We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the wait”
Review of Clonmacnoise

Clonmacnoise
Book In Advance
More Info
$426.38*
and up
Ireland's West Coast: 3-Day Drive to Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

have always wanted to visit clonmacnoise and really enjoyed my visit. only thing I could suggest is that the nuns church could be better signposted

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank greatspins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    221
    42
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting spot”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful place with a lovely view. Well organized visitor centre. Im planning a Shannon boat tour next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic landmark with beautiful view.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Once we were close, the signage was adequate. Not large, but there. I would certainly suggest keeping your eyes open for signage.

The visitor center was very modern looking. Plenty of information about the various sculpted works inside. Even a 20 min video, while a little dated, gave a great overview of the 1500 or so years of history.

Outside, the well kept hill is dotted with tombstones and and various ruins. The view to the north is a lovely flood plain with Ireland's longest river The Shannon. I liked it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Celtic Site Worth a Visit”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This site dates back to the 6th century with the Shannon River as its main source of transporation for that time. It includes the ruins of a cathedral, 7 churches, and numerous gravestones. Its quiet surroundings add to the mystic location. It is accessible mainly by car through Ireland's narrow country roads. The Irish government have free access to its heritage sites on the first Wednesday of every month in 2013 -- see website: http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/

Give yourself at least 1-1/2 hours here. You'll be amazed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very pretty place with good informationcenter”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were 6 of us and they gave us a group discount which was nice of course (5 instead of 6 EUR per head).
The place itself is quite stunning. Great views on the River Shannon.
I particularly liked the little museum. There 2 of the original stone crosses are on display. And they show a very informative movie ever half hour or so. You get to hear about the history of the place which I always appreciate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohannaHaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clonmacnoise also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Tullamore, County Offaly
Tullamore, County Offaly
 

Been to Clonmacnoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing