We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great staff!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before for a business conference but it is a very different but good experience on a bank holiday weekend.

We stayed in this hotel for St Patricks Weekend 2012 so a very busy period for the hotel. Despite that we had a fabulous time with our 2 year old. The staff are very warm and friendly and no request is a problem to them. We got a good deal for 3 nights B&B with dinner on one of the nights in the hotel.

Our room was a good size with a double and single bed (perfect for our toddler) and very well maintained. There was a large flat screen tv and a DVD player which is handy when you have children. We had brought DVD's with us but I know reception also had a selection on loan.

We used the pool everyday and it has a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The pool was very busy with Children but that is to be expected on a bank holiday weekend... There was an hour of childrens activities in the pool with a large float for them to clamber on and this was well monitored by pool staff both in and out of the water. But it was removed after the hour so that others could also enjoy full use of the pool and the times for this were well advertised. The pool was nice, the baby area cordoned off from the rest of the pool looked a little dirty, but think this was actually rust from some of the pool fittings. There is also a gym and tennis courts but we never used these facilities. The changing rooms were clean and well equipped with plenty of hair dryers and towels and swimming caps were available from the pool staff on entry.

We had dinner two nights in the hotel, the first night in the Hazelwood restaurant and the second night in the bar. The menu in the restaurant was nto bad although as a vegetarian I didn't find anything to my taste, but this was no problem as the waiter gave me alternative options. The meal was really nice and the staff helped to make the evening very relaxed. There was a childrens menu available and we did purchase off this, however, it was a little pricey considering we were purchasing for a 2 year old who eats very little - it would have been good if a baby bowl had been available like offered in many other restaurants. She received a huge portion and dessert but definitely geared towards an older child.

The food from the bar on the second night was also pretty good, in saying that my husband didn't really like his sirloin steak as it was quite tough, but he ate it anyway!!

Breakfast each morning was buffet style both hot and cold with something to suit everyone and the food was really good. There were additional options on the menu including vegetarian options which was great for me when I had a hot breakfast.

Overall we had a very good experience here and would definitely return. Sligo is a lovely location and is also only a short day trip to Donegal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvs2travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    389
    163
    68
    35
See reviews for
269
359
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

stayed there 2 nights for St.Partsck's weekend with our child.
very nice staff and lovely location with clean room.

we had very good time as a family BUT if you dont have young children,
maybe you want to avoid during school holiday time.
It was a bit too rough even for us with a small child, the bar and lobby has the feel of
camp site or caravan park.
a lot of children running wild and making lots of noise, which didnt bother me as long as they are not my child misbehaving thats not my problem, but i'm sure lots of people wouldnt like that when they think they are staying in a nice hotel.
the thing is that i didnt see any of the parents or staff doing anything about the wild kids - seems to me that they are quite welcome to do so.

so it is very good family hotel, with fun for kids.
they have kids fun flote thimng in thw swimming pool for short while(not all day so adult swimmer can enjoy swimming too) and good kids menu in the bar(we didnt eat in the restaurant, only in the bar). but the TV in the room has only basic cannels without kids channel or DVD player which you will find a lot of 4star hotels elsewhere. maybe they had them in their family rooms - we didnt get a family room, they are fully booked so we got a triple room.

food in the bar looked very nice on the menu.
we had our dinner 2 times there and their cold food are very good but hot food were never very hot. again, that was just fine for us as my boy can not eat or drink very hot things so we didnt say anything and i.m sure if they mention that to any of the staff, thsy will do whatever thing they can do to us, they are very very helpful nice people there.

i would like to go back there, Sligo is lovely town with lits to do. but may be try to go
on the school days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hihiromi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, its staff, location and cleanliness.

I'm sure you will agree the hotel lounge is spacious and comfortable with relaxing couches and an open fire, perfect for a restful holiday. There is also a seperate resident's lounge where guests enjoy reading or just some quiet time.

During holiday time, we provide some activities and entertainment for families to help them avail of the variety of facilities in the hotel and the spacious grounds eg movie nights, treasure hunt, pool games. DVD players are in place in some rooms and available on request in all other rooms with DVDs also on loan with our compliments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your own holiday and that you would like to return , though you had some concerns. If you would like to discuss those concerns with me in any more detail, I’d be delighted to hear from you at any time,

Kind regards

Bernadette Coffey

On Behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fivemiletown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed in the Sligo Park Hotel St Paddys weekend 2012. We stayed for just the one night (st paddys night) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I had read reviews online and I do agree when you arrive at the park hotel the exterior view doesn't give it any justice but once you step inside it's completely different. The hotel is lovely inside, reception staff so friendly and helpful. Our room was absolutely gorgeous! It had a jacucci bath, double bed, great view, safe, hair-dryer, tea and coffee facilities and we even had a balcony! The hotel has lesuire facilities, it has a gym which includes a fitness suite, (bikes etc) and a seperate gym for weights. It has a swiming pool which is reasonanly good - whenever we were at it there was alot of children so could'nt get doing proper lengths. There is also a steam room, sauna and jacuccii, the facilities at the pool are great - great range of hairdryers to choose from and towels and swiming hats available on request! There is also tennis courts outside which looked good but we didn't use these.
We ate in the restuarant of this hotel on our stay which was absolutely beautiful. Starters had got anything i'd normally go for so I tryed something different and very glad I did. We both enjoyed our meal and couldn't fault it at all, staff all so friendly. We then stayed in the bar for the remainder of the night - there was entertainment available but for a young couple it wasn't great!
We had beakfast the next morning which was a hot and cold buffet style. Excellent choices from a fry, to cereal, toast, fruit and croissants. Couldn't have faulted breakfast either as it was lovely. This weekend we stayed was extemely busy and we couldn't find any faults with the hotel, we had a very enjoyable, comfortable stay and shall hopefully be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace_710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review of the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, following your recent stay. We are delighted that you were so pleased with your choice of hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey.

On behalf of management and staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for the weekend got a good deal 2 b& b one dinner, hotel is just outside the town, looks a bit shabby on the outside could do wit a bit of an overhaul, but grand inside. Staff lovely and friendly, meal was nice nothing fancy, good shopping, scenery lovely, strandhill well worth a visit only bout 15 mins drive, def go here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your weekend break. We are very glad to note that you considered it to be 'great value for money' with staff lovely and friendly. It is also good to note that you enjoyed your meal, the good shopping, lovely scenery and that you found Standhill to be well worth a visit. At this time of year the external appearance of the hotel is particularly appealing with its landscaped lawns, mature trees and foliage just coming into bloom. We are very pleased to note that you will definitely come again.

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey

on behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

went there with 20 children from a soccer team and were treated with the utmost respect. food was great service was great

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melville12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for accommodation for your soccer team visiting Sligo. We are really pleased to read that you were happy with the food, the service and the welcome.

We hope your team did well in Sligo and will have a good season,

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey,
on behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

For a four star hotel I was sorely disappointed.

the rooms were average, the leisure facilities dirty, the Jacuzzi had too much Chlorine in it and was burning the eyes out of anyone using it.

The food was mediocre and tasteless. Even my steak ordered rare, appeared as medium... the wifes medium rare was also medium.

Anything you need or want has to be requested from Reception. DVD Player, Iron, Ironiong board, Polish, Pillows, extra blankets... I'm surprised we had running water and it wasn't shipped through reception by the bucketload.

The only redeeming feature is the staff, who all gave excellent service... well all except the lady who was manning recption when we checked in at 4pm, who was course, abrupt and just didn't seem to want to be there.

My advice, stay in one of the other hotels in Sligo... The Sligo Park really doesn't deserve its four star status.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottCharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very sorry to read your review outlining your disappointment with your recent stay at the Sligo Park Hotel and I apologise for this.

A number of the points you raised cause concern and I would welcome an opportunity to discuss them with you in person if you care to make contact with me. It is good to note that you were pleased with the staff and the excellent service.

I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience,

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey
On behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Good hotel, good food, good service, good leisure centre, friendly staff, kids catered for correctly. Ideal for a family break with young kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikeman-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorahB, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your family break. It is great to hear that you were so pleased with your choice of hotel and we hope you will return soon again,

Kind regards,

Bernadette Coffey.
on behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
321 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
355 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Property: Sligo Park Hotel
Address: Pearse Road, Sligo F91 Y762, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing