We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hillgrove has it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“hillgrove has it all”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed as a family of 10 6 adults and 4 children aged from 2 to6. At the entrance is the famous pink chair and the bird table. Plenty of parking and entering the hotel is funky and buzzing. Check-in was easy for three families all given the same floor for our birthday celebrations.child friendly is an understatement they had a ball. Children given goody bags at dinner kept them amused. Food was delicious in the bar and in the dining room on the second night. Pool was a success with the rest I didn't go got hair done. All staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were big clean and bathrooms had separate shower and bath.free Wi-Fi worked throughout hotel. Would we go back you bet suits all ages well done all staff.

Room Tip: We had a four poster with a huge window think they are all similar size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    288
    98
    54
    36
See reviews for
467
414
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what can I say.... Just back from a one night stay here with a friend. From the minute we drove in the driveway to when we left, everything was no problem to any member of staff. From booking with Mick a few weeks back to check out I was just delighted to see a hotel so brilliantly ran! Any member of staff we met, greeted us and had time to talk instead of running past! I will very happily return and will be telling my family and friends about this little gem! Keep up the great work!! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for three nights on B&B and one dinner basis. Very pleased, room was clean and quite large. Breakfast could be as big or as small as you liked it, great choice. Dinner is now served in the bar area for some reason, but was not a problem. Friendly knowledgable staff and a good atmosphere. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernieapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stated in the Hillgrove on a last minute decision. The reception staff were more than friendly and helpful. Happy bubbly girl who oozed quality customer service. Room as comfortable and clean, the bathroom was spotless and well lit up. We ate in the bar and it was very enjoyable. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and the restaurant staff were helpful professional and very friendly. This is not the first time I stated in the hillgrove and it won't be the last. Very good!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanConway1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tyrone
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I ate here with our young son on May Day Bank Holiday Monday. We live quite close by but have never been here before. We ate in the bar, it was fairly busy but not overwhelmingly so. The menus are actually huge (physically so!) but also had a wide choice of food too. We ordered a bottle of house red which at 23 euros was certainly not cheap but very drinkable. Our son's choice of menu included a meal deal of a free drink and dessert all for 7.95 which was good value. As it was a bank hol, all other special offers weren't applicable on the adult menu. Having ordered,our food arrived very quickly - sometimes this isn't a good thing. My chicken salad was pleasant and but nothing special. I could've sworn it said the chicken came in strips, but mine was presented as a solid lump of a chicken breast which did look a bit unappetising. It tasted fine though. My husband had steak, which was good - the accompanying Dauphinois potatoes thought weren't really what they should be - no cream or garlic as described, rather just slices of potato baked with cheese over them. My son ordered pasta with bolognese sauce off the kids menu - I thought bolognese sauce contained mince so this must've been the vegetarian option as it was just plain tomato with some cheese melted over it.
We ordered desserts - again these were fine, but nothing to write home about.
We did enjoy our meal, but for the total price of our bill and the fact that we were in a 4* star hotel, I would've expected a higher standard. It was all grand, but there are nicer places to eat and I wouldn't feel I had to rush back anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thornbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Thornbanks
I just wanted to reply to you recent comments on tripadvisor. Firstly I want to thank you for visiting our 4 Star Hotel and we are delighted that you found the choice of menu so good. I am glad that you enjoyed the quality bottle of wine you ordered, which is chosen specifically because we do want to offer quality. You also mentioned the great value meal deal for your child which as you say is excellent value for money. I would just like to point out that it was just a Bolognese sauce, exactly what it stated on the menu and does not contain meat.
Having spoken to the chef the menu does not state strips of chicken but fillet of chicken. I also want to assure you that the dauphinois potatoes are cooked in wine and garlic and then topped with cheese. I am glad that your husband enjoyed his steak. Our menu has been priced very competitively. You said that you did enjoy your meal but I am disappointed that you only gave us a 3.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

having recently had an overnight stay at the hillgrove i would recommend it to any one to treat themselves the staff where very friendly on welcoming us giving us full details of facilities at the hotel we hope to return sometime soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Dodd66
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel so welcome. Looking forward to weloming you back very soon.
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Hillgrove Hotel, midweek for 3 nights, it was our wedding anniversary. We were checked in quite quickly but not given any info on the hotel. Our package contained coffee and scones and fresh fruit in our room. Unfortunately we had to ask about the coffee and no fresh fruit appeared. We found the beds not particularly comfortable and spoke to the lady on reception who said she would change the mattress. Whether this was done or not it didnt really make any difference as the mattress appeared to be of poor quality. The bathroom was excellent and had a proper shower cubicle. On the plus side the staff in the bar/restaurant had great customer service skills and the food was good although there was only a choice of two potatoes and we didnt see any vegtables but nonetheless we enjoyed our meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear 2066Belfast
Thank you for your review and your comments . I recognise that without realising our downfalls it would be impossible for us to improve. I have taken your comments on board about no fresh fruit in the room and have spoken to housekeeping about this matter. I am sorry that you did not receive any information on the hotel, this is highly unusual and certainly completely the opposite to what the next reviewer has said. I will speak to reception about this. I am delighted that you enjoyed the bathrooms and found our bar/restaurant staff so helpful. We pride ourselves on our customer care and standards of service and facilities. I apologise that you did not receive our normal standards and hope this does not deter you from returning to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
219 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
71 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing