We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel with a group of 9 others for my sister's hen party and have to say that everyone had a brilliant time and all the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and pleasant! Gail, who I dealt with throughout the organisation of the hen party, could not have been any more accommodating and helpful with my constant enquiries and ever evolving plans!!!!also Bronagh the spa manager, and Louise who took over, were very helpful in trying to fit all our party in for treatments at relatively short notice, and their efforts were greatly appreciated!we found all the staff extremely pleasant, courteous and eager to help and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the hotel to any friends or family looking to get away!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pheebs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We didn't stay here, but we had a meal in the resturant. It was amazing! Definatly the best food I've tasted in a resturant in ages!we really enjoyed it. I had the seabass it was absolutely gorgeous and the brownie for dessert was so yummy! The staff were brilliant and really friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squishiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our third return to the Hillgrove since November 2012. I had organised my sisters hen party in November and was blown away with everything the Hillgrove had to offer. The staff are amazing, so friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. I have never experienced this level of care and attention anywhere else. I would defiantly recommend the cocktail making classes, never laughed so much in my life!
The food is unbelievable, both in the bar and the restaurant. There is something for everyone. The buffet style breakfast is excellent, so much choice.
The rooms are decorated beautifully and very clean.
I can honestly say that the Hillgrove is my favourite hotel in Ireland. We are already planning our next trip during the summer. This time I hope to make use of the spa and pool facilities. The Hillgrove has something for everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last weekend for a hen do. I dealt with Gail and Sharon when planning the weekend who were just excellent and so efficient. The hotel was a fantastic place for the occasion with very friendly staff and brilliant leisure facilities. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the only downside was that some of the rooms smelled slightly of cigarette smoke from the previous guests for the first night but nothing that a few open windows didn't solve. In particular I have to mention the Murder Mystery which we had organised for the Saturday night, we had a blast! It was so well organised and fantastic fun, sincere thanks to Rose and her team for entertaining all of us! We also did a Salsa class in the afternoon which was great fun. The Hillgrove hotel is a fabulous place with so much to offer its guests, will certainly be recommending it to others :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear KC

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable hen party. I will pass your kind comments onto the members of staff you mentioned. I am sorry that the room smelled of smoke. The hotel is non-smoking but unfortunately some residents ignore this policy. Once again thank you for your excellent comments and we hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Last minute trip but the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, we were given a large guest room in the new wing which was very spacious and decorated to a nice standard our bedroom also had. Large bathroom with separate shower unit. The only negative was it was evident that somebody had been smoking in bathroom but these things happen. Would defo stay here again and plenty of activities for kids

Room Tip: Ask for room in new wing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Lynn M

We are delighted that you had a very enjoyable last minute weekend break at the 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel , and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Good to hear that you enjoyed the hotels facilities. Our hotel operates a No Smoking policy in all bedrooms but unfortunately some guests ignore this policy. Many thanks for making us aware of this.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

To Mick and all the staff, thank you for making our stay in your hotel memorable. We had a great time and were so impressed with the friendliness of all staff there. Our room was bright, airy and clean. Only a short walk into the town, I highly recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel Monique was fantastic to deal with and organised a very last minute hen do for me. We did not stay at the hotel but used the facilities and had high tea and dance class. She was polite to deal with. The hotel was busy with a great buzz around for young people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
72 reviews
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: $128 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing