We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - Won't be back”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average - Won't be back”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I am a business user. I decided to try somewhere instead of the Radisson. There is nothing actually wrong with this hotel other than the fact that its dull and could do with a bit of a facelift. My room was nice but there were scuff marks all over the wall, quite a lot in fact just a lick of paint would sort it out. My mirrors were a bit dusty, everything else seemed clean but I just think if the mirror wasn't cleaned what else was missed? Reception area was a bit dated too.

I will say to its credit the wireless signal was very strong throughout, the hallways to the rooms are lovely. The leisure centre is very good, great big pool and gym. There was only one rowing machine which I didn't have to wait for as the gym was nice and quiet.

For food I ordered room service, steak and a desert. Sorry folks both were awful, absolutely no effort or imagination went into the food. Couldn't finish either.

The staff are very nice and are to be credited for a very natural charm, I get the impression they've all worked there a long time and enjoy their jobs. That's always a refreshing attribute.

To sum up, if you stay here you won't have a bad experience - it's just not what I look for in a four star hotel. For the decor and food it should be priced a bit cheaper than it currently is. It's a hotel that is screaming out for a facelift.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. I am very sorry if you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, all your comments have been noted and each will be addressed. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    409
    166
    72
    36
See reviews for
282
383
29
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I must admit this is definitely a case of never judge the book by the cover! Our first impression of the hotel was one of disapointment - externally this hotel does very little to impress - a bit industrial is the best way to describe how it looks outside. Internally the foyer, by day, is not a whole lot better - a bit dated looking and dark. A good bit better at night with the fire lit and the lamps on. However, do not let this put you off - there are loads of plus points to compensate. Lovely staff, immaculate hotel rooms, really comfortable bed, very pleasant room temperature, leisure facility which is really good and easily accessed, nice little touch with fruit on reception desk for you to help yourself and a comfortable walk straight into the lovely town of Sligo if don't want to take the car. We left the hotel after a two night stay really refreshed and more than happy to book there again for our next visit to Sligo. Already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with staff and the hotel. We have noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Loved this hotel. Very clean and loads of space in lobby to sit. Staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Food was gorgeous definitely recommend it. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and will defo b returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindagibbons83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed here on quite a few occasions and never had problems before.This time al the showers on the third floor were not working for almost the whole weekend.There was a vent on the roof that rattled all night and the radiator started to make noise at about 4am.
There was a large crowd of guests in the hotel for a sports occasoin that takes place at the same weekend every year ,so there was no excuse for most of the full Irish breakfast buffet to be cold and the fried eggs like rubber.staff are very nice and helpful and always in good humour.Have to say We think standards have slipped here

Room Tip: Rooms with uneven numbers have a view of Benbulben specially third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalimantsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are glad to note comments about staff. We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay on this occasion. We are taking these matters very seriously and each one is being addressed. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburgh, Mayo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel in May 2013, the staff v freindly and helpful, the food both breakfast and evening meal are a delight, full compliments to the chef for fine dinning experience !!
leisure centre v good the staff very freindly and helpfull, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetmunnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently had a lovely 3 night break in the Sligo Park Hotel and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly; in particular I would like to thank Pauline in the leisure centre and Jennifer (who seemed to work in reception, the bar and the restaurant!) as they both went above and beyond in their customer service.
Two things I would like to make management aware of;
1) the service of food from the bar was very, very slow! But we were complemented with a couple of glasses wine to make up for it.
2) some of the glass ware was not clean - this should be checked.
Breakfast was good, bar food was good also.
Another good thing about this hotel is the free availability of games and Dvds for the children. It is definitely a family friendly hotel and would go back again when going to Sligo.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your accommodation on your recent trip to Sligo. We are delighted about your comments on the staff and breakfast. We have noted your comment about service time and glasses, each one is being addressed. Thank you for your positive remarks and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our second trip to the Sligo Park Hotel,. My friend and I stayed there in February and we did not have a good experience so we were invited back with the promise of a few complementary extras. We were looking forward to the 2 day stay. Firstly we were given someone else's check in details on arrival at reception. The room was nice and much cleaner than our last visit. The bathroom was clean and the cups were clean this time round. Our complimentary extras consisted of an apple each and a purple snack bar each. Downstairs in reception area children were running out of control , very noisy and jumping from the piano on to the floor in the bar, .Staff or parents did nothing to stop this. Nobody seemed willing to serve us and when we called a waiter he said he was not working in the bar and would get someone. He came back threw the order book on the table and told us he had been told to take our order even though he wasn't working in the bar. We ordered white wine with our food and he put the wine in a cooler on the table and walked away. At breakfast the next morning we both ordered kippers and were given kippers for one and were told it would take another 10 min to cook the other kippers. We missed Marek the waiter who was off sick, he was very efficient , very attentive and on the ball. Overall this was not a good experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your return visit to Sligo Park. You refer to some aspects of our service on the day that clearly are unacceptable and shouldn’t have happened and I want to apologise sincerely to you for this. I feel your scoring and some of your comments are a little harsh but that is your prerogative and I accept that. Thank you for pointing out the many positives you experienced at Sligo Park also.

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance to you in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
450 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing