We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great challenge”

Esker Hills Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Esker Hills, Tullamore, Co. Offaly is regarded as one of Ireland's leading inland golf courses. It is a challenging championship golf course where no two holes are remotely alike. It is noted for its distinct links feel, superb sand-based greens, all-year playability and warm welcome.Awarded "Irelands Bestest Hidden Gem" in Leinster at The Golfers Guide To Ireland Awards 2012.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great challenge”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nothing to dislike about this course. A fantastic course that offers a good challenge for all handicaps. Would definitely recommend a buggy as it is a little hilly.If you can keep the ball in the fairways, you'll be fine. We certainly enjoyed our round and were very impressed by the welcome and courtesy we received on the day. The clubhouse is very homely and our meal afterwards was excellent. If you're in the area playing golf, don't miss this course.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yaboya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    12
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality and gem of a course”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited Esker Hills what a pleasant experience. Great staff and wonderful course. Strongly recommend to all.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birr
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very helpful and friendly in esker hills”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great course, value for money and organised taxi back to town, played before christmas , course in great condition. each hole a different test. we had a great day and food in bar afterwards

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank padraig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Social Media Representative at Esker Hills Golf Club, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Padraig H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your day at Esker Hills. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the course and found it in good condition.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Golf Course”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I along with my 3 playing parners played last Saturday - dont forget this is January and in Ireland. once again i was shown what a fabulous course this is. it is a real tough test of golf but very fair. Each hole is different and holds it own test. We were amazed that for January there was actually some run on the fairways and the greens were in great condition. The staff were very friendly and vey helpful - the guy at the front desk (Ray i think) was friendly and very helpful. But to top it all off we had food in the clubhouse afterwards and if you like a good feed and you like the best chicken curry around this is the place for you and all for 10e.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Social Media Representative at Esker Hills Golf Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Michael,

Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted that you had an enjoyable day both on and off the course.

Hopefully we will see you again throughout the year.

Kind Regards,
Fiona Molloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magnificent course”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We played esker hills golf course as part of a tour of six top courses in ireland over the xmas period and esker hills was by far the best. It was dry, challenging with something different on every hole. This is a course to be reckoned with and wonderful value for money. The staff are friendly and the food is great in the clubhouse. I really enjoyed nthe experience and cant wait to come back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank galwayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Social Media Rep at Esker Hills Golf Club, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Galwayco,

Thank you for taking the time to review your day at Esker Hills. We're thrilled to have been included in your tour of the top golf clubs and are even happier that you deemed us the best.

The greenkeeping staff will also be delighted that you found the course in such good condition.

Hopefully, you'll have another enjoyable return journey to the course in 2013.

Kind Regards, ,
Fiona Molloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esker Hills Golf Club also viewed

Tullamore, County Offaly
Tullamore, County Offaly
 
Tullamore, County Offaly
Tullamore, County Offaly
 

Been to Esker Hills Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing