We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fish Called Benbulben” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benbulben Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Benbulben Apartments
Ranked #16 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Sion Mills
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Fish Called Benbulben”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you have stayed in the Clarion you will sorely disappointed by these apartments. We have stayed in the Clarion Hotel previously and loved it so we decided to try the Benbulben Apartments. As soon as we walked in it stank of fried fish. When we contacted the only working staff member we were given an aerosol air freshener. After we found the kettle was burnt black it took a half hour to get it replaced. Any suggestion of moving room was completely ignored. I had decided to walk to the hotel to get a cuppa. Later I discovered the kettle didn't work and the milk was also out of date so probably a good idea I didn't make tea. Very tired décor compared to the Clarion and not as high a standard of cleanliness. Do yourself a favour and pay the extra to use the Clarion Hotel, avoid at all costs if you want a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Use the Clarion Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMcCrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    8
    5
    11
See reviews for
28
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very good apartment and facilities. Kitchen a little on the small side, but bedrooms fantastic and huge. We stayed in a two bed apartment (one double and one triple room) and would definitely stay here again. Plenty of parking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GezF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in these apartments in July 2012 for a week, very impressed, very spacious apartments, two en suite bedrooms with a good sized living area and kitchenette in between, wouldn't fault them at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed in January for a friend's hen and was well impressed with these apartments. For the price we were paying I expected something at hostel level, but the rooms are comparable to a 3-4 star hotel - loads of space, clean, comfortable and we didn't hear any noise. Bearing in mind the value, they get 5 stars. The reception area/halls could do with being updated, but at that price I'm not complaining.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor at the back of the building - didn't hear a peep out of anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustGiveMeAirCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed in the Benbulben apartments in the grounds of the hotel last weekend. Have to say that the person on duty was more than helpful as my partner forgot her phone charger and he gave a loan of his to help her out. The rooms in the apartments are very big and well serviced. To our suprise there was a fully fitted kitchen which we did not expect. It is a short walk to the hotel, which was very quiet for a weekend and food not great. All in all a great break away in the apartments, but my only suggestion would be to have the halls repainted.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aldde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Please avoid Benbulben Apartments unless you are a stag/hen or underage drinking party.
We went as a family group who had chosen self catering rather than hotel but there were no self- catering facilities-4 odd plates, a few bits of tin cutlery, no dishes. We had to eat out for every meal.
There was not a soul around during the day but come night time the place erupted with wild drunken revellry. Whether these were 'guests' or were just using the empty apartment block as a party venue, I don't know. But I do know it was scary and there was no-one to complain to. I have since e-mailed ---, which apparently is the management agency but no-one has replied. Do yourself a favour, AVOID

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ochnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sligo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
5.6 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbulben Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbulben Apartments

Property: Benbulben Apartments
Address: Benbulben Apartments Clarion Road | Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbulben Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Benbulben Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing