We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midland weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tullamore Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tullamore
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Midland weekend”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A group(14) of us overnighted in Tullamore Court on Ryder Cup W/E 2012. The check-in clashed with the arrival of a wedding party but the 2 receptionists coped well with the numbers. The rooms were roomy, clean and comfortable. However, the shower was disappointing - really only a trickle of warm water. It took forever to wash one's hair. The party's meal in the Windmill Restaurant was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. Mixing larger groups of diners with small intimate groups is not really successful for either party. One group may feel restricted while the other may feel their privacy was invaded. A big plus for the bar area was that the tvs did not dominate the sitting areas and those wishing to watch the Ryder Cup could do so separated from others who wished to talk. The Sunday breakfast was good, freshly cooked and toast was prepared to order a welcome break from the dried turned up offerings so common in hotels. Well done Tullamore Court.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mycomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore C, Director of Sales at Tullamore Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Mycomaniac,
Many thanks for your review; we really appreciate you having taken the time to write your trip advisor review.
I am glad to hear that our reception team looked after your group well, and and that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Receiving customer comments and feedback is an integral part of our business and we consistently take on board all comments received.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Tullamore Court Hotel in the near future

Kindest Regards,
Catherine Killeen
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    235
    84
    29
    24
See reviews for
204
193
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fabulous hotel to bring the kids. Staff are fantastic and food delicious. There is a friendly and warm atmosphere.Every time we go we are made feel at home.The foyer and bar are very comfortable to chill out in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaieMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore C, Director of Sales at Tullamore Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear MaieMcMahon,

Many thanks for choosing the Tullamore Court Hotel for your family break & taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay; I will pass your lovely comments to our staff at our weekly team meeting.
Kindest Regards,
Catherine Killeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
723 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here this week during a business tour of Ireland. Best hotel of the week. Enormous car park with acres of space for our truck, comfy room, leisure club, nice bar area (with free crisps when we asked to buy a bag...), but best for us, the restaurant. We had the best meal of the week, and in my humble opinion the best fillet steak I have ever had in my life. Quality cut of meat and cooked medium rare to perfection. Totally superb meal overall, and thanks to Debbie our waitress, for being so friendly and efficient. Finally, the breakfast which was the only freshly cooked, non-buffet one of the week, absolutely excellent. B&B was €65. I can't fault this place for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore C, Director of Sales at Tullamore Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Andy- S60,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are all delighted to receive such a positive review. I will pass on your fantastic comments to all staff involved, I was very happy to read the comments on our restaurant. The Restaurant won Best Hotel and Country House Restaurant in Offaly earlier this year and we pride ourselves on the quality of our food. A lot of hard work goes into sourcing local suppliers and our methods of selection, preparation and cooking.
We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. If you wish to be added to our mailing list regarding special offers and occasions, please do not hesitate to contact our Marketing Department on marketing@tullamorecourthotel.ie
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Catherine Killeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights 8th and 9th September. Two night break one evening meal. Room was grand typical hotel room with toiletries sho shine etc. sheets were nice soft cotton. Swimming pool nice and good size steam room. Lovely evening meal and good house wine. Nice breakfast got room service one morning too much food!
Enjoyable stay. :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anniek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore C, Director of Sales at Tullamore Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Dear Anniek_11,
We are delighted to read your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. Thank you for taking the time to place your comments; I will pass on all your comments to our team at our weekly team meeting. We are constantly striving to maintain our high standards at the hotel & appreciate your comments.
We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Keep an eye on our website for some great special offers and packages.
Kind Regards,
Catherine Killeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymahon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed her because we were attending wedding. We stayed here a few weeks ago and i can tell you something DO NOT STAY HERE. I didnt want to write review but have to because no manager contacted us which i think is unproffessional. We attending a wedding on a friday, we werent greeted by any member of staff when we arrived so we didnt know where we were going, we said we check in and check later. Check in was fine but receptionist could be a little bit more polite and friendly. When we went up to the room it was a twin room, my husband called down and the receptionist said it was a room with a double bed and a single, trying to make me and my husband a lier, he said no its a twin 2 singles. She said oh right ill get the beds put together which was fine, most hotels have 2 singles that they put together, then when we were about to leave she called and said she will move us. We moved to the room next door, which had a double bed and a headboard tha should have had a single!!!!! Communication needs to be done between reception and accommodation staff.
Then we made our way to the bar, only 2 staff on with a full bar, just an option maybe when their is a wedding on more staff???????? Everyone at the wedding were giving out about the price of drink, talk about a huge markup!!!! How they get away with that price is beyond me. Just let you know so far we havent seen any management. We were called to dinner at 7pm which was madness since we all were there since 3.45pm. We went for dinner in ballroom, NO STAFF to direct anyone. No manager on the floor, when the speeches were going on staff stood at side of room with arms folded, also each one had a different uniform on, no one match which when you are in a 4 star you expect that. Also did the chef ever hear of heart attack with too much salt in soup jesus put an onion or turnip in the soup. The salad was fine, but main course, come on you wouldnt feed that to a dog and there was ten on our table but people were almost finished before last 2 got there food, the stuffing seemed like it was made in a block and cut up, seriously guys you really need to sort out your food. Didnt see a single manager all night and NO ONE asked us how we were or if we needed anything. Also my husbands niece and nephew wanted ice cream for dessert but instead they got SORBET, come on are you trying to make the kids sick.
That night the room was so warm you couldnt sleep comforably. Next morning we went down for breakfast grand we went down at 15 mins before it was finished but they were clearing already which is ridiculous so we got no breakfast, we went to bar and asked to they do any breakfast but one waitress said no but people beside us got a breakfast so i asked another waitress and she said yes we do, so my husband got something.
When we checked out at 12noon we brought this to the attention of the receptionist but she couldnt care less, she kept saying would you like me to get a manager, would you like me to get a manager, it should have been ill get a manager. We gave her our numbers to get someone to call us but of course NO ONE RANG.
This place really needs to sort out there management and there staff.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you can avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore C, Director of Sales at Tullamore Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
“Worst Hotel in the Midlands”
Dear Tang Family,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It was very disappointing to read of your experience here at The Tullamore Court Hotel.

I would like to apologise profusely for the number of factors that went amiss during your stay. I can assure you that this is not a true reflection of the high standards we expect and achieve here on a consistent basis.

It was unfortunate that a member of our Management Team did not get to meet with you prior to your departure. I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly to discuss the matter in greater detail or alternatively you can email me on Catherine@tullamorecourthotel.ie
Kindest Regards,
Catherine Killeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have stayed there in the late 90's when it was in it's first year and was very impressed then. Went back this summer with family for a 2 night break and a reunion with friends.
The receptionists were really busy ( it was the afternoon of The Tullamore Show) but efficient, courteous and helpful. We were given directions to our family room but on entering it it reeked of cigarette smoke, even with the windows open. We rang reception, the busy receptionist did come up and showed us another room which was not a family one but we squeezed in. The room was nice, bright and comfortable and the bathroom wasn't as modernised as the previous one - it had a jacuzzi.
However, there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms, a real drawback in this day and age. It was hot and humid that week and the windows only opened ajar so at night it was very uncomfortable trying to sleep. The shower in the bathroom is fixed to the wall, no hose so not ideal for kids/elderly, the controls were extremely stiff and the bath edge was quite high for stepping in/out.
Breakfast was good but there was a wait on both mornings as they hadn't prepared to cater seating for the full house. Lunch menu in the bar was lovely, freshly made sandwiches were that, so tasty. We had dinner for a large group one night, the food was delicious but the service could've been more efficient and the wait for food did take a while.
The pricing differed greatly for the same room/night accommodation. Our friends paid €114 LESS than us for a family room for 2 nights and they were both booked back in March! So shop around on prices before you book.
May be back if they get air conditioning.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is right on the main road so ask for a quieter room to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore C, Director of Sales at Tullamore Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
“Still great service, food & amenities… but, needs some maintenance”

Dear TravellingQ8,
Many thanks for your recent stay at the Tullamore Court Hotel & indeed for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologise for the number of factors that went amiss during your stay. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard that we strive to achieve. The weekend of the Tullamore Show is an extremely busy weekend for the hotel and I am glad to see that our Reception team looked after you well.
We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. If you wish to be added to our mailing list regarding special offers and occasions, please do not hesitate to contact our Marketing Department on marketing@tullamorecourthotel.ie
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Catherine Killeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago as i had to attend a function in the town. Was glad i stayed here but i have to say there were a few minor things that could be improved. Stayed in a family room with my wife and 2 kids but the room was quite small and felt like a double room with 1 of the single beds been a fold out bed and not a proper single bed. The room was very warm so we had to leave the windows open at night while lead to a lot of noise from early morning traffic from the nearby road. The bathroom had a few cracked and missing tiles which let it down. Breakfast on both mornings was top class, on the first morning we were seated beside the window overlooking the courtyard there was a lot of dirt and bits of food on the window ledge looked liked it wasn't cleaned in a while. Just a few things that let it down a small bit, overall a lovely hotel and well worth a visit with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore C, Director of Sales at Tullamore Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear MonMan 2,
Many thanks for choosing the Tullamore Court Hotel for your recent stay in the town and also for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are constantly striving to maintain the high standards at the hotel. I will pass on your comments to all the teams at the hotel to ensure that your feedback is reviewed by all team members.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Kindest Regards,
Catherine Killeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamore
0.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
150 reviews
21.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
21.2 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
19.1 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullamore Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullamore Court Hotel

Property: Tullamore Court Hotel
Address: O'Moore Street | County Offaly, Tullamore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tullamore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tullamore Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the Tullamore, Co. Offaly, Ireland, 90 minutes from Dublin, Galway and Limerick with 104 guest rooms including 33 executive rooms and suites all with complimentary broadband. Hotel facilities include restaurant, lounge bar, and leisure centre with 20 metre swimming pool, sauna steam room, Jacuzzi and full fitness suite. This hotel also offers extensive conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tullamore Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Hotel Tullamore
Tullamore Hotel Court
Court Tullamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing