We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Magherafelt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel at least twice a year from 2000. We find the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast and dinner meals very well presented and tasty. Decor and furnishings in the rooms and public areas are good to very good. The hotel is situated in its own grounds and around one mile south of Sligo. The main highway network to Knock Shrine, Westport, and Galway etc.is very close but not intrusive.

Room Tip: When booking request a room to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred3291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel and staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    397
    165
    68
    36
See reviews for
272
365
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked this hotel due to its website photographs - big mistake, our room was nothing like it was advertised and I mean absolutely nothing like it. If your a light or average sleeper, bring ear plugs with you - not one door on our corridor had a self closer and as a result all we heard all night for 2 nights was doors slamming and banging - result - 2 tired people. Our room was a none smoking room but the smell of stale smoke and an ashtray in the room was seriously off putting. Breakfast - it clearly states wait to be seated, a member of staff just pointed across the room and told us to take a table, I could have done that without the wait to be told so. On both days I witnessed dirty dishes and cutlery left in the hallway and these were not cleared until the cleaners did their rounds the following morning. If there is a big crowd, which was the case on our weekend, the bar is nowhere big enough, but they do have a decent lobby if you dont mind. I would certainly question the star grading for this hotel based on my experience here, we were looking forward to a quality break based on its grading and we did not get it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that your stay was disappointing. You have raised a number of points which cause concern and we will most certainly take your comments on board. If you would like to speak with me in person about your experience, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carndonagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013 for our first wedding anniversary and we were so disappointed, we will never stay in this hotel again. Firstly don’t be deceived by the look of the rooms on the web site, rooms are not as nice and much more basic, other guests staying mentioned this to us too. After check in we made our way to our room, only to find a delightful view of the roof, which was filthy with weeds growing on it and just for that extra touch had a lovely empty paint tin. On arrival to any hotel I always read the hotel information pack, in this pack it advised “Ice – Ice is available from the ice machine outside the elevator on the second floor” no its not! TV channels were also listed – which didn’t match what was on the bulky tube TV, very few stations available. Also our room was stifling hot and the thermostat on the wall showed that it was 24 degrees, again in the welcome pack it states “Heating – Please contact reception if your require adjustments to the heating in your room.” So on our way to dinner we asked at reception if the temperature could be reduced to around 18 degrees, the receptionist looked at us blankly and them questioned how we knew the temperature of our room, she also advised that it is warm and that even she had to take off her jacket, she also advised that they don’t have air conditioning in the rooms so maybe we should just open a window! Brilliant advice so glad we contacted reception to be told that!! I advised that we only asked because it was in the hotel information, she didn’t seem to be familiar with this and dismissed us. Dinner – when on a BB&D package you have to order from a set menu (this is normal and I have no issue with this), for starter both my husband and myself ordered the Cajun Chicken Caser Salad, when our starters arrived we noticed that there was “No Chicken” we notified a member of staff and starters were returned, then the waiter who took our order came over and said he wasn’t sure which Caser Salad we wanted (bear in mind were on a set menu), when dinner arrived my stuffed chicken wasn’t stuffed and the mash was cold. On return to our room we realised that the lovely roof fans just outside our window were on for the night so the possibility of opening a window to cool the room (as advised by reception) was out of the question because of the noise and just for a added touch we then realised the headboard of our bed was against the elevator so every time it moved you heard it. Needless to say we didn’t sleep for 2 nights. Breakfast was basic small selection of cooked items, other items were on the menu but on request only, I’ve had much better breakfasts in lesser stared hotels. On check out we were asked if everything was okay during our stay, we both pointed out the lack of sleep due to heat and noise and view from our room, I actually stated to her that I would never stay here again, the receptionist just proceeded to ask how we wished to pay and seemed to choose to ignore our comments, so why bother asking! There is much nicer hotels in the Sligo area to stay in.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 304!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats_Irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that your stay was so disappointing. We are taking these matters very seriously and each issue is being addressed. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at the Sligo Park for a wedding and found the staff, service and foods outstanding.
The rooms were a good size with all the normal facilities and the breakfast was wonderful.

The hotel served over 250 at the wedding reception and the quality of the food was exceptional so was the service.

Room Tip: We worth a visit if you are in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GedD545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are glad to note your comments on the staff, service and comfort at the hotel. Thank you for your positive remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was amazed at all of the very nice features in the Sligo Park Hotel. There rooms are spotless, the bathrooms are large and clean, there are many outlets to charge your i-pads, phones, computers, razors, etc. Free Wi Fi is provided in all of the rooms. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were very quiet. We stayed in eight nice quality, 4 star, hotels in Ireland and I was very pleased with the Sligo Park Hotel. Rocket Scientists are supposed to be able to understand the basics, and make accurate decisions and as a a former American Rocket Scientist, I give this hotel a very good rating.

Room Tip: It is hard for me to say, because even though a wedding was going on in the Lobby when we checked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel for your recent visit to Sligo. It is good to note that you had a positive experience of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Professional conference hotel. Great staff to work with. My colleagues were very satisfied for the prompt set up and collaboration as we booked at the last minute. Great value. Nice rooms, clean and very spacious. Fast internet. Great breakfast. What else? .. I ll be back there with my hubby and kids. Ps. Try the Italian restaurant in wine Street, we are all thankful to the receptionist for the recommendation. Donna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent business trip to Sligo. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with breakfast and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

stayed in the Sligo park hotel for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. Room was nice and big, bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and efficient. When back in Sligo will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are glad to note your comments on breakfast, staff and comfort at the hotel. Thank you for your positive remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing