We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Woodlandsong Family Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of woodlandsong

The front of our house. from the raised flower bed.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of our house. from the raised flower bed.
The back of the house and one of the two lawns taken from the bridge Views into the centre of the garden from the boardwalk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
The front of our house. from the raised flower bed.
The back of the house and one of the two lawns taken from the bridge
Views into the centre of the garden from the boardwalk
Our stream house cabin which has exterior lighting, a deck and a fire pit for selaxing.
Looking down the stream from one of the wooden bridges.
A view of the dining area part of the downstairs living space. there is another lounge upstairs also
The ensuite bedroom.  We have two other bathrooms both with showers one with a bath.
The upstairs sitting room is a lovley place to relax.
The hand built wooden doors and stairway with local stone walls in the entrance area
The house was designed to face the sun and get the most light possible.
The Kitchen has all the appliances and limestone flagstones woth south facing views.
The kitchen windows face directly south onto the back garden and the mountains.
The handmade doors, internal stone walls and pot belllied stove in the kitchen.
The pot belied stove and living room to rear.
The kitchen like all the downstairs rooms has a wooden ceiling to give a cosy warm feel.
The main open fire in the living toom. Guests can burn turf, peat briquettes and wood.
This deck is down by the stream and has an open fire pit  and sensor you can extend you eveni
Part of the 200metre boardwalk that meanders through the trees. This is all underlit at night.
The stream hut has a fire pit for you to enjoy and is lit up at night.
Part of the stream walk with sympathetic planting.
The raised deck at the end of the boardwalk looks out onto the mountains.
Part of the subtle sensor night garden which our guests really appreciate.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tullamore, County Offaly

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Agata B
1 review
“Woodlandsong Family Stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights with 2 kids( 3 year and 1,5) and a couple of friend and all of us were amazed with the house and the garden when we arrived. It was really beautiful and the landscape around is incredible. We felt like being at home. Rooms were spacious,well equipped kitchen with a great selection of pots, pans and serving dishes which made it easy to cook meals for all of us. We were enjoying our evening time with cosy fireplace. Would definitely recommend. Amazing place. Our two children absolutely loved it too plenty of room for them to play. Very clean.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the garden. The garden lights have just be serviced. Which means that a new be enjoyed after dark. Delighted too that your children enjoyed playing in the garden we enjoyed making it with that in mind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen5852
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved Woodsong. I was such a special house and yard. It rained all the time we were there so we did not have a chance to enjoy the outside, but stayed nice and warm inside. The loft room was a great place to gather at night with wine and play games. We could not get the Cd to work, but it was probably us, since none of us have one. The towns around this property are worth visiting. A must is Emo Court, not really advertised much, but one of our best places, the tour of the house was great and the park around it beautiful. All and all we just had a great time. Thanks for the coffee.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are delighted that you loved Woodlandsong and had such a good time. We also enjoy the upstairs loft space as a place to relax with a book or a game and a glass of wine.

When your enquiry came through about the coffee facilities I knew I had met a fellow coffee head. Delighted it went down well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to send us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the garden and that you got an opportunity to see the night garden, with the lights under the boardwalk and along the stream at night. I hope you made use of the telescope to see the night stars.

I am delighted that the house was so sparkling clean too. I will pass on your compliment to our cleaners. Tullamore and Birr two of our nearest towns are both very friendly towns and a pleasure to visit and relax in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ernestoxf...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and gardens”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is the most peaceful place imaginable.i have never been anywhere with so little noise.The house is very spacious(we never made use of the upper floor)and is both excellently equipped and full of lovely pictures and personal items including many books and CDs.
We went to a number of local towns but a must see is the Sculpture Park.
Wifi is available in many pubs and restaurants nearby.
A lovely place to get away from it all.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review. The peace and quiet seems to enable our guests to relax completely from their busy lives. The absence of light pollution too is very welcome and the stars at night can be very clear. There is a telescope on the upper balcony for our guests to use.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma U
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical, mystical surroundings”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have to say, I couldn't rate this home away from home, nor the owner more! We found it extremely comfortable and all of our needs were met pleasantly. The grounds are just so beautiful and a fabulous place to wonder, in the stillness of the countryside that is surrounded by the unspoilt Slievebloom mountains.
The house offers much space with plenty of comfort and the warmth of two fires for those chilly Irish evenings. I will definitely return to this accommodation in the near future for much needed rest and relaxation!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. It was lovely to welcome you and your party of artists once again staying for the Electric Picnic. We very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again in the near future and am delighted that Martin was able to help with the turf and everything.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Difficult to locate”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house and grounds have had a lot of thought put into them and in a longer stay you would be able to appreciate this. This was only a base for my family and I.
Owner was helpful prior to visit. House was initially difficult to locate. Information available in house for people was helpful for touring about.
Although this was not 5star accomodation the house was comfortable to vacation in.
Bathroom facilities and some of the decor require some TLC. Otherwise the house has seen a lot of love,labour and thought put into it.
There was a bat in the kitchen on one of the nights. Though my Grandchildren found this fascinating, it is something I would have preferred to see outside of the house.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am sorry that you found the house difficult to locate. I will look at the directions and see if we can make them any clearer and more explicit. There are pipistrel bats in the garden. In many ways we are blessed, they are an endangered species. They can can onlyget in the house through an open window.

We are glad that you had a nice time and appreciated the vision and tlc which have gone into creating the house and gardens.I think you are right Woodlandsong is a good base for a touring holiday and rewards a longer stay.

Wishing you all the best for your future travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanya1704
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Spent the wkend at the house after booking trip to Ireland for my dads 60th
House and grounds are absolutely beautiful! We were more than happy with our choice!
Is also an ideal central location between Dublin & Galway
Will defiantly revisit in the future ;-)

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. It is a central location and makes a great touring base. We are delighted you had a good time and look forward tp seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing