We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wonderful old building”
Review of Hargadon Bros

Hargadon Bros
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful old building”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A beautiful old pub, full of atmosphere (and little snugs for customers), serving great Guinness, whisky, and (the surprise) really fine food. I had outstanding duck with red cabbage and an excellent brownie - colleagues were equally impressed. It's worth going for the food alone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    184
    34
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.I./France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a great surprise! just looking for a bar that served food in the middle of Sligo and this was the first one we came across, we were soon aware it was something a bit out of the ordinary with the smartly turned out barman, the authentic decor and a pretty good bar food menu. I picked the meal of the day - or whatever it was called - what an excellent idea - a whole meal on one plate! Great portion size for a 'light' lunch; a cup of homemade soup, I chose the salmon mousse/pate with lovely bread as my 'main' and a mini apple crumble (admittedly not so brilliant). The staff were charming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barbacni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLIGO IRELAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a nice pub !”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Had a few work colleagues in for lunch last week very nice and tasty . They really enjoyed it fantastic service by nice bar man , very friendly and will return .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLIGOHOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely old fashioned pub”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Ate lunch in Hargadons, lovely staff, great value for money, v tasty food the old style of the pub is delightful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHIVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
“Always Fabulous, nothing to fault”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

if you happen to be in sligo and contemplating where to eat, don't even bother looking for anywhere else. Hargadon Bros is definetly in my top 5 places to eat, without a doubt. Could not fault it in any way, the food is to die for, the staff are extremely friendly, and the decor is a great representation of the old irish pub scene! its an ideal spot for locals or tourists, even if you're from ireland! i would highly recommend it to anyone, and i would recommend trying the restaurants goat's cheese dish.. simply amazing!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roamingeater451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hargadon Bros also viewed

 
Strandhill, Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Hargadon Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing