We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ashleigh House(Monaghan)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Westenra Arms Hotel(Monaghan)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glencarn Hotel(Castleblayney)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Valley Hotel(Fivemiletown)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveler rating
1,020
313
118
59
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,020
313
118
59
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubgames roomflip flopsfamily hotelthermal suitehen partyswimming poolfantastic hotelrelaxation roommurder mysterybar foodoutdoor hot tubfirst classfrom start to finishsecond to nonefamily breakwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
953 - 958 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hillgrove as part of large group. The girl on reception ( pregnant girl) was so friendly and helpful, always chatty. I had single room which was nice with large bathroom. Very clean and only complaint is that the tv was old and small with a terrible picture. Breakfast was average. Dinner was very good considering such large group. The leisure facilities including the pool and outdoor hot tub are great with a superb changing room with digital lockers and swimwear drier. Staff very helpful and friendly and as we were Christian group not buying alcohol they did not seem to mind and were more than pleased yo simply sell you a coffee or cola. Other venues almost huff if not buying large amounts of drink. Quite a lot of work being done to improve the hotel. All very modern and trendy and probably appealing more to the females. Overall a decent 4 star hotel trying to keep guests happy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

After reading other reviews here you would nearly think that I'm nearly I'm talking about a different hotel here but I'm not
To start with food lovely if a little bit on the pricey side for bar food , decor lovely , spotless clean but with the exception other a you chap Colin ( I think ) at breakfast the staff are very very unhelpful
We had asked for a few small thing ie room service and a ice bucket but everything was an effort and very unhelpful
Even when we were the only people left in the bar they wouldn't let us turn up the volume on the TV
Even though there's is good points the unhelpful staff really let down our weekend .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 370helly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear 370helly
Having read your recent review naturally we are very disappointed to read you found our staff very unhelpful as this is not the normal feedback we receive. You also mention that you found the bar food a little pricey, yet we have main courses on the menu from €11.95 which includes a choice of side dish. We have kept our prices competitive and had had very positive feedback. We will certainly take your comments on board.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and my 2 children loved this hotel. We have stayed in many Irish hotels around the country and found this amongst the best around. The rooms were clean and spacious, the restaurant was comfortable and the food excellent. Staff were amazing and the leisure centre great for the kids. Lovely time here and great value. You have made customers for life out of us. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_hampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Stephen_hamp
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. Your comments certainly make us realise that all the hard work our staff and management put in are worth it as it’s really all about making our guests feel welcome. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed in the hiilgrove for a one night family stay recently.Enjoyed our stay,staff were
very helpful and pleasant.It was a late check in so had dinner in the bar,food was exellent and great service. Family room was quiet large and comfortable.Good location would definitely
stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on business many times. As it's such a nice place I decided to book for my daughters birthday break. First class service and facilities. The man serving us in the restaurant on Friday night was first class. He made both the kids with us seem like stars. Thank you very much the hillgrove for a great family break.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank NEILMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews