We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hot chocolate in Sligo!”

Osta Cafe and Wine Bar
Ranked #5 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Sligo
Price range: $9 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: The heart of Sligo - for a quick cup of excellent coffee and fresh homebaking, for a light lunch of the best of local produce, for 'small plates' and a glass of wine or for Sunday Brunch. Great warm atmosphere and a great place to meet people!
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate in Sligo!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having tried most of the cafés in and around Sligo town, Osta is my favoruite. Great riverside location, with gluten free and vegetarian options. Serves wine too, has late conversation evenings, where Spanish speakers can come and chat! I love their hot chocolate with spices, they offer soy milk too, so perfect for vegans. It's always cosy in here at lunchtime, highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A regular fan”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Osta and Brid are a part of my week. Once you discover Osta, you are likely to come back. The coffee is the best in Sligo and the food never disappoints. In fact, it can be rather too tempting! One of it's charms is the fact that it is the venue for people learning to speak French, Spanish, Irish and Italian. On different week nights groups can be found speaking - or attempting to speak - in their chosen language. the groups are welcoming, so it is easy to join in. Osta offer a discount so its a double whammy. They are usually busy... I am not their only fan.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyShore96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homemade loveliness but expensive”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We happened upon Osta while looking for A Casa Mia actually & decided to give it a shot due to the Georgina Campbell & Bridgestone plaques hung outside. We had trekked up Knocknarea by a roundabout route, so were hungry (2 adults) so order a soup & a hot emmental & chicken wrap each, with a coffee each after, a piece of chocolate cake & a pain au chocolate, all of which we shared with our 5 year old. The food was delicious, really fresh & clearly homemade, with a nice crunchy side salad with the wraps, and the relish on the side as requested. The chocolate cake was dense and slightly heated which was very moreish with a bit of cream. We did feel, however, when presented with a bill for €34 that it was a bit expensive. While the wrap was probably good value at €6.95, the soup was a bit much at €4.80 each, and the chocolate cake at €4. We were in the market for lunch tomorrow, so would have come back except for that. We've booked Eala Bhan instead, who do a 3 course Sunday lunch for €18. I think there's lots of competition in Dublin & maybe we've gotten used to good value for money, especially at lunch time?

Helpful?
Thank Nutribabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foody100, Owner at Osta Cafe and Wine Bar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Many thanks for your well written review of Osta Cafe and Wine Bar. I am delighted that you appreciated our fresh homemade food after your mountain hike. As regards our prices - we do constantly review them to ensure that we are giving value for money (especially to our regular customors). Our soup with homemade brown bread would be the most popular dish with most people at lunch time opting for this as a full meal and as such it is excellent value. I understand, however that when you add futher courses the cost does add up and I will undertake to include a special set menu in the coming months. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of our stay in Sligo. Best wishes
Brid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very reliable!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had a lovely lunch in Ostas, the staff are friendly and the new menu is great. I love the location down by the river, for a lunch in town its hard to beat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foody100, Owner at Osta Cafe and Wine Bar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. Very encouraging for our little team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee, nice selection of food and deserts”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Despite living in Sligo for 12 years, I had never even noticed Ósta before. But it has a great location looking out onto the Weir of the Garavogue river, just next to the water mill wheel of the Garavogue bar. The coffee is very good, and they have a nice selection of Gluten free options which is nice to see. I have yet to sample their larger meals and wine, but all of the food I saw served was all very tasty looking!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SligoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osta Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Osta Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing