We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Around!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tullamore
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Steak Around!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife and i stayed here recently for a mid week break. Service on arrival was excellent and very helpful. The room was tastefully decorated and what stands out in my mind is how comfortable the bed was!! Definitely the best sleep i ever got in a hotel.
We ate on the second night in the restaurant and this is probably the only dissapointing thing about our stay....only because we didn't eat there on the first night too!!
The food was fabulous!! I had steak from the new "Stockmans" menu and my wife had roulade of sole. These days its hard to get perfection in a restaurant but i certainly think these guys have pulled it off. Everything about the food was stunning and the staff were professional, attentive without being annoying and even though it was busy they managed to engage with us making us feel comfortable.
We will certainly be making another trip to the midlands if only to stay here.(This time we'll avail of the restaurant on both nights!!)
If you haven't been then try it, we couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rozelle1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    268
    126
    57
    30
See reviews for
305
389
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We've just got married and I have to say we were treated like royalty. How this is not a 5 star hotel is beyond me. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, you are made to feel at home from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave. No request is too big. Even if you just want a weekend away, you won't be disappointed.

Ann and Noel are brilliant and made our wedding day the best day we could ever imagined.

An unforgettable experience!

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank muccabud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Having stayed here for 2 nights - I would firstly return here & secondly recommend it to anyone who asks- It's center to everything.
Myself & my Boyfriend stayed here on a deal that was advertised. The rooms were spacious and clean & very comfortable,we got a paper each morning.
One of the days we had left the Do not disturb sign on the door - Having been out we came back to find a letter from reception to say why our room hadn't been cleaned & if we still wanted it done to contact them. It's the little touches that make a hotel like this stand out from the rest. The staff were extremly helpful & pleasant at all times. The carpark is located about 2 minutes from the hotel but within walking distance.
The only negative thing to say about this hotel is that there was alot of noise pollution from the carpark of the Bridge Centre(across the road) at night time - It seems to be a hosting ground for zooped up cars.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selinab_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I booked this hotel as relaxing break for one night. My initial reason for booking was what looks like the lovely pool area. When I got there I was a little disappointed to see it didn't look half as nice as it did on the website. The outdoor hydropool actually looks like a completely different one compared to the pic online (no grass or plants, just decking) . It was also a little grubby with dirty looking stains around the sides of it. As was the indoor poor area - there were stains on the door of the sauna and I just got the general feeling that it wasn't as hygenic as it should be and I couldn't relax because of that. .

The bedroom was clean and spacious enough - but again not quite as nice as depicted online. The television had a couple of stations but we couldn't watch them as the reception was so poor - not exactly what you would expect from a four star hotel.

We had dinner included in our package in the restaurant upstairs. We were given the option of the early bird menu (we weren't told this on booking) which was quite limited. Although, even if they had told us that, the early bird is not the same as the one depicted online. When we looked at the menu I was disappointed to note that if you wanted steak you had to pay €11 supplement each!!!. It is common for some hotels to charge a supplement of some kind but I thought €11 pp was extortionate and especially when the menu choice is so limited!

We also had food in the lobby where they were charging €9.95 for a club sandwich and €4.95 for a plain ham and cheese toastie. Outrageous prices in my opinion.

The food in the restaurant was of good standard but nothing to write home about all the same and certainly not worth the prices being charged.

All in all it was quite an expensive night away for us in an average hotel and wasn't really worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee_202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

A lovely, friendly hotel. Reception staff are brilliant. Room very comfortable. Meals top class. Overall, the atmosphere is welcoming, warm and friendly. Would like to have stayed there for a longer spell.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a double room for the weekend in this hotel. When we checked in we were initially given a room which had two single beds (and mattresses) pushed together and dressed with double bed bedding. There was a very uncomfortable ridge down the middle of the bed due to this. When we first talked to the receptionist we were informed that this is the standard 'classic' room bed and that they would class it as a double bed. We were also told that the hotel was fully booked and that we were unable to move to another room. However, soon after they did manage to find us a room with a real double bed in it.

Despite the problem with the bed the customer service was very good and much appreciated.

Room Tip: Specifically request a bed with a double mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

From the moment i rang this hotel to make a booking until we left this hotel it was absolute class, everybody is so professional. 5 minutes after arriving in our room the manager came to our room with a bottle off wine as a birthday present for my wife,"never experienced this in any other hotel we ever stayed in" All staff in this hotel are very friendly and very professional at what they do there is nothing they wont do to help you. Cleanliness is of a very high standard throughout the hotel. A great choice of bars and resturants in the hotel serving excellent food and drink, there was great entertainment in both bars with a good mix of locals and residents. Excellent leisure centre with a superb rooftop hottub. Plenty of place in their carpark, this hotel is a must and a lot of hotel managers in this country could do with visiting here and seeing how to run an hotel properly. Will definately be coming back soon and would recommend it to anybody, if i had to rate this hotel it would be 10 out of 10..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamore
0.3 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
156 reviews
20.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,808 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
264 reviews
21.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club

Property: Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Address: Bridge House Hotel Bridge Street | Tullamore, Offaly, Tullamore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tullamore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Bridge House Hotel Leisure Club and Spa is centrally located in the thriving midlands town of Tullamore. Renowned for good food, hospitality and world class service the luxurious Bridge House Hotel is the perfect choice for a relaxing short break, family holiday, spa and leisure break, golf trip or function. Tullamore has lots to offer from nearby shops, restaurants, bars, golf courses, children's recreation, historical sites and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge House Hotel, Spa And Leisure Club Hotel Tullamore
Bridge Hotel And Leisure
Bridge Hotel Tullamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing