We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel pity about the loud noise at night in the room corridors”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My party of five including myself, wife, elderly mother, son and partner stayed at the Sligo Park Hotel, dates 3rd - 5th July . We found

the hotel to be well located, Rooms were clean and presentable, Food was excellent and staff were very pleasant and very helpful.

However what was not acceptable was the level of noise experienced along the corridors after Midnight on both nights, Children knocking

on doors after midnight and running away, Drunken people having very loud arguments in the corridors at 3 and 4 in the morning .This

drunken behaviour caused us lack of sleep for two nights!


I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and never experienced behaviour like this, Just because there was a stag night on Friday night

and wedding on Saturday night there was no excuse for this behaviour.

We complained on checkout and said we would make a formal complaint in writing, We were not the only ones to complain and feel this

ruined a near perfect weekend!

i have already sent an email to the hotel but have not received a reply, there was no management intervention and when one guest complained he was told he should have stayed in a 5 star and not a 4 star by the noisy guests
We feel that we need to bring this to your attention so as you can assure other customers this will not happen

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel for your recent short break with your Mother and family.

Thank you especially for your generous praise of the hotel’s location, cleanliness, excellent food and pleasant, helpful staff.

We are very sorry and concerned however to learn that your 'near perfect’ weekend was ruined by noise from other guests.

Thank you also for mentioning the matter on checkout. The duty manager was available at the time however it may not have suited you to have this conversation at that point. We are glad to note that you would still choose to return to the Sligo Park Hotel and we look forward to making you welcome.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Sligo Park Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2009

We have just arrived back form a nights stay at Sligo Park Hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary.Upon arriving at reception we were greeting with a welcome from a male receptionist.He then asked a lady to take over and she was very pleasant and chatting about the weather and asking if we found the hotel ok because there was a Gaelic match on and apparently the traffic was choc a bloc but we didn't notice!! We were checked in very quickly and given directions on how to get to our room.We came out of the lift and i was dissapointed to see a long dark narrow corridor but upon opening our room door we got a very pleasant surprise!! The room was absolutely gorgeous with modern furniture and a double and single bed with lovely bedding.Also we had a plasma tv and and iron and ironing board.The bathroom was spotlessley clean also.We went to Sligo toen for a few hours and when we came back the hotle was heaving with people afer the match had finished so we just stayed in the room for an hour and then came down to the pub to have dinner and it had emptied by then thank god!!We never ate breakfast in the hotel as we booked room only.I would recomend this hotel to anyone and we will defs be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules300902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

Dear Jules

Thank you for your review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club following your recent very pleasant stay. We are delighted to hear of your very positive impression of the hotel, that you would recommend this hotel to anyone and that you will definitely be back.

Kind regards
Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I have been to this hotel twice. Once with a very large group that were almost the only occupants for a few days and once on a choir trip. On both occassions it was lovely. The staff were kind and polite. The facilities of the hotel were lovely and the rooms very comfortable. I am a very picky eater and the kitchen staff had no problem with me asking for dishes without the sauce or altered from the norm in some other way.
I really enjoyed staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2009

Dear Rita

Thank you for your review and for choosing to come and stay at the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club TWICE. We are glad to note that you found the hotel to be lovely and comfortable and the staff kind and polite. Yes we always take great care to cater for special dietary requirements and special requests which all helps so much to make our guests stay more enjoyable.

Sligo Park Hotel is chosen by a lot of choirs such as yours, especially for the International Choral Festival. The atmosphere is always particularly good at this time.

We wish you well in your travels and hope you will be back to the Sligo Park Hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

decent hotel, room clean, ensuite clean but wear and tear on walls etc so didnt look as clean as it probably was!! comfy bed!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbing06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2009

Dear Mrs Bing ’06,

Thank you for your review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club which you found to be a ‘decent hotel with clean room and clean ensuite and a comfy bed’!

We note with concern your reference to’ wear and tear’ on ensuite walls. I wish to assure you that we don’t consider this to be an acceptable standard. The hotel’s ongoing housekeeping and maintenance programme should eliminate any such occurrence. We apologise for the instance you mention where standards weren’t achieved. We will investigate this matter further.

We note however that from the overall tone of your remarks and the high scoring that you awarded the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club that your overall impression was very positive.

We are pleased to note also that you would recommend the hotel to a friend.

We hope you will return to the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club soon again

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

After taking on board reviews here I requested a newly renovated room in the hotel. We checked in and started walking down this dark ugly corridor and towards our room. When we went in I got a very pleasant surprise indeed! The room was spacious, newly renovated, clean and inviting. There was an iron and ironing board, flat screen television and dvd player. The only thing it lacked was air conditioning! It was a warm day but not exceptionally hot but the room and bar were like saunas, probably because of the glass but a little aircon could set that right. Check in and bar staff couldn't have been friendlier but there was one thing I didn't like on the night. We were there to attend a wedding of a friend and the door on the corridor that lead back to the reception area and the bedrooms was locked. I don't think that any health and safety legislation allows for such an act. In fact when I approached a staff member nearest the door she had to walk to the opposite end of the function area bar to find the gentleman with the key. At no point was an explanation given as to why the door was locked or why there wasn't a staff member with a key directly on hand in case any safety issue should arise.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2009

Dear Erin

Thank you for your very positive review. As you say, rooms at the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club are indeed pleasant, spacious, clean and inviting. Good to have all the room accessories too. We place great importance on a warm welcome for all our guests, which is what you experienced both from reception and bar staff.

I want to assure you that under no circumstances are designated fire exits locked. Stringent safety and emergency procedures are in place. The Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club operates to the highest health and safety standards and complies with all legal requirements. I hope this reassures you and I will be glad to discuss it with you if you have any remaining concerns.

Overall we are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit here and we hope you will be back many times,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey

On Behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

this is my second time staying in the sligo park hotel and i have seen alot of changes
especially in the restaurant we decided to eat there just for the thursday night and the food i would give ten out of ten, presented and cooked to perfection everything fresh
so good that we booked the friday night for dinner as well. The only problem i would have is that the diningrom does need to be revamped very 90s style it does not give that really comfortable feeling when eating
The staff are very nice especially rachael at reception and the restaurant Manager
The bedrooms where very modern and clean,
Overall we really enjoyed our two night stays and we will be back

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breathnachcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2009

Dear Breathnachcork

Thank you for your top scoring of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club.
We will pass on your very positive comments to all concerned.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your two-night stay and that you plan to return,

Kind regards


Bernadette Coffey

On behalf of management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

have just returned home from two day break at The Sligo Park Hotel. Our room on the 3rd floor was lovely. Bright and clean, with a nice view over the garden. My only complaint would be the sound of the heating system which seems to come on around 5am, and makes a dreadful clunking noise in the radiator which goes on for ages.

Food was fine, we had a "package" so got one evening meal free. Again, one slight complaint would be that the staff did'nt give us much time to contemplate the menu, we were constantly asked if we were ready to order, before we had even ordered a drink! The whole evening meal was over in less than 30 mins, which left a lot of time to kill!!

Staff were all very friendly especially the girls in the Bar, we had our second meal there, and it was excellent. We never felt in the least rushed, and the atmosphere was very good.

Generally a good stay, but just a few little niggles.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastSupermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Sales and Marketing Manager at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2009

Dear Belfast Supermum

We are really glad that you found your room on the third floor to be lovely, bright and clean with a nice view over the garden. We note there were a couple of concerns especially the pace of your restaurant dinner. But overall from the tone of your review, it seems that you had a very positive experience of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, the very friendly staff especially the girls in the bar and also the very good atmosphere.

We hope you will return soon again.

Kind regards


Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management of
Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
527 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $97 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing