We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Holiday”
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Walking Holiday”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are very good, cleaning services were excellent. We were on a special deal 3 nights B&B and 3 dinners for 147 euros. The breakfasts were excellent, and the dinners good if you consider the price. The only problem was the hotel was very busy, and after dinner it was difficult to find a seat in the bar or the reception lounge. It is about a 20 minute walk from the town. The location suited our group as we had not far to go for our walks, which included Lough Gill and Hazelwood, a very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Rooms away from the reception area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel for your recent visit to Sligo. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food. We gladly note your positive comments about the hotel and cleaning services. I am sorry that you had difficulty finding a seat. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    397
    165
    68
    36
See reviews for
272
365
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for three nights after our wedding. This hotel is amazing. So clean and modern, extremely friendly staff :) The rooms are fabulous. Their food is just top class. leisure suit was so lovely and relaxing, My husband treated me to a massage and the lady who did it was so friendly and made me feel at ease as I was nervous because it was my first massage.
Their hotel grounds are lovely too :)

Room Tip: All rooms here are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review following your recent visit to Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope you will have an opportunity to return to Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club soon again.

Kind Regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The modern, sleek architecture is a plus along with the handicapped parking & ramp that we noticed upon arrival, tired of having to drag heavy cases in other hotels around Ireland.
That, along with the presence of elevators & and a very effective check-in.

My room was v. spacious, with an equally spacious bathroom & the only complaint I have is why the single bed in such a huge room: I understand the room must have been part of a suite - noticed the partition room- but still, a double bed could have made a difference....

Food served in the main restaurant was very tasty -had the vegetarian quesadilla- but the service left a lot to be desired: the waitresses were v. friendly but never really remembered the orders, there was a lot of chaos, dishes & drinks were reaching our table at very disorderly way, yet with a smile.

The lobby was crowded & there was no way we could find a seat for after dinner drinks there. We tried the bar where service was between slow and non-existent. Anyway, we managed to get our drinks and even pay for them before leaving, the point being that the bar also was being v. understaffed with v. young, inexperienced members who tried to to their best. A pity, really, for such a big 4* hotel...

All in all, we had a good time at the Sligo Park Hotel, despite it being really crowded when we visited. I definitely think it's a good choice in Sligo & I'm sure the service can be improved to reflect the hotel's 4* rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVRA-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo. We are glad that you were so pleased with your visit overall. Your review raises a number of points which cause concern and we will certainly take your comments on board.
We are glad that you would recommend the Sligo Park as a good choice of hotel in Sligo and we hope you will return in the future,

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Sligo Park Hotel for 1 night and were happy with the room and the location. Beds were comfortable, staff were friendly and breakfast was tasty and varied. The bathroom was clean but could do with being updated. The swimming pool was just down the corridor and was very clean and uncrowded. There was a wedding reception taking place while we were there but we weren't disturbed by noise at all. A good stopover hotel - we would use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoodleNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review following your recent visit to Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are glad you enjoyed it so much. We hope you will have an opportunity to return to Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club soon again,

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Do NOT be fooled by this hotels inexplicable four star rating. This rating could not be farther from the truth. The rooms are tired, old and dirty. The decor and finishing looks like they were dragged kicking and screaming from 1973. Compare this to the four star rating of the "Strandhill lodge and suites hotel"; balcony overlooking the sea, modern and up to date decor, immaculate room AND €20 cheaper.

Even if we forget about the room, the service was terrible. We waited 30 minutes to seated for breakfast and before we were finished we had waiting staff whipping the plates out from under out noses and upon checking out were not so much as asked if we "enjoyed our stay".

Skip this 2 star hotel and head for Strandhill lodge and suites hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: From what I understand there are newer and OLDER rooms. Ensure you do NOT get the old rooms.Sub par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. I am sorry you had such a disappointing experience with us on this occasion. As you may note from other Trip Advisor Reviews, this is not typical of the standard offered at Sligo Park. However for this to occur to one guest is one too many. Your review causes us grave concern and we will be addressing the items it has highlighted.
I want to apologise to you for this experience. If you care to phone me to discuss it in any more detail, I will be pleased to hear from you at any time,

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
On Behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just stayed on night at the Sligo Park Hotel. We checked in at around 5pm and were given room 145. This appeared to be a newer part of the hotel. The room was spacious with a view of a grassy area behind the hotel. The room and bathroom were both clean and well kept. The bath was nice size but did not have a separate shower( it was in the tub ) but this worked out fine. The best thing about the room was how quiet it was. We neve heard a door close, a maids cart or people walking in the hall. This hotel is outside of the town center. This was fine for us because we weren't planning on doing anything in that area but if you are looking to walk downtown it would be a trek. If we were in the Sligo area again we would likely stay here again

Room Tip: Quiet room 145
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52ellen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet here.

We hope you will be in the Sligo area soon again and will have an opportunity to return to Sligo Park.

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey

On behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aichwald
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were greeted in a very friendly way and the ladies at the reception were very helpful. The checking in was fast, the rooms were all quite nice. Breakfast was ok and dinner always excellent. Even if we wanted to share the huge steaks, no problem, the chef parted the meat in the kitchenand decorated each place nicely and we all got enough side dishes. Compliments! We felt very good taken care of. I'll happily recommend your house and come back with more groups. Ulrike Mensing

Room Tip: rooms with a view to sligo are wonderful, especially at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo. We are glad you and your group of eight had such a positive impression of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey
On Behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing