We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff; noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westenra Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here mid week; great central location, off street parking could be better signposted for access to hotel. Room was at the front of the hotel and the street noise was bad! Breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again but would ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the front! Very noisy on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Extracare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankatWestenra, Owner at Westenra Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Extracare,

Thank you for your review on the Westenra Arms Hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated and are being adhered to.

In relation to the carparking, we only just took our carpark sign down as we have recently renovated are new bar Shifty Mulhares downstairs, & the sign was blocking the new entrance. We haven't found a proper home for it yet, but we're working on it.

I'm sorry that you found your room noisy, but I do hope you will return to our hotel, so our friendly staff can ensure you will have an unperturbed stay, next time round.

Best regards,
Frank McEnaney
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have visited here twice now the first for a Sunday Calvary which was the worst food I've ever tasted the warm ceaser salad was cold the steak was solid and the waitress shouted at us across the room for our drink order which was very un professional . Our second visit was a Saturday night to the diamond restaurant which there was a birthday dinner on so service to other tables were slower can't fault the starter it was lovely and a meal on its own , had sirloin for main and asked med/well but when I got it is was rear after getting them to take it back to cook it some more I received it back very well done !! Side orders also came out a good ten minutes after the mains . All in all from all the good reviews I've heard and read about it it just hasn't lived up to it at all and deffo won't be giving the place a third chance

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westenra A, General Manager at Westenra Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Katrina G,

In response to your comments made in relation to the Westenra Arms Hotel, I wish to express the utter disappointment that I feel. You have visited us on two separate occasions and we seem to have failed to meet your expectations on the deliverance of quality food.

We pride ourselves as being one of the best eatery's in Monaghan Town & also the county, proven by our returning customers.

On both occasions you have stated your dissatisfaction about the steak. Our steak is what we are renowned for, as we select only the best of Irish Hereford Beef. On the very rare occasion that the steak is not cooked to your liking, we will gladly return it & replace it with new meat. However, we cannot do this, if we are not made known at the time that you are not happy, which clearly did not happen in the first instance.

I can only apologise on behalf of the kitchen for overcooking your sirloin the second time round. Therefore, I would like to ask you back to the Westenra to enjoy a complimentary meal for two in the Diamond Restaurant & I can assure you, you most certainly will not be disappointed & will hopefully return again!

I look forward to hearing from you again.
Regards,
Frank McEnaney
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

stayed at the hotel over the weekend with 3 fellow golfers staff very friendly and attentive had our food in the bar the steaks were excellent and cooked to perfection there was a tradional group playing lovely music very good breakfast plenty of fruit and lovely cooked ulster fry. the only negative point we had was the smokers were standing in the door way and the smell of smoke was coming into the bar not nice any more, management please take note.

Room Tip: rooms to back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Tried a Tuesday night ,Bar busy and good atmosphere.We usually try here at the weekends so this was a first.Marie Colm and and the gang were busy BUT made time to talk. I had a steak and the Good lady had a chicken salad.All the sides were superb. A very good, very enjoyable meal,will go mid week again.thanks

Room Tip: A good place to go for a good,filling meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westenra A, General Manager at Westenra Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Frank M,

Thankyou so very much for your 5star review. I feel overwhelmed when the Westenra Arms Hotel receives such positive commentary, it means my hard work is paying off!

Thanks again.
Frank McEnaney
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend go here alot for bar food and it is always spot on. Its a great place to have a bite to eat in a relaxing environment and the prices aren't bad either. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice casual night out .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were told on booking accommodation for 1 night at the weekend that the last available room was basic and so right the receptionist was.
The room was about the size of a normal bathroom and you can guess what size the bathroom was. The paint on the ceiling above the shower was peeling off and the entire room would need a serious makeover.
Sleep was very limited due to the outside noise of patrons leaving the disco and then when we eventually fell asleep the noise of the road sweepers once again in the early hours of Sunday morning put paid to that.
At a price of 110.00 euros for the 'box room' we would have expected a better standard and have decided that if we were to return we would make the point of not having the 'basic' room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bowlerEnniskillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A group of 8 of us traveled to Monaghan to attend a friends' wedding. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated wonderfully. We were impressed by the beauty of the reception, dining and bar area. The rooms are lovely, clean and very welcoming after a long day of sightseeing.
The food is awesome!!!! The location of the hotel could not be better it is right in the center of everything. Looking forward to our next trip already.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pghrdhdirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.6 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,544 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
14.5 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westenra Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westenra Arms Hotel

Address: The Diamond, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: $127 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westenra Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westenra Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing