We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of its 4 star status” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worthy of its 4 star status”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights, first given a smoking room despite having booked non smoking. Request for a change not well received by the front desk. Replacement room had very badly stained carpet, grubby bathroom, faulty shower. Outside of hotel reception was being constantly used by smokers, potted plants at entrance being used as ashtrays, waste bins overflowing, no signs of being cleaned up while we were there. Not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Dear Tessie 90

Thank you for your recent review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your recent stay with us. You have raised a number of issues which cause us concern. These will be addressed without delay.

If you care to contact me personally to discuss your concerns in any greater detail, I would be delighted to hear from you.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    384
    163
    68
    35
See reviews for
265
357
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We had simply a lovely time at the Sligo Park - the staff were very accommodating for example with information on local attractions, arranging seating for our large group at meals, having our check-out details correct and ready on time. Our younger members used the pool and fitness area extensively (and found it better than some other places we stayed). The hotel location was excellent as we could easily get back on main roads for touring the many nearby attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonIrishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Dear Hamilton Irishguy

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent vacation in Ireland. We are delighted to read that you found the staff to be very accommodating for example with information on local attractions, arranging seating for your large group at meals, having your check-out details correct and ready on time.
It is good to read also that your younger members used the pool and fitness area extensively (and found it better than some other places you stayed).
Thank you for taking the time to let other members know about your very positive opinion of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My husband and I, audlt kids and siblings with partners and children stayed at this hotel for a few days last week. It was a very special occassion, we were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This occassion was made made more memorable and special by the excellent attention of the lovely mannerly friendly staff, beautiful facilities and delicious food. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moorecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Dear Moorecox
Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. Thank you for your review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. It is good to note that your special occasion was made more memorable by the excellent attention of the lovely, mannerly, friendly staff, beautiful facilities and delicious food.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Kind regards
Bernadette Coffey
On Behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed at the Sligo Park Hotel after attending the Galway V Donegal football match at the nearby GAA pitch (walking distance away).

We just stayed for the night and didn't get breakfast - by the way it works out cheaper on their website to book the room and then add on the breakfast rather than booking B+B. As it happened we didn't want breakfast and just went into town next morning to get it (there is a great coffee shop in the Quayside shopping centre).

This is quite a big hotel but is within walking distance of the town. The reception on our tv was poor on some channels but this didn't bother us really.

The only thing I would ask them to change is their swimming pool policy. You have to wear a swimming hat - no exceptions. I have been in pools all over the world and never seen this to be the case before. Also I have not much hair on my head - more on the rest of my body in fact so I felt silly wearing a hat and tried to get out of it but to no avail.

I liked the bar and all the staff I met were friendly so all up were I in Sligo I would stay there again.

I found the value in Sligo to be very poor and all the talk of hotels suffering in the recession is much exaggerated. We got the room only for 129 euro but we checked all the other decent looking hotels in Sligo before hand. (The Radisson was 150 for B+B) - we stayed in a Paris hotel a few months back with a view of the Arc De Triomphe for the same price! Wake up Sligo!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fergalfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
Dear Fergal Frog

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo. And thank you for your very positive review entitled ‘ A Pleasant Stay’.

We note the points you have made. Regarding the leisure club rules – and having to wear a swim hat, unfortunately it seems to work best that one rule fits all - regardless of their hairstyle. As for the value offered, other reviewers this summer have mentioned the excellent value they have enjoyed. Note the advance purchase option on our website and also 3 for 2 offers from time to time.

We are glad to note that you found the hotel to be conveniently located to the GAA pitch (Markievicz Park) and within walking distance of town.

It is particularly good to note that you ‘liked the bar’ and all the staff you met ‘were friendly’ and all up - were you in Sligo again you would stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, I
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

I stayed at this hotel and I have to say was not very pleased. I choose this hotel in Sligo as I had read reviews which said it was excellent and suitable for famillies. I did not have a booking made and called in to ask had the anything available on a Wednesday night. I was told that there was only one room available and it was a smoking room. As I am an non-smoker, I looked at the room and agreed to take it. I decided that i would get over the fact that it was a smoking room and that was my choice. I was advised by the receptionist to may a booking in the restaurant for dinner as they can be busy. I asked for a booking for 7:30 but was told very blutantly and not in the least bit apologetically, 'no you can't have 7:30 , 8 or 8:30'. I said 8 would be fine.
When we went for dinner, the restaurant manager said ' i have a seat for you over here', proceeded to the table and dropped the menus down and walked away!
The floor of the restaurant hadn't been swept and the food was just ok.
The following morning, breakfast was a pure pantomine! When we came down there was a queue and told to take a seat and wait until a table is free. A group of ladies were also waiting for breakfast who were not residents and were seated before us. I was like waiting in a workhouse queing for a bowl of soup - I felt like I was begging for food! And again, the restaurant manager again was in charge. I understand the hotel was busy but thye should no tbe seeing to passind trade before residents.
The manner of the restaurant manager has a lot to be desired - never smiled, no plesae or thank you and quite ignorant.
I would not recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredCork_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Dear Fred Cork

Thank you for posting your recent review. We are sorry to read that you were not pleased with your choice of hotel. We note you based your choice on the many positive reviews of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club which members have posted, saying the hotel is excellent and suitable for families.
We should mention that the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club is in the fortunate position of having a warm, welcoming and professional team of management and staff as highlighted in the many reviews of the busy summer of 2009 and previously.
I would be very pleased to have an opportunity to chat over your thoughts in more detail if you care to contact me personally. Hopefully you may decide to return to the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club to experience the warm welcome, excellent facilities and professional service, which are typical of this establishment.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On Behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We just returned from a short 3 day break in the Sligo Park Hotel and I wish to compliment the hotel on providing us with a very pleasant stay. We had been looking for a short break for us and our 3 small children and we settled on their 2 nights B&B, 1 D with 3rd night free offer.

There has been a lot of bad publicity on the airwaves about 'rip off' holidays at home but this offer of €129 pps (kids go free) provided excellent value in these recessionary times.

Our room was very clean and modern, hotel were staff friendly and helpful, breakfast was generous and good, dinner and coffee excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable stay, except for the weather but we can't hold that against the hotel!

The hotel is located close to Sligo town centre and within walking distance of a new retail park with plenty of fast food options, MacDonalds, PizzaHut and KFC (if you need a stress free break from formal dining!).

Gym, pool and tennis courts. Great base for a family to explore the North West.

On a small but related bonus WiFi was free, too many hotels make access cumbersome and expensive with metered tickets.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Dear Ardcolm

Thank you for your review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club following your recent family holiday in Sligo.

We are so glad that you had such a pleasant stay and that you perceive the hotel to be excellent value… clean and modern…. Staff friendly and helpful…. Breakfast generous and good…. Dinner and coffee excellent.

It is great to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, you found the location convenient, being close to Sligo town centre and within easy walking distance of the retail park with its various food options.

On the activity side you mention the gym, pool and tennis courts and a great base for a family to explore the North West. I hope you got our list of activities and attractions in the area – there’s so much to see and do in the area.

Yes the free WIFI is an added bouns also.

Thank you again for posting your very positive review.

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We are a family of five with three young girls (10, 7, 1). We chose the hotel because we could book a family room and it had a swimming pool. In short, the room was plush, clean and bright. The spa had a great swimming pool along with a hot tub, cold pool, sauna and steam bath. The hotel has a nice restaurant with good food. It is also convenient to Sligo. The price was a little on the high side, but for what we got, we felt it was well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Dear Kalana

Thank you for posting your review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club following your recent family holiday in Sligo.

It is good to note that you felt that the facilities were good value and you mention in particular the family room, swimming pool, the room being plush, clean and bright, the great swimming pool with Jacuzzi plunge pool and steam room, the nice restaurant with good food and the convenience to Sligo town.

As regards the price, keep an eye out for offers or contact us any time. We are glad to see that you would recommend the hotel to a friend and we hope you and your family will return soon again,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing