We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing out of the ordinary”
Review of Sea Dew Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Dew Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 13 Tullamore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The bedroom was quite small - we had to maneuver around each other when we walked around the bed. Bathroom was shower only but did provide shampoo and conditioner. Breakfast area was pretty. If I had to I would willingly stay here again but if I ever make it back to Tullamore I would try a different B&B.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jaimexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved this guest house which was a welcome change from 2 wks of staying in standard B&B's... our host was wonderful and accomodating when we asked about heating (other B&B's were waaaay too cold in the AM for taking a shower). This was a very large room, very comfy beds and there was actually a wall heater in the bathroom! Breakfast room was
very lovely with ceramic tile table tops, matching blue dishes and lovely
view out the windows of their property. We will definitely try and stay here again when attending the BANJO festival in 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirateWench49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 12-14th July. Beautiful grounds in an affluent part of Tullamore which would allow for the overpriced room.
Rooms very clean and well presented although bathroom was quite tight, 8ft long but only 2.5ft wide!!!!
Didn't stay much in the House as we were visiting family, but quite glad about that.
To see the TV you need binoculars as it is perched up on a stand at about a foot below the ceiling and at the other end of the room and was a Portable!!!
Breakfast was a real let down! I come from Belfast and a full Irish is not two bacon, two sausage and one egg!!! Two arrived cold and with enough butter for one slice and when asking for more we waited 10mins!!!
Owner was very pleasant and very accommodating and was helpful with leaflets etc.
One finally point he should put up a sign which says at breakfast, no politics or religion!!! One very annoying guest who had an opinion about everything!!!

So overall an above average visit. To the owners if they read these comments.

1. Consider losing a few rooms to make better use of space.
2. Look at price €140 bit steep for two nights.
3. Full Irish should mean what it says!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeWheels0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I have stayed at this very welcoming guesthouse on numerous occasions and would recommend it to anyone on business or leisure in Tullamore. Superb breakfasts, really comfortable, clean rooms. Frank and Claire really make us feel welcome in this lovely, friendly home. Great value and close to town with excellent facilities, I simply cannot fault the Sea Dew Guest house.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonnyowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed one night in the Sea Dew Guest house and would highly recommend it. We received a very warm welcome and friendly breakfast service. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It says 4 star on the sign at the entrance. I think 2 star would be more appropriate.

The reception is nice. The room was clean and basic.

The breakfast was very disappointing. The service was not what you expect from an Irish guesthouse. We did not feel welcome. The cooked breakfast was very poor. The toast was cold and there was enough butter for one slice. When I asked for more I was told no. More toast did arrive but it may have come from another table because it was cold and hard.

Would I recommend it to others? No.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneMcEneaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed there for one night. A nice house and friendly owners, but to be honest, I found it a bit overpriced compared to similar B&B's (45 EUR for one night) and the radiator in my room wasn't working. The room was ensuite, had a water boiler and a TV.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tullamore hotels
0.2 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse Tullamore
The Townhouse Tullamore
#11 of 13 in Tullamore
24 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ballycommon House
Ballycommon House
#1 of 3 in Tullamore
26 reviews
2 mi away
No photo provided
Brookville House
#5 of 13 in Tullamore
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dew Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dew Guesthouse

Address: Sea Dew Clonminch Road, Tullamore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tullamore
Price Range: $80 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a mature garden of trees "Sea Dew Guest House" provides guests with a high standard of comfort. Located just 5 minutes walk from the center of Tullamore town where you will find cafes, restaurants, bars, shops & cinema. Free secure parking, complimentary Wifi. Each spacious bedroom is en suite with tv, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and telephone. Ironing facilities available on request. Breakfast is served in the conservatory where you will find a selection of fresh, local produce and home baking. All breakfasts are cooked to order. There is a guest lounge with open fire & tv. Private gardens with seating areas. Golf courses, horse riding, fishing, swimming pook, walking trails and hiking nearby. Enjoy a whiskey at the"Tullamore Dew Whiskey Visitors Center" which is within walking distance. Locke's Distillery Kilbeggan is just 5 miles away. On the way stop and see "The High Cross of Durrow". Clonmacnoise Monastic site is a 40 minute drive (approx). Train & Bus Station is a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sea Dew Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing