We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I've stayed at the Hillgrove on a couple of occasions and love it, the rooms are nice and the leisure centre is Fab, they do go out of their way to give you first class comfort, the only fault I have is I think the food in the bar is overpriced for what it is really. in fact some of the food aspects could be looked at a little especially at breakfast when the rashers were that overdone it was like biting cardboard or plastic, sausages burnt and we got a fish meal to our room the previous night as the hotel was really busy and full in the lounge and the fish was really greasy. But everything else about the Hillgrove is Faultless but I'm qualified in Travel & Tourism and Events Management and if the foods not up to scratch it will put people off returning as good food is one of the main factors of a hotel stay. but definitely a big thumbs up to everything else about the Hillgrove and I love their new area at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Sandra

Thank you for your lovely comments about our new glass entrance, Orangery and newly decorated reception area. I am sorry that you feel our bar food is overpriced. We believe that we offer excellent value for money in a 4 Star establishment with a range of main courses from €13.95 pp. I will certainly speak to the chef about your breakfast comments and fish that you received to your room. I appreciate your constructive feedback as without this we cannot strive to improve our product. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the hotel. From the moment you check in you're treated extremely well.
The staff simply can't do enough for you. It feels like a home from home.
The food is gorgeous in both the bar and the restaurant. The pool area is spotless and very well maintained. We upgraded to a superior room which was lovely but the only gripe I had was the mattress was too soft. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great hotel for everything. They really look after everybody. Especially the kids. The food is delicious and you can relax and know that the kids are having a great time. I go regularly and just love it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamielee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Hillgrove Hotel is such a lovely hotel, we stayed in a family room it was so comfortably and so clean. We had dinner in the bar, the food was really good and the staff were so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel we are planning on going back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hillgrove many times and it never disappoints! It's the only hotel I know that actually welcomes children and staff go out of their way to assist. I can't wait to see new decor. I have been for a hen night and family occasions and have received amazing customer service at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHunter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hotel had been recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. From driving into hotel and seeing 'funky' pink chair just thought this is my cup of tea. There was some work being carried out but we had been warned of this and it certainly did not interfere with our stay. The staff were extremely kind and helpful in all areas and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were lovely and had lovely view overlooking Monaghan cathedral although be warned if ur a light sleeper the sound if the bells may wake you early but I certainly enjoyed the room we were in. Breakfast was amazing and again staff very helpful and friendly.
If there us one negative, the mattress in our room was quite hard and 'lumpy' but thankfully there was a single bed which I had a great nights sleep. But overall lovely relaxing stay and shall be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 881MaureenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were welcomed most warmly, was given a sumptuous bedroom with every need met.
Had extremely well cooked and satisfying meals ( the mashed potatoes were amazing).
Free wine,on the second evening
The church was beautiful....well worth a visit, open 9 am til about 4.30pm....but you may catch the lady still there later ,if you're lucky
Old Irish Bars in the town
There's a Museum too.......Five stars and more.....reception being re carpeted and refurbished whist we were there.....no problems

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgetfortyniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
228 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
75 reviews
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: $113 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing