We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate but needs better maintenance”
Review of Yeats Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yeats Village
Ranked #17 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Meath, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate but needs better maintenance”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here in Jul/Aug 2013 as a family. We had a GrabOne voucher which made it a very reasonable price. Our daughter is a wheelchair user and when I mentioned this when making the booking we were immediately offered a ground floor wheelchair accessible apartment, which was very helpful. The apartment was plenty big enough for our needs, we don't spend our holidays sitting around in accommodation, we just use it as a base. The place was very clean overall with the exception of the oven which was filthy and smoked a lot whenever it was switched on. One shower did not work properly but as there were 3 bathrooms and only 3 of us we managed just fine. However, there was a noticeable smell of damp in each bedroom and evidence of same on walls. We paid €250 for a 7 night stay in peak season which we were very happy with. Very quiet and peaceful, we found the beds quite uncomfortable however, so quality of sleep wasn't great despite the lack of noise. If you are looking for cheap easy accommodation this could work well for you, but I feel the place needs to be better maintained. Staff on check in were pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked a three night grabone, €125 for three nights for three bed apartment for two adults/two kids. Not the best value grabone deal but they let three kids stay which made it excellent value for two adults and three kids.

Directions spot on and Yeats village near a shop etc.Office easy find and check in very efficient and quick.

Apartment spotless and very spacious. All rooms en-suite. We'd a ground floor apartment.
Heating/water very easy manage, all facilities you'd want. We'd no bath (despite a huge bathroom) which I missed. Photos on website are exactly what you get.

Not one complaint, hassle free holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMcNGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent stay, staff very helpful, great location and base for our holiday,very happy... no downpoints, great value for money ...........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Nice and peaceful, exactly what you want for a family holiday.........

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My partner and myself stayed in an apartment in Aug 2012. It was very well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful, gave us information on places to visit and arranged bus and boat trip for us. Very good value for money and convenient to visit places of interest. Our apartment was upstairs as my partner has some difficulty with stairs we asked if we could have a downstairs one. Staff were very accommodating but as downstairs ones were all single we opted to stay where we were. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I would really recommend this accommodation to anyone. But be mindful it is not a luxury hotel but definitely value for money. We were a group of single female friends and found it to be very clean and more than adequate for our needs. We had a 3 room appt and each room was en-suite which was great.

Only down points were that we had to drive around the development a bit to find the front door as it was on the side of the building and not clearly numbered and one of the showers was faulty. But apart from that I would definitely stay again. I had to change the booking last minute due to changes in the number coming and the staff were more than accommodating and really friendly.

Top marks all round

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here in Aug 2012 we had 2 apartments which we got on a deal. After a slight hiccup at reception the staff were very good, pleasant and helpful.
The apartments are spacious and all rooms are en-suite which is a plus but some of the en-suites were on small size.
The furniture is "well used" badly stained as are the carpet tiles which in our apartment were disgusting dirty..
The draw back is location, the village is a 10 min drive out of city centre where you have to go to get anything!
There was some noise issues but credit to the village staff they dealt with it speedily!
Overall for what we paid it was ok, but could not justify the full price!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevorlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The apartments as such are basic and are used during the academic year to house students. The rooms are rather noisy due to the thin inner walls and very loud water pumps that kick in when someone else in the apartment/building takes a shower (most rooms have ensuite bathrooms).

My daughter stayed in one of the apartments for nearly a whole year and I agree with previous reviewer Richie when it comes to the rudeness and inefficiency of the management.

From the start there was an issue which kept going for several months when one of the other students kept having her boyfriend in the apartment all the time (night and day), supposedly because the latter didn't have a room of his own. The management did nothing until one of the other students was so fed up about this that she was prepared to move to another apartment from a different agency.

Apartments had to be payed in full for several months in advance, but when it came to getting back the deposit it was the opposite: after more than two months there's still no sign of it. Enquiries are answered with the lamest excuses and promises: you'll get it at the beginning of June, we'll look into it, there was a problem with the Irish banks, you'll get it next week... or not at all.

If you plan to let your daughter or son study in Sligo I would suggest that you have a look at the other options before you part with your money (be warned: The Village Clarion Road is apparently managed by the same people from Albanne Property Management).

We stayed there for a few days when we picked up our daughter, and while the apartment served its purpose, next time we will definitely stay in one of the hotels in Mullaghmore as that is in a much nicer location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sligo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,081 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#19 of 23 in Sligo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeats Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeats Village

Property: Yeats Village
Address: Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeats Village 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing