We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere with a very personal touch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullamore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clonamore House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Tullamore B&B and Inns
1 review
“Friendly atmosphere with a very personal touch”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in this hotel and it's the place I would reccomend to friends and family.Good choice of menu and full bar which was very homely.personal touches made me feel more part of the family than paying guest

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truckerbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
10
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Having been here some time ago, what a lovely greeting we received upon arrival from the chickens and ducks as they roamed around the grounds quite freely and happily. I now know the true meaning of 'free range eggs'. Upon arriving to reception, having walked only 10 metres from where we parked and could leave our car, we received a very warm welcome. We had driven for some hours and my wife was delighted to have a pedicure and manicure without an appointment at the 'in-house' beauty clinic, and very good value it was.

We had arrived at 3pm and at 6pm we decided to have food in the bar, and it is wonderful that one can order anything that is not on the menu. Our daughter wanted mixed vegetables and potatoes only (they happily obliged), my wife had chicken maryland and I ordered food not on the menu, some of their wonderful homemade brown soda bread with pineapple, crispy bacon and melted cheese on top, with a portion of chips. Nothing one orders in food appears to be a problem to the chefs here. The food and the real hand-cut homemade chips are just fantastic. Breakfast was just wonderful, everything is freshly cooked to order and served at the table. One is also given their own coffee pot, something I love.

The room was furnished to a standard that I have seen in some 4* hotels, which I have stayed in from time to time around the world. The bathroom even had a little tube of colgate toothpaste supplied. One parks their car only a few steps from reception and it is free and there is also free wifi, these are two things that big hotels can sometimes 'rob' their guests for with excessive charges!

The second evening was so nice we sat out the front of the hotel and had dinner there, so relaxing watching the chickens and ducks move around the well kept huge lawn area. Our 9 year old daughter was so well catered for, we all love this hotel.

A nice touch is the fact it is possible to have a civil marriage ceremony here and have the reception, very convenient for any intending couple.

Tullamore town centre is only one mile away, and a lovely town it is. Good for shopping a great range of restaurants.

My wish is that someday there will be many, many more hotels like this one which are in places that we visit. "A great quality stay at very reasonable prices"

Room Tip: This is a very quiet hotel, I would think all of the rooms are to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed in Clonamore House Hotel last Saturday night. Was shown to a room with two big windows overlooking the front garden, which had hens and ducks waddling around pecking at the grass.
The room was spacious, plenty of room to walk around, loads of storage space, a big double bed and a good size separate bathroom. Most importantly it was spotlessly clean.
I was out for the evening and had gone for a walk along the canal that goes through Tullamore.
Tullamore is a great spot for walkers as there are some pretty easy walks along the canal or in through the forest at Charleville Castle as well as some more challenging ones not too far away in the Slieve Bloom mountains. At this time of year it is easy to loose track of time as it doesn't seem to get dark until after nine. When I arrived back at the hotel it was well after the time set out for serving food. The owners of the hotel were sitting up at the bar relaxing and they and a group of customers were watching Mrs. Browns Boys on the telly. Despite the interruption Frank and Veronica went to check if there was any food left to make me a sandwich and came out with not just a sandwich but a little salad and packet of crisps on the side.
I felt well taken care of in this friendly family run hotel. Joining the owners and their customers in the bar watching telly that night felt like I had just come into a home and been asked to join the company with a cup of tea and sandwich. It was small and intimate, people laughed and talked with fellow holiday makers or travellers and still there was enough space to go and just be by yourself if you wanted.
I think a lot of hotels could learn from the example of this hotel. Definitely a place I will be back to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Went to Tullamore for a friends birthday early June. Stayed in Clonamore House Hotel and was very pleasantly surprised...to be honest every other hotel in Tullamore was booked out so some of us stayed here. It's a lovely small hotel with quaint farming surroundings including the hens having a stroll. The family are so friendly. Couldn't do enough for you. The man of the house even dropped us into town! Extremely clean and a lovely breakfast. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel whilst in town for a wedding.
Room fab, food great. Everyone very friendly, could not do enough for you. Can't wait to return. Special thanks to Carol, hope you got to watch the football

M&D Dunne

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Went for bar food. Ordered 2 lasagnes and they were freezing cold. Got them back and they were reheated in a microwave. I did ask for a childs portion for my 4 year old and she was given an adults portion. I found 2 pieces of tin foil in mine so we left them and didnt eat them. Went to pay and me and my daughter were charged 9.50 each. I said i asked for a childs portion and they took 2 euro off. Disgraceful that we didnt even eat the dinner. Will not be back and will also be advising my distant family who come to Tullamore to stay to book in elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tulltown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

we stopped in to clonamore house on the way to dublin few weeks ago for breakfast it was really good ,thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenan1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tullamore hotels
0.7 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tudor Lodge B&B
Tudor Lodge B&B
#7 of 12 in Tullamore
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Brookville House
#6 of 12 in Tullamore
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Townhouse Tullamore
The Townhouse Tullamore
#11 of 12 in Tullamore
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonamore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonamore House Hotel

Property: Clonamore House Hotel
Address: Arden Road, Tullamore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Tullamore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tullamore
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known for our good food, hospitality and great service Clonamore house hotel is a great choice for that short break, family holiday or business trip. Wifi is available at the hotel free of charge and free parking is also available. Relax after a hard day in our beauty clinic which provides a range of luxurious treatments. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing