We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of An Daingean

An Daingean
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Daingean
Ranked #10 of 26 Sligo B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is a well located B&B convenient to touring Yeats country. Facilities are spotlessly clean and the proprietor, Mary Hennessy is a warm hostess. Full Irish breakfast is great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawyer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2008

My three friends and I had the chance to stay at An Daingean a couple of weeks ago, and could not have been treated better! We arrived very late, and never been to Sligo before, were hopelessly lost. Our hosts actually drove out to meet us in town and we were then able to follow them into the B&B. Although it was quite late, we were treated to a wonderful and welcome pot of tea or coffee and cookies. The rooms were the best...spotless, quaint, just wonderful. The breakfast the next morning was perfect, and our host was very good about steering us in the right place to get out of town, and also had some recommendations on some of the local places too, which we were able to enjoy. The entire time we were in Ireland (2 weeks) we had the great fortune to stay at wonderful B&Bs and met some great hosts, but An Daingean was one of the best. I would recommend anyone going to Sligo to stay at the An Daingean.

  • Liked — Relaxing with tea when we finally got there - and our helpful host!
  • Disliked — I can't think of a single bad thing about this place!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lanicet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2008

A colleague and I spent a week at An Daingean as part of a study abroad program we directed. The Hennessys were wonderful hosts, always attentive to our needs and invariably cheerful and friendly. The breakfasts were plentiful, with several options. The location was also excellent, allowing for easy access to both Lough Gill and the city center. The B&B was very affordable, and came with free views of new lambs in the pasture out back. I highly recommend An Daingean, and will stay there again if I have the good fortune of returning to Sligo.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank spalding65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Fantastic small b&b, easy 20 min walk to town centre and close to the Lough Gill and Parkes Castle as written about by WB Yeats. Very comfortable room and lovely breakfast with very friendly landlady. Plenty of off road parking. Very recommended

  • Liked — Good sized, very clean and comfortable room and lovely breakfast
  • Disliked — A 20 minute walk to town centre
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,087 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
456 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seisnaun Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Daingean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Daingean

Property: An Daingean
Address: Hazelwood Road | Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing