We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRIENDLY GREETING”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of An Daingean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Daingean
Ranked #10 of 25 Sligo B&B and Inns
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY GREETING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome . Tea and coffee was made and there were a lot nice biscuits. Our room was really comfy , with a super shower. This is a B&B I would recommend and if I go to sligo again I hope to stay there
Eddie Treeby

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDDIETREEBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
350 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This B&B is so clean and snazzy. Would be more suited to an older crowd than a younger one though. But the rooms are beautiful and bright and spacious. Breakfast was only ok. From the reviews on this, I was expecting alot more. Had a good sleep, very quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed one night and it was a lovely bedroom and ensuite - quiet - no traffic noise. Very close to town and the hospital, if you were looking for accommodation near it. Easy to park the car off the road. We were an hour early but not a problem with the host. They also take credit card which a lot of B&b's don't take. The hosts could not be more helpful and made us some filtered coffee on arrival as my husband has an allergy to the one in the bedroom. Lovely home made cake on arrival and breakfast was very good. Very pleasant hosts and lovely to stay with.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor so no steps!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teebee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boltigen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our stay in this B&B was just great! There is really nothing to complain about. Mary and Christy are warm and friendly. Mary often drove us around the city in the evenings and showed us beautiful places which gave us excellent ideas for trips during the days. The yellow house with its large and bright rooms is situated in a quite area about 30min. walking-time to the lovely city Sligo. The room service was excellent and we were welcome with fresh self-backed muffins. Coffee and tea are provided in the room. Beds are very comfortable, we slept very well. The breakfast range was unbelieveable. You can choose between whole english breakfast (sausages, egg, ham, bacon) or the vegetarian version (eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes). But you allways got as well cereales, fruits and toast with butter and jam. To summarise we can say that for the relatively cheap price you get a lot of extra services and you feel to be at home! For example gave Christy us a lift to the train station, when we had to leave. Thank you a lot Mary and Christy

Sligo is - even though it isn't one of Irelands common tourist places - a recommendable place to stay with a lot to see! The city with it's river Garavogue and five bridges is beautiful. You can take part in a free city tour, organised by the tourist office. There are a few lakes. We rent a bycicle and drove around laugh gill. Near the laugh an old castle called Parkes Castle is worth visiting, mainly because of the aspiring guide! Furthermore the long beach of strandhill is a very beautiful place, allthough you are not allow to swim there. It is nice for a walk or to try surfing. To reach the beach you should take the bus from the city. To walk it's to far away. One day we went for a hike at the hill Knocknarea, which is about 326 meter above sea-height. On its top you have a overwhelming view over the sea, sligo town and the Ox mountains. Another characteristic mountain is the Ben Bulben. There is an official 1.5hours-way on the bottom of it through a forest. Other mentionable places are rosses point (with a beach where you can swim), clencar waterfall, carrowmore megalithic cemetery, drumcliff (yeats memorial), doorly parc. The various landscape with lakes, hills and the sea is unique and I miss it still at home. The Irish people are very friendly and open. We can fully recommend you a stay in Sligo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here over the weekend & were very happy with service received.
Mary and her husband were very warm and welcoming, and couldn't do enough for us including offering to drive us to the hospital to visit a loved one who was sick in hospital and later into town to get a meal which was greatly appreciated.
Breakfast was lovely and they were happy to serve at a time that suited us which was great.
The bedroom and ensuite were spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
I couldn't fault this bed and breakfast at all and would higly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lu48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was my second stay at An Daingean and it was as enjoyable and relaxing as my previous visit nine years before. The first time I had my wife and our then two young children with us. On this recent stay I and my nephew were in Sligo for a family wedding. Almost a decade later the experience was the same. Mary is a pleasant, gracious, and helpful host. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and her full Irish breakfast is delicious. Excellent value for the price. You won't find a better B&B anywhere in the area and probably in all of
Ireland for that matter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The best B&B I have stayed in. Great location, safe, easy 30min walk to town. Close to Hazelwood forest, Lough Gil and Parkes Castle. The rates are reasonable with discounts through internet bookings. The warm, bright, spacious rooms have the most comfortable beds. Pots of tea or coffee served with buiscuts are served on call throughout the day even though there is tea provided in your rooms. We were given lifts to town and the hospital with the hosts going out of their way to help us. We were served very good quality breakfasts and Mary and Christy Hennessy do their best to make your stay in Sligo memorable. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
1.9 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
6.8 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Daingean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Daingean

Property: An Daingean
Address: Hazelwood Road | Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing