We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh..”
Review of Snaffles

Snaffles
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Monaghan
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh..”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a birthday party. Firstly the potatoes were extremely salty! The children at our table were complained about to the manager but they did not make much noise so the atmosphere seemed very un-childfriendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckoftheirish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
996 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
“Very pleasant but such a pity Castle Leslie residents cannot dine in the Castle itself.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We dined on one of the evenings we were staying at Castle Leslie (and on the other we sampled the bar menu downstairs and that was fine enough too). Snaffles is in the modern extension to the large gate lodge and it has been built in sympathy with the older building. Downstairs there are pleasant, warm, comfy bars and a glassed-in terrace that looks on to a courtyard with tables and chairs. At night it is charmingly lit.
We were served throughout by very pleasant and attentive local staff and at one point the old laird himself played the piano in the background. As there was a special promotion of more gins than I knew existed, I selected an new one to me and asked for a martini. They don't do martinis. A G&T was the expected tipple. It all got better after that.
The food was finely cooked and well-presented.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Poor avoid”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had lunch there on Easter Sunday after we were taken to our table we were handed a lose A4 sheet with the menu on it and left for about 20 mins before someone came back to serve us.
The main course when it arrived was luke warm and in some parts were cold while the desert was too hot. The manager did reduce our bill to compensate for the poor quality and apologised.We had stayed in the castle a number of years ago and found the food to be wonderful with great service and were had expected the same here but sadly standards had slipped.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mddublin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“decandent”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

my partner and i had dinner here a few nights ago. the restaurant is open and relaxed with high beam ceilings . the lady who brought us to our table had great knowledge of the food being served and told us her favorites. the chefs are visible to the diners which allows them to watch each plate being served. now for the important part. the food. absolutely perfect. the crab ravioli in a prawn bisque was divine. i actually wanted to lick the plate clean. they make there own in house bread which is also great. for my main i had the venison which is from the deer on the grounds. perfectly cooked and so full of flavor. finished with dessert and hand made chocolates. a really excellent meal that was well prepared and well served. an extensive wine list with most on show is also available.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BCHarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snaffles also viewed

Monaghan, County Monaghan
Glaslough, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Snaffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing