We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic famly stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Sligo Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 120 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derry, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic famly stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying here with wife and 2 kids. Rooms are great value for money. Breakfast was very nice. Staff can't do enough for you. Pool very nice. I will certainly stay again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evolution D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your accommodation on your trip to Sligo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    20
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a wonderful meal here. the staff were very pleasant and helpful. A good menu. everything served with a smile.It was a return visit as I had spent a weekend there last winter.Still top notch.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellslow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the food and staff. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bland despite an excellent waitress..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Dined here and was surprised to see it was only an XMas menu for December. It was the usual fare turkey and ham etc.

The waitress was superb, so good that I could not complain about the food. I had the turkey. The light coloured meat covered a very dark and tasteless turkey breast. This looked awful while the white meat was like cardboard. Now I know why I avoid hotel dining ... With a little more thought and a better this place could be great. A lovely dining room... Good waiting staff... Now get the chef to think about individual dining and not " mass function" like dining.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaritimoFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to note comments about staff. We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that you had a disappointing on this occasion. We are taking these matters very seriously and each one is being addressed. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you. Please let me know if ever I can be of any assistance to you in any way.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
231 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Really friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

restaurant is quite nice it has tables and booths where you can have privacy of sorts.Very friendly staff some of whom have been there for years and always remember where you prefer to sit even a year later.
Food is always very good and breakfast would keep you going for most of the day

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalimantsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your accommodation on your recent trip to Sligo. We are glad to note your comments on the staff, food and restaurant. Thank you for your positive remarks .We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Misleading menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed in Sligo Park on 30th June,had meal in Restaurant advertised as 30 euro per head,was disappointed to see three out of six main courses had hefty supplements of six euro fifty and seven euro fifty. Sample menu on net made no mention of supplements, embarrassing,as felt family members we were entertaining curtailed choices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hazelwood Restaurant at Sligo Park Hotel. I take on board your point about the supplement on the menu price. I should explain that the very keen menu price of € 30 enables the chef to create an excellent menu choice. Please see examples below.
But in an attempt to offer an even wider variety supplements are sometimes added as an option for our guests I can see where this does not suit everyone and I am very sorry if it caused you embarassment. We will keep the matter of the frequency of supplements on the menu under review.
I hope you enjoyed the meal you and your party had at Sligo Park.

Kind Regards,
Bernadette Coffey, on behalf of Management and Staff of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club

Starter examples
Cream of Celeriac and White Truffle Velouté
Smooth Homemade Duck Liver Parfait, with Apricot Jam and Toasted Brioche
Fivemiletown Goats Cheese and Fresh Basil Mousse, Toasted Sour Dough,
Sherry and Hazelnut Vinigarette
Killybegs Smoked Salmon Tartare, Horseradish Panna Cotta, Cucumber
Gazpacho
Clarkes Dry Aged Beef Carpaccio, Pickled Mooli, Remoulade, Rocket Salad

and maincourses such as

Confit Belly of Rare Breed Pork, Sweet Potato Puree, Rum and Raisin Jus
Grilled Rump of Connemara Lamb, Nicoise Vegetables, Mint Foam, Lamb Jus
Pistachio Crusted Rockall Cod, Lissadell Mussel Risotto, Choirzo Essence
Seared Breast of Silverhill Duck, Star Anise Jus, Hot Beetroot Jelly, Roasted
Butternut Squash
Lasagne of Chargrilled Vegetables, Collooney Brie, Rocket and Cashew Pesto

Desserts

Chocolate Orange Pudding, Mullins Dairy Ice Cream
Almond and Brandy Torte with Shiraz Poached Pears
Bewley’s Coffee Crème Brulee, Hazelnut Sablé
Plate of Irish Cheeses, Grapes, Crackers, Celery, Chutney
Pineapple and Pecan Crumble with Chocolate Cookies and Coconut Sorbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sligo Park Hotel also viewed

 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing