We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and a great breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullamore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grennan's Country House
Ranked #1 of 12 Tullamore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights visiting relatives in Tullamore - less than a ten minute drive.Deidre was very welcoming - greeted with fresh coffee and a great selection of cakes. Breakfast was superb. The bed was comfortable, the room was tastefully decorated, the shower was really powerful. The property is well signposted and is just off the Tullamore to Clara road. You really couldn't ask any more from a B & B.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 135 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Grennan's Country House whilst attending a family wedding in Tullamore. We had heard through the grapevine that the hospitality there was legendary, and we weren't disappointed. Deirdre is one of the friendliest hosts we have met in all our travels and couldn't do enough for our family whilst we stayed there. Deirdre had allocated one of her chalets for our stay and we didn't need to worry about cold rooms for the 5 month old baby traveling with us as I must say that the accommodation was spotless, warm and cosy. On our arrival Deirdre met us with warm scones, and the treat was repeated each morning of our stay - a lovely touch indeed. Being in the countryside our nights were quiet and peaceful, yet we were only a 5 minute drive to the centre of Tullamore. The location is perfect, situated in beautiful rural countryside and next door to the famous Esker Hills golf course, designed by Christy O'Çonnor jnr. The full Irish breakfast was worth waiting for - a feast of food - accompanied by delicious home made bread. There is no doubt that if Deirdre decides to give up the B&B trade she could easily sell her home made bread and scones.....we certainly would be her first clients! So all in all one of the most pleasant experiences we have had whilst traveling. We left relaxed and refreshed, with a plateful of warm scones as a going away gift together with a box of chocolates. We briefly bumped into husband Pat whilst we were there and he thanked us for our custom with his friendly smile and strong handshake. Overall a rare and delightful experience indeed, and one which we will, and already have, heartily recommended to family and friends. We will certainly be coming back to stay there again, availability permitting, as you can imagine it is in high demand, and next time we hope to stay a little longer :)
We wish the Grennan family well for the remainder of the year, a peaceful and hopefully relaxing Christmas (which sounds like it will be a busy time for all), and a successful and enjoyable 2014.
Pat, Ann, Shannon & Sinead Carroll, Serena and Caleb Fleming

Room Tip: Bring all the family and rent one of the chalets for an unforgettable family experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatCarroll-ValidSoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Deirdre and Pat and their son John were excellent hosts and represent Irish hospitality at its very best. We stayed in their very comfortable self-catering accommodation with our 2 year old son and we all were very well looked after. We have stayed in many B&Bs in Ireland and this ranks up there with the best. Traveling as a family can have its challenges, but the amenities (washer/dryer, cable, good hot showers and very warm and cozy radiators) available in our very clean and modern cottage made our 5 night stay feel like we were right at home. The fridge and cupboards were well stocked, and they even loaned us a few toys for our active 2 year old boy to play with, a nice touch we really appreciated. We were welcomed after a long flight with an absolutely gorgeous full Irish breakfast and a plate of fresh homemade scones that were some of the best I have ever had.

We would stay here again with our family in a heartbeat on our next visit to County Offaly!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Life-of-Reilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Only stayed here for one night - wish I could have stayed longer, such a beautiful place and lovely owners. I was part of a group of 9 people and we stayed in one of the self contained chalets - so much room and everything you need. Can't say enough good things about my experience of staying here, oh nearly forgot - the cooked Irish breakfast is great too! Thanks so much Deirdre and Pat :) Kim

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived after sunset on a chilly November evening. Deirdre fixed us tea and cookies to eat by the fire in the parlor. We stayed in a bedroom in the main house which is beautiful, spotless, and very quiet and relaxing. Next morning's breakfast, which was served in the elegant dining room, consisted of eggs, two types of meat, mushrooms, fruit and more. The home baked scones were the highlight of the meal. I would highly recommend Grennan's Country House to anyone traveling in that part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnMGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Fabulous weekend was had in the blue chalet! On arrival we were greeted by a charming young gentleman who showed us to our chalet , freshly baked scones were laid out for us and the facilities were faultless !! Most enjoyable stay as ther was no hurry to check out the next morning! Breakfast was served over in the chalet too which was much appreciated!! Deirdre and Pat and family were extremely helpful and welcoming throughout our stay and we all will be highly recommending grennans countryhouse to friends in the future ! Infact we as a group, are already planning our next stay :) thanks again pat , Deirdre and family !!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johannamccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our 4th year to stay with Deirdre and Pat and they have outdone themselves every year with there kindness to us. We arrived friday evening to our chalet to be greated with scones and cupcakes. For the 3 mornings she arrived with fresh batches of scones for our hungry men.!! On the sunday morning we gave a quick count and i think she effortlessly feed 40+ hungover heads. Sum of our party of 24 even got breakfast deliverd to the chalet...now dat is service. No request was to big or small over the weekend, thanks Pat for your help with our winning banner. Most of our 24 gang were 2 return home on sunday evening but decided to stay...i can safely say it was due to the hospitality we wer shown over the wknd. We cant wait to return next year. SOUTH LEITRIM MACRA X

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryguihen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tullamore hotels
3.6 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
186 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
3.2 mi away
Gormagh B&B
Gormagh B&B
#2 of 12 in Tullamore
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sea Dew Guesthouse
Sea Dew Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Tullamore
88 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
703 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Townhouse Tullamore
The Townhouse Tullamore
#11 of 12 in Tullamore
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grennan's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grennan's Country House

Address: Aharney, Tullamore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tullamore
Price Range: $29 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grennan's Country House is a luxurious 4 star country guest house and self caterings set in the heart of Ireland, just 7-8 minutes north-west of Tullamore. Here you can relax and unwind in a totally stress-free environment in the countryside, surrounded by fields, birds singing and fresh, clean air.The highly acclaimed Esker Hills Golf Course is just a short walk up the road. Grennan's is located within easy reach of many of Ireland's great tourist attractions, yet rural enough to give you peace and relaxation after a hard days sight-seeing!Specially built in 2001, Grennan's Country House has 6 generous-sized guest bedrooms as well as a wheelchair accessible suite on the ground floor. There is a guest lounge off the main entrance hall and a large dining room allowing wonderful views of the countryside from your table. Prices start from just €35 including breakfast and some of our home cooking and baking which proves very popular with guests.If you prefer to "do it yourself", why not stay in one of our 3 self caterings located within the grounds of the house. We have two five bed self caterings, each capable of sleeping up to 14 people and a 2 bed self catering capable of sleeping up to 6 people. Each of them is fully equipped with all mod cons including an oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and free wi-fi, all of which allows the visitor that extra bit of independence from just €25 per person sharing ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing