We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality at the right price.”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality at the right price.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a very busy hotel because it does everything well & Sligo is beautiful.
The bedrooms are large / comfortable & well maintained.(no fridge or safe).
The staff are excellent; efficient,helpful, welcoming - could't have been better.
The leisure centre is standard, the small changing rooms can become overcrowded.
We were part of a group on a New Year's package; everyone agreed that the hotel was great & good value BUT there was nothing "special" to mark the celebration of the New Year. What music there was, was dead & the other guests were not "lively".
So; the hotel is highly recommended but not for New Years Eve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcastle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel and staff. We have noted all your comments. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    397
    165
    69
    36
See reviews for
273
365
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Advantages:

- Location (20 min walk from town, short drive from activities)
- Friendly staff - especially Rachel on front desk
- Decent breakfast
- Good gym / leisure centre
- Free parking
- Room was clean with a good-sized bathroom containing a bath/shower combo.

Disadvantage:

- Hotel is beginning to look a little 'worn' and could use some investment.
- Some of the restaurant food was not up to scratch - particularly the cheesecake (sorry chef!)
- Strong smell of smoke in corridors
- Untidy corridors cluttered with with dirty glasses, empty plates and untidy cleaning trolleys
- Flimsy locks on bedroom doors
- Room opened onto the back garden, with thin glass and flimsy locks.
- Room was a long walk from Reception.
- Poor sleep quality due to music in bar until 1am.


If you are looking for a family friendly atmosphere, or just a place to rest your head at night, this is for you, but don't expect the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: On first floor room numbers up to 118 (swipe card access rooms). Recommend room as far away from bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that you were disappointed. We are taking these matters very seriously and each one is being addressed. The Hazelwood restaurant is currently been refurbished. It is good to note that you had a positive experience of staff, breakfast and the leisure centre. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loved the hotel will be back for sure . So clean and well suited for families . Everyone very friendly, all staff and guests . No noise in am or late at night my kids never got woke before their times . Excellent stay . Truly enjoyed every minute . Food and wine excellent .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel and staff. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

All staff are politeness but not the hotel building. First night when we ready to rest, the noisy voice from radiator like alarm! After complaint and wait about 50min they change me a room from 2 double 2 single to 2 double 1 single due to fully book, when I check out I paid for same price and the reception said because I was not asking for more bed on the second day, I thought they will provide good service that they will inform customer.
If you are sensitive to noise please don't come because there always people talking outside and even you can hear noise from next door! Anyway will not come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank90204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are glad to note your positive comments about staff. Your review raises a number of points which cause concern and we will certainly take your comments on board. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.

Kind regards
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had stayed at the Sligo Park for a month in May, when my wife was convalescing after a major illness (see my review 6th July, 2012), and were so impressed that we vowed to return for Christmas and New Year. Again we were not disappointed: the hotel was closed to non-residents and it was one big family party, with complimentary mince pies and coffee in the foyer and a cheery fire in the large fireplace. For those who wanted a rest, there was the quiet library-lounge towards the rear of the hotel.

The Sligo Park slogan is that you don’t stay “at” their hotel you stay “with” them and this is undoubtedly true. The staff all work well together and nothing is too much trouble. Not surprisingly, the hotel was full to capacity and I was amazed and pleased to see the General Manager, Gerry Moore, and his senior staff, clearing tables at breakfast to speed things up and take some pressure off the junior staff.

The festive fare at the Gala Dinner was excellent and the only unsatisfactory part was the irritating minstrel, wandering round with a guitar, lollipop-microphone strapped to his head and amplifier strapped to his waist.

On the other hand, the main nightly musical entertainment in the foyer was absolutely brilliant, with something for everyone and the carpet rolled back for those who wanted to dance.

All-in- all, it was an excellent Christmas holiday, very sociable, but not in-your-face, very good value and an experience definitely to be repeated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your Christmas stay at the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel and staff. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went to Sligo to celebrate Christmas with brother's girlfriend's family. First look the hotel looks ordinary nothing glamorous but as we went inside the place was top notch. I love lounge area were there was couches by the fire place. During the Christmas time this was a great place to stay because the hotel was only open for residents. The hotel organized a small 'tea party' as i would call it and they had some nice drinks which was available for all residents. We had a great time relaxing in the lounge with drinks, tea and some mince pies. I like the family rooms its very spacious and comfy, beds were nice and comfortable, bathroom looks good although could use hand soap because both of the rooms we stayed had no hand soap. Service is really good too! We love the way even during Christmas time you can use all the hotel facilities. The gym and Jacuzzi was open for residents which for me was the highlight of the day because we just wanted to find a place to relax and this hotel has it all. On a negative note just wish the people cleaning the room would knock louder before opening the door because we forgot to put the do not disturb sign was just surprised when somebody started opening the door without knocking. Nevertheless, this is not going to put me off about this hotel. Overall experience was great so would still give this place a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We have noted all your comments. Thank you for your positive comments on staff, service and comfort at the hotel during your Christmas stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The fact that the Sligo Park Hotel rates as the top hotel in Sligo, doesn't say much for the others! This is a very ordinary hotel. The first room we were given on the '1' floor was awful - dingy, tired and dusty. We were moved very promptly to the 3rd floor where new carpets and a lick of paint made all the difference. Everything was 'fine' and reasonably priced, but I certainly won't be enthusiastically recommending this hotel to anyone. The pool was fine, if not a bit over chlorinated on the basis that my 5 year old has broken out in a rash. We ate both evenings in the bar, steak, burgers and a nice Shiraz, just for convenience rather than anything else. The food was nice, the wine was nice but the bar itself is not a place where you'd want to spend any amount of time. Once our 5 year old had gone to bed, I would have loved a little nook to come back down to, have a glass of wine & read my book. The bar was totally unsuitable for thi purpose and the lobby, while it had a few couches, just didn't have enough space for the demand, especially near the fire. All in all, we enjoyed our time, it was all 'fine', but we won't be pining to return!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutribabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo. We are glad you had an enjoyable time. Your review raises a number of points which cause concern and each one is being addressed. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing