We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location & friendly owner”
Review of Iona B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iona B & B
Ranked #13 of 25 Sligo B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Super location & friendly owner”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is a very nice B&B with a big Irish welcome. Rose Horan is very down to earth and would do her best to help you enjoy your stay in the area. We arrived late at night and she rang around several restaurants to see if a table could be booked; and a hearty breakfast was served up too - with a nice selection of traditional Irish and European cuisine.

The B&B is located half way between Strandhill an Sligo town, and you have the option of walking to either place (only 2/3km each way) or going in by car/taxi.

Sligo is a lovely place for cycling and walking, or just taking in a movie or play in the town centre (and there's also the Yeats connection).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wormerveer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Iona B&B is a very lovely and friendly B&B in Sligo. I've had a delightful time there.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with fine beds. Rose, the owner, and her husband Tom are very warm and friendly and they are always willing to help with whatever you ask. They also have good information about things to do in Sligo.
Bringing you to towncenter or anywhere else in the neighberhood is never a problem for them. You are really getting spoiled.
Breakfast is delicious with home-made bread.
The B&B is located on a nice thirty minutes walk from Sligo-town and very central for visiting Strandhill and Carrowmore Megalithic Cemetry and much more in Yeats-Country.
Busstop in front of the house.
A wonderful place to stay with lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were extremely pleased by our stay. As soon as we arrived, we were offered a cup of tea and a pleasant chat in a lovely sitting room. Our host was extremely attentive without being overbearing, offered useful information about the area and the locals, and cooked a delicious breakfast for us in the morning.
The room was clean, welcoming, with comfy beds and a nice view of the garden.
I would definitely come back again and would recommend it to anyone !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I went with my Mum to this guest house last June and had a really lovely time.
Guesthouse is very clean and tidy and room are spacious.
Breakfast was very nice and plentiful.
Set in a quiet area of Sligo on the main Strandhill Road - ideal for visits to Sligo town and Strandhill. Buses also run fairly frequently and will pick you up from straight outside the door. You only need to stick your arm out and the bus will stop!!
Rose, the owner is lovely. Extremely friendly and will do everything she possibly can to make your stay enjoyable. Nothing is too much for her!

Me and my Mum had a fantastic time at the Iona Guesthouse and we are going back in August 09

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.0 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
2.0 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
421 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#10 of 25 in Sligo
18 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seisnaun Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iona B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iona B & B

Property: Iona B & B
Address: Cummeen, Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing