tv choice, dated decor, literaly no sound proofing and very noisy bed. But i must say it was clean and the staff were lovely. Food was average in the bar but the breakfast was way overcooked and rubbery. Good leisure centre and this is why its probably 4 star. Otherwise its defo 3 star standard.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanorawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear Sean,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. The points you raised are of great interest to us here at the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. It is difficult for me to comment on some matters without having all the detail however I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your review with you if you care to contact me personally. Thank you for your compliments about the lovely staff and the good leisure centre. We hope you will decide to return in the future and will be pleased to be of whatever assistance possible to you at any time.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    400
    165
    70
    36
See reviews for
275
368
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We decided to take a few days travelling around North West last week and booked into a few 4* Hotels along the way unfortunately this was the most disappointing hotel we stayed in and also the dearest. I found it shabby and run down and I dont know who hands out the stars but they would want to have another look at this hotel. I dont know if I can blame the hotel for my lack of sleep all night but there was constant traffic on the corridor until 4 in the morning (it always amazes me the inconsideration of people that return to their rooms talking at the top of their voices and then bang their doors shut) but there was a big gap between the door and the wall so it was like we were in the corridor.

The breakfast was most disappointing as was the bar food.

The only saving grace I can say about this hotel is the staff the girl was lovely that checked us in and the young lad in the bar (sorry Sligo didn't win match next day) that served us was so friendly and helpful were assets to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deircon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear Limerick Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo and thank you also for taking the time to submit your review to Trip Advisor.

We read with concern of your disappointment regarding some aspects of your stay. I would appreciate if you care to contact me personally to discuss this.

Thank you for being so very complimentary about the excellent staff at the Sligo Park. It is always uplifting to see genuine customer service shining through. It is good to read that you consider the lovely girl who checked you in and the young lad in the bar who was so friendly and helpful, as being assets to the hotel.

If ever we can be of any assistance to you at any time, please do not hesitate to contact us,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On Behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Overall enjoyable stay but felt that the cleanliness of bedrooms requires improvement, bathrooms, green mould on windows, dust on tv. Service in Bar and Restaurant very good and was greeted by a friendly receptionist on check in. Food in the bar was basic and not a great choice on bar menu. Hotel serves a buffet breakfast again choice is limited.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear F Galway

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent accommodation in Sligo. Thank you also for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

It is good to read that your stay was so enjoyable. We read with concern however your remarks about cleanliness and will look into this and address it immediately. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this at any time.

Great to hear that you found bar and restaurant service very good and of course the all-important friendly greeting from receptionist on check in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club in the future,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On Behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Every moment of our stay was pleasurable and memorable and I look forward to staying at the Sligo Park Hotel again. The hospitality was so rich that one didn't feel like a guest , room was well lit ,bright , airy and clean.

The meals were excellent and the breakfast was so good that I made sure we didn't miss them, special thanks for Arthur O'Dea for his great hospitality

Great choice hotel if you are staying in Sligo. Special thanks to Seamus Preston of his choice of hotel for my birthday

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala_Kerisnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club on Trip Advisor.
I was so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to return.
Our staff pride themselves on friendly, professional service and I’m glad to see that came across to you during your stay. I’ll certainly pass on your kind comments about our Restaurant manager.
Thank you again for your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Sligo Park Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of
Management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed in this hotel with my mother as part of a package deal. Reception was warm and friendly when we arrived, offered to help us with our bags etc. The room was large and clean, had everything you needed for your stay. The bathroom was lovely, we were put in a disabled room and it was good for a wheelchair. We stayed on the first floor, with our room overlooking the tennis courts and 3 doors from the lesiure centre within the hotel. This was a bit disapointing as it was quite noisy at night, so it was quite late before we got to sleep. The staff where nice and friendly, we ate in the restraunt on the first night, the menu was limited however the food was of good quality although expensive. I would stay at this hotel again in the near future as it is fully wheelchair accessible.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted that you and your mother had such a good stay with us in the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club.
It’s good to hear that you found the hotel’s facilities practical and user friendly for wheelchair use. I’m also glad to read that you found our staff to be warm and friendly.
I was sorry to hear that you found the hotel noisy at night. Please accept our apologies, I hope it did not take from your stay with us. I am glad to read that you would return.
We look forward to welcoming you and your mother in the future.

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey
On Behalf of
Management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Sligo Park is a good hotel, with friendly staff. Its a bit further away from town than we would have liked. Its a long walk from the hotel to the centre. The rooms are of a good quality and the beds comfy.

The restaurant is ok, nothing special though the breakfasts are good. There is a particularly fussy older man working there who wasn't really in control of the area but no doubt thinks he is. The morning he wasn't there, everything was far smoother when run by the lovely waitressing staff.

The bar area is nice and relaxing. Overall I'd recommend the Hotel as a great base point to visit this lovely part of the world, with the main drawback being its a bit outside the town.

(One place to avoid in Sligo is Yeats Tavern out the country (you won't miss it). Basically its a tourist trap with very expensive yet totally disappointing food, very poor indeed!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Megafan

Thank you for choosing Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo. Thank you also for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
It is good to read your very positive comments regarding the friendly staff and the quality rooms.

All of our team, of mixed ages, work well together and the excellent atmosphere nurtured by the restaurant manager is widely complimented by our guests.

We hope you will return soon again. If you are here again you may find it enjoyable to take a stroll into town and avail of the suburban bus service (or a taxi) back home. The bus stop is just at the hotel entrance.

Thank you for recommending the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county dublin
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Staff were great, friendly helpful and extremely nice. Definitely not four star. The restaurant is awful, and the evening meal (which was part of the package) was awful. Menu was EXTREMELY limited for €30 per head. We attempted to order a half bottle of red and a half bottle of white from the very limited selection. Neither were available. After a very poor quality meal, we decided to get the cheese board from the a la carte menu and a half bottle of dessert wine from the wine menu. The cheeseboard was pathetic comprising of 4 tuc crackers with some brie, camembert and some other white soft cheese, no blue, cheddar or anything, and yet again the dessert wine was out of stock with no other dessert wine available. The white and red wine half bottles cost €15 each, it was awful wine - Santa Rita - a full bottle of it retails at €6.99, so why on earth does Sligo Park charge €15 for a half bottle !! Saw other people in the restaurant also complaining about their meals. Wouldn't return to the hotel, the bathrooms while clean are dated back about 15 or 20 years. Such a shame for a hotel with such lovely staff to be so bad in these other areas.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and your very complimentary remarks about the Sligo Park Hotel staff.

We are very concerned about your disappointment regarding menu and wine list choice. We stock a wide range of wines and it is most unusual that your choices were unavailable. We apologise for this. As for your menu choice, I would be glad of an opportunity to discuss this with you if you care to contact me personally. The Hazelwood Restaurant offers a table d’hote and a la carte menu. The Rathanna bar also has a very appealing and varied menu to choose from. It is standard practise to offer these choices to each guest.

Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value your comments very much.

Please let us know if ever we can be of assistance to you,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing