We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is not the first time we have stayed at this hotel and will not be the last. From the moment you arrive its is imminent that you will be well looked after. The staff are excellent and very helpful. All departments are faultless. The food in the restaurant is to die for and the breakfast, well it will set you up for the rest of the day.....no shortage of food at this hotel. Accommodation is of a very high standard every thing you need to make your stay enjoyable. The leisure also superb and spotlessly clean. You will not be dissapointed with this hotel by no means.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcc_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,453 - 1,459 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2009

We had a most wonderful time in this hotel. We enjoyed a special offer for 'seniors' which went even beyond our expectations.
The value for money was extremely good, the welcome with coffee and scones most appreciated, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as good as we ever experienced in hotels and the general ambience most welcoming.
Our room was spacious and immacutalely clean with a big boal of fresh fruit to welcome us. The breakfasts and evening meals which were included in the package were terrific. The Leisure Centre was excellent. All Staff throughout the hotel were first class,

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ins0uciant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hillgrove Hotel for a short break and from start to finish we were very impressed with the standard of service at the hotel. The receiptionists were excellent and very welcoming. The dining room staff equally so and the food was brilliant, great variety and all tastes catered for. Have never stayed in a hotel that had such nice and attentive staff. Well worth a visit and great value for money. Helena

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

we went away for 4 days, this hotel was one of the best that we stayed in on our trip,really lovely hotel, friendly staff and great food!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in mid July. Me being a vegan is usually a problem with hotels and they do not know how to feed me or what I can eat! But I got vegan meals made for me at dinner, they ensured there were no animal products in my meals and they even got me soya milk and yogurts for breakfast. They were helpful the whole time we stayed there and they ensured we had a pleasant visit. The receptionists were great too and made my booking easy and not a chore. The spa and pool are fantastic too! Be sure to try the mud rasul! It's leaves your skin silky soft! I cannot speak more highly of the staff in this hotel, they went out of their way to make sure I was catered for and I greatly appreciated it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Clean, comfortable spacious room; fantastic table dote dinner, attentive staff; good leisure facilities, and indulgent spa. Overall excellent will be returning and will bring the kids

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coggles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed here for one night for an early morning meeting the next day. I found the hotel to be modern, and clean. The rooms were of a high standard with flat screen tv, tea/coffee, phone and wifi access.

Lovely veiw over the counrty side over looking the Cathedral

The bathroom was modern, very clean with seperate shower,and bath. Beds were a nice size and well made up. The hotel has a spa facility whioch looked excellent, unfortunately, due to our strict timetable I didn't get the oppertunity to use it.

We ate in the main restraunt, food was excellent with plenty of it!, breakfast in the morning was buffet, and again excellent quality.

Bar prices as you would expect are pricey, however on this occasion it all went on the expense account!

Decor in the main lobby area was a bit Austin Powers for my taste!

On the whole an excellent hotel, which no doubt during the next round of meetings we will use again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdel5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
231 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,411 reviews
24 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
841 reviews
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: $132 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing