We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just back after a 2 day break at the Hillgrove with friends. We had lovely rooms to stay in and great service from friendly staff in all the areas - bar, restaurant, spa, reception and leisure areas. It was lovely relaxing in the outdoor hotpool while the weather was chilly! The food was good in both the bar and the restaurant. Even though the hotel was fully booked when we were there the staff still found time for you. We will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Views from rooms on left of floor 8 are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Hillgrove from the 30th Dec till the 2nd Jan. Thought the hotel and staff couldn't be better as our time there was really enjoyable. This is voted the best family hotel in Ireland so do expect to see a lot of kids about which can get a little over powering at times. This is no bearing on the hotel but some parents are very slack on how there kids behaviour impacts other people in a hotel. So to conclude on this review I would definitely recommend the Hillgrove as a top class Hotel with great food (breakfast&dinner) and staff that couldn't do enough for you. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyronetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here as a large family group, it was amazing the staff were all extremely helpful. We had a large group of children with us and they were delighted with the kids room and kids club. The hotel standard was great, quite often family friendly hotels let there standrds slip and decor but not with the Hillgrove, will def.. be back.
We celebrated a birthday and had our own private dining room for the evening foc and the bar food was very tasty.
Large spacious interconnecting rooms perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ursula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Ursula M
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you also for your lovely comments about our newly renovated kids room. We are delighted that your family break was so enjoyable and that you enjoyed the interconnecting. We do hope to see you back in the hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for 1 night during christmas holidays 27th Dec , fantastic hotel , rooms were a good size for family of four , excellent pool and leisure facilities , food in the bar was very good as was the breakfast the next day .Great for families as plenty of space and games room , outdoor play park , the staff are very pleasant and friendly throughout this hotel , nice bar area and entertainment that night also with a band playing , overall great value for money and will definitely return

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just wanted to write a wee piece on our recent experience of this lovely hotel for a friends wedding. We had a fantastic stay. The wedding staff where amazing, and very professional. wedding meal was most enjoyable.rooms very comfortable. We were sorry we could not stay longer,we hope to return again very soon. Well done to you all !!!!!

Room Tip: Great choice for a wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neesy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely room, very quiet nights sleep.It was Nov so weather was cold, but inside every where was comfortably warm. Food excellent, breakfast and dinner both. Will be back again, hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: 511 and other rooms beside were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoreguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband myself and our 3 year old daughter had a wonderful time at the Hillgrove! Our room was a good size clean with all the usual mod cons on the ground floor. We had dinner in the bar which was busy I would recommend that they open the restaurant on busy weekends as there were people waiting on tables hanging around the bar. Food was very good and reasonable. Our daughter fell in the bar and the waiter was over straight away with a lolly to comfort her!! nice touch!! Play room for kids which included free face painting. I asked a staff member for milk for the little one's supper and it was no bother at all.We had a great nights sleep in comfy beds. I will be returning to the Hillgrove in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honey94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
228 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
75 reviews
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: $113 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing