We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

To Mick and all the staff, thank you for making our stay in your hotel memorable. We had a great time and were so impressed with the friendliness of all staff there. Our room was bright, airy and clean. Only a short walk into the town, I highly recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel Monique was fantastic to deal with and organised a very last minute hen do for me. We did not stay at the hotel but used the facilities and had high tea and dance class. She was polite to deal with. The hotel was busy with a great buzz around for young people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked this venue for 12 people to celebrate a friends significant birthday. From the beginning the staff were most helpful from hotel reception to Lir Spa and hairdressers and this continued throughout our stay. We had a fabulous nite, great food and lovely helpful staff. Thanks so much hope we weren't to bothersome!!! The 12 girlies from 31st May

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denitoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Denitoner

Many thanks for your recent review and we are delighted to hear that the party went so well. Our aim at the 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa is to make every guest welcome especially when it’s a Significant birthday ! I will pass your kind comments on and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisior i booked a nights stay over the recent Bank Holiday. From the moment of arrival meeting Mike on reception and seeing the luxurious
decor of a wonderful hotel it was a wonderful break.
The room was spacious and very comforable with a great view. The leisure facilities were amazing including the outdoor hot tub, followed by an equally amazing breakfast.
I certainly would return for a visit to the Hillgrove Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyrob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff. Grounds also stunning
Food top class and just enough of it.
Rooms clean and spacious only thing is never enough amenities for four people in the room like towels tea and coffee etc, but that is not a major issue as if you call reception they will bring you more.
Spa was relaxing and outdoor hot tub fab. Modern and clean again only problem with leisure centre is they should have little water fountains as it does get warm.
Will be back for sure.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Cazpf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went for one nights B&B with a friend. Slight confusion over our booking. We had booked into a double room and needed a twin. The receptionist, who was extremely pleasant and helpful, sorted it out by giving us a larger room with a double and 2 single beds which was great. The hotel was clean. The food was very good. We ate in the bar and there was a good choice on the "Very Large" menu. The decor in the front foyer was modern and bright which may not be to everyones taste. I particularly liked the oversized purple chairs. The swimming pool and surrounding areas were spotlessly clean and there was even hair straightners! The breakfast was also very good and the Irish Fry was piping hot. I would definitely go back and encourage others to do so too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Elaine C
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and thanks also for the excellent comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you loved our decor and we hope that you had a chance to sit in our new Purple Chair ! We do hope to see you soon .
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall a friendly hotel, with helpful staff and good food in the main restaurant . The spa however is in need of an upgrade as it appeared a bit dowdy , although clean ,and the staff were very helpful. Facilities there werent very good, and the relaxation room was in need of re-decorating . It lacked ambience and the feeling of luxury , however the treatments were of good standard. The bedroom was clean and bright and shower was lovely and hot with clean bathroom .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Jean T

Many thanks for your excellent comments about our menu and bedrooms. I am also delighted that you enjoyed your spa treatments. I am sorry you did not like the decor and felt the facilities weren’t very good. The spa has a full thermal suite including rasul herbal sauna, hydrotherapy pool, pedi-spas, monsoon showers, ice fountain as well as relaxation room. As well as this we have 7 treatment rooms .Our aim is to provide a relaxed ambience for all patrons of the spa. We do hope that you will return to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
231 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,411 reviews
24 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
841 reviews
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range: $132 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing