We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room we had was the worst in the house stated by the manager”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We arrived to the hotel on thurs 23th of july and left it on sat 25th of july our first viewin of the hotel was lovely, then we checked in2 our room which was 159 much as we were shocked the room was quite dirty there was cobwebs above the bed and cobwebs nearly all around the mouldings on the ceiling if these were around the mouldings how clean was the room oh yes and there was cobwebs in the shower, also around the room there was kfc salt sachels which clearly stated that the floor hadnt been hoovered properly , also the bathroom was tiny, one of the window handles were broke of which was a hazard. When i rang to book the room on wed the 22nd of july the receptionist told me that there was only 1 room in the hotel left so i said i would take it i wouldnt of taken it if i would of new the way the room was i would rather of lay in the car. Later on we went for our dinner so i told the receptionist i would like to speak to the manager about the room he then came and i expained all by concerns i also told him i was disgusted as i did not think this of this hotel, he then said to me "well you havnt exacatly got the best room in the house" grated when i was booking it i was told it was the last but i wasnt told it was the worst room in the house or i would of went to another hotel, then he said he would give me complentary fruit and water which was a joke anyway as they should give you water anyway like must hotels, they then sent up house keeping and when we returned to our room the cobwebs above the bed was away but they were still around the rest of the room when i seen this i just said i couldnt be bothered speaking to the manager again as the problem wasnt sorted out to my satisfaction. The rest of the hotel is lovley as we seen when passing other rooms and the leisure suite is beautiful overall the hotel is nice place with good food and staff are pleasent. So if you are for going there state you dont want room "159" state like i would do if i was ever going again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidays020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2009

Dear Holidays 020

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo and for taking the time to post your review.

It is good to hear that your first viewing of the hotel was lovely. We are sorry to note that your room hadn’t been serviced properly. Our accommodation services staff cover a number of rooms daily and these are checked by a supervisor. It would appear that a rare breakdown occurred in the system on the date in question and we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you as a result.

Thank you for pointing out that you found the rest of the hotel to be ‘lovely - as you saw when passing other rooms’ and that you consider the Health and Leisure Club to be beautiful. We note also that you say ‘overall the hotel is a nice place with good food and the staff pleasant.’

Thank you also for recommending the Sligo Park to a friend.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
There are newer reviews for Sligo Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay in the Sligo Park Hotel , we considered the 3 nights BB with an evening meal included, to be excellent value for money.
The food , at breakfast and dinner was of a high standard, and considering the cost of eating out in local restaurants, the included 4 course dinner on one night was a real treat.
The staff were friendly and the check in and check outs were professionally handled, when we arrived there were a lot of other people checking in , but there was no fuss or delays, just a good service.
Used the leisure centre during the afternoon the first day and it was a bit crowded ( a wet day with many children to be amused !!) decided to change my time and found before breakfast to be a good time to get the best out of this very good facility.
One small point ..someone had left the remains of a chinese take-away outside our ground floor room and it remained there for the duration of our stay ....not really a 4 star sight when we opened our blinds each morning !!!.
Overall ..value for money...excellent food and facilities and very friendly,helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorresN_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Dear Torres N

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel for your recent short break. At the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club we are very pleased to offer in your words … value for money… excellent food and facilities and very friendly, helpful staff. We are really glad that you enjoyed your break and go the best out of the facilities.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The rooms were clean and tidy...I did not venture into the main part of the hotel so I cannot comment...

It is quite out of the way I thought, but it is okay if you know where it is...but there is not much in the area around the hotel.

The room they gave me was quite big, with three beds!

I didn't really have much to do with the staff...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinksparklycrayons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2009

Dear Xwitchymagicx

Thank you for your recent review of the Sligo Park Hotel which you rate as ‘excellent’.

Please let me know if I can help you with any queries you may have at any time ….. regarding the entertainment in the bar ….. the award winning leisure facilities….. , the easiest route into Sligo town with its shops restaurants night clubs etc.

You may also wish to know more about the nearby beaches at Strandhill or Rosses Point and the many activities from surfing to seaweed baths that are here locally to be enjoyed.

Thank you also for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent accommodation requirements in Sligo town.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey

On Behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Arrived on the sunday, hotel was hosting a car rally so was very busy, and had to park in the staff car park but no problem. Good staff make good hotels and this hotel has excellent, friendly and well organised staff. Breakfast and dinner great, leisure fac great and bar nice. Thanks for a great time. I have already recommended your hotel to a number of my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Dear Neverafree

Thank you for your recent review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, which you rate as …. Excellent…. from beginning to end. It is good to note your very positive remarks about the hotel staff being excellent, friendly and well organised and it is so true that good staff make good hotels. Thank you also for your recommendation to your friends.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is the second time I have stayed at the Sligo Park. On both occasions the rooms have been well-appointed, the staff have been delightful and the food has been absolutely fine. As far as comfort goes I slept like a baby all night. I was very grateful to the receptionist who allowed me to use the office computer to print out my boarding pass for my flight home from Dublin the next day. It would be nice to come here on holiday one day instead of always being on business!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and marketing manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2009

Dear David

Thank you for your recent very positive review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are pleased to note that you have chosen the Sligo Park for two business trips and that you found the rooms, the comfort and the staff so very good.

We would be delighted to welcome you here on holiday one day. If you haven’t already done so you may like to sign up for our loyalty club.

Please let us know how we may be of any assistance to you in the future,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey

On behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for only one night on 4/07/09 and found the hotel and leisure club with its excellent swimmimg pool quite acceptable. What was not acceptable was the noise from other drunken guests at 3.00 am (I presume connected with the wedding party staying in the hotel). There seemed to be no noise insulation between rooms and the corridor. I cannot recommend this hotel until the management make some effort to limit the drunkeness of their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdhor2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2009

Dear Mr Derby UK


Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are very concerned at your remarks regarding drunken guests at 3am and we apologise for the disturbance caused to you as a result. Our Night staff carry out regular patrols of the corridors in case of any possible inappropriate behaviour and we also have hotel security on duty at weekends. It is unfortunate that we had some issues on the night in which you stayed which is unacceptable and I would like to apologise to you for that.


Thank you for mentioning that you found the hotel and leisure club with its excellent swimming pool to be quite acceptable.

We would be delighted to have an opportunity to make you welcome at the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club at some date again in the future,

Kind Regards

Bernadette Coffey
on behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My party of five including myself, wife, elderly mother, son and partner stayed at the Sligo Park Hotel, dates 3rd - 5th July . We found

the hotel to be well located, Rooms were clean and presentable, Food was excellent and staff were very pleasant and very helpful.

However what was not acceptable was the level of noise experienced along the corridors after Midnight on both nights, Children knocking

on doors after midnight and running away, Drunken people having very loud arguments in the corridors at 3 and 4 in the morning .This

drunken behaviour caused us lack of sleep for two nights!


I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and never experienced behaviour like this, Just because there was a stag night on Friday night

and wedding on Saturday night there was no excuse for this behaviour.

We complained on checkout and said we would make a formal complaint in writing, We were not the only ones to complain and feel this

ruined a near perfect weekend!

i have already sent an email to the hotel but have not received a reply, there was no management intervention and when one guest complained he was told he should have stayed in a 5 star and not a 4 star by the noisy guests
We feel that we need to bring this to your attention so as you can assure other customers this will not happen

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel for your recent short break with your Mother and family.

Thank you especially for your generous praise of the hotel’s location, cleanliness, excellent food and pleasant, helpful staff.

We are very sorry and concerned however to learn that your 'near perfect’ weekend was ruined by noise from other guests.

Thank you also for mentioning the matter on checkout. The duty manager was available at the time however it may not have suited you to have this conversation at that point. We are glad to note that you would still choose to return to the Sligo Park Hotel and we look forward to making you welcome.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Sligo Park Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $96 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing